Page 7 of 7 FirstFirst ... 567

Thread: Ireland v Switzerland - Pre-match discussion

Quote Originally Posted by del fuego
    have to agree with mjpcc on this one. Pathetic!
    I dunno, it's funny in an evil way - they'll probably be setting off the fire alarms and calling in bogus bomb threats, the end justifies the means - if Kerr can't get the win, we will

Quote Originally Posted by Lionel Ritchie
    I take it you'll be putting money where do bheal is and sticking a crisp new fifty on Switzerland then?
    Maybe not a crisp fifty but I've done what I never thought I'd do and taken them on my coupon, 3-1 is ridiculous odds for a team unbeaten in 12 and who we have failed to beat on the last three occasions. I hope I'm wrong.

rumoured line-up

Given
    carr.....dunne.....cunningham.....harte
    A.Reid.....Kavanagh/Holland.....O'Shea.....Kilbane
    Morrison.....Keane

My bet is in ...

Scorecast

Republic of Ireland v Switzerland
    First Goalscorer C Morrison

Correct Score 1 - 0
    Odds 20 - 1
    Wednesday 12th October 2005, 19:45

I'm up and down like a yo-yo at the moment. One minute I'm optimistic and think we'll do it and then I read some of yesterdays threads and heard Cascarino this morning on Sky Sports pointing out some blindingly obvious bad points as to why he thinks we won't do it.

I'm thinking a 1-1 draw at the moment but that'll change again in 5 minutes.

229 Posts
    Jaysus lads - hatred?????? This is embarassing, The swiss have done nothing other than beat us oin afew occassions. Any Swiss fans reading this forum would think they were in danger coming to the country. grow up, fcuk sake!
    I thought you were off the drink Ronnie?

"No, I drink to help me mind my own business....can I get you one? (c) Ronnie Drew

Quote Originally Posted by Junior
    Jaysus lads - hatred?????? This is embarassing, The swiss have done nothing other than beat us oin afew occassions. Any Swiss fans reading this forum would think they were in danger coming to the country. grow up, fcuk sake!
    Screw that Junior this IS hatred:

"It was so frustrating and when Frei came over giving it large in front of our bench I thought: I’m not having that . That’s when I threw the bottle on the pitch. Everything about their celebration seemed to be about winding us up." - Former Republic of Ireland international Mark Kinsella recalls a certain situation in Basle two years ago, let’s hope there’s no repeat tonight!
    "In life, it aint about how hard you can hit, it's about how hard you can get hit, and keep on moving forward"

Rocky Balboa

Quote Originally Posted by Don Vito
    Screw that Junior this IS hatred:

"It was so frustrating and when Frei came over giving it large in front of our bench I thought: I’m not having that . That’s when I threw the bottle on the pitch. Everything about their celebration seemed to be about winding us up." - Former Republic of Ireland international Mark Kinsella recalls a certain situation in Basle two years ago, let’s hope there’s no repeat tonight!
    Dead ****ing right Don. This is bitter. As Dunphy said in his article today, the Irish team need to make a battle out of this game. They need to go to war tonight. Its up to us Irish fans to create the most partisan of atmospheres and send the arrogant Swiss home with their tails between their legs. Bring 'em on.
    "Love many, trust few, always paddle your own canoe." Dillo

I'm all for a bit of intimidation, but lets keep it inside Lansdowne.. we're no more than scumbags otherwise..

thats if the prawn sandwich eaters will actually get up and sing
    "You call that a first touch?"

Lads, It's all head games being played by the Swiss, admittedly they have turned us over in the past but that will come to an end (tonight hopfully). The B.I.G. can't be feeling any lower than they were sat night, and I have every confidence in them that they will give 1000%. The other games against them are only history now, and tonight is the time to sort them out, and WE WILL .

COME ON IRELAND
    It's not actually winning that counts, it's playing the game with attitude

i posted elsewhere... 2-2. I dont think we will be humilated again but another draw is on the cards. They only need a draw and will probably hit us on the counter attack all night long. Lets hope we can scrape for a win tonight and put the pride back into the green jersey.

Now normally id say the racket outside the hotel would not be justified, but these scumbags are lower than any other footballing nation, in imho! if i wasnt prior engaged last night id have been down there to give them a nice welcome partymyself! how did it go anyway lads? hope you had a productive night! i cant believe im so wound up because of this scum!

Lads when we win tonight and knock the Swiss scum out of the World Cup I want as many people as possible to wait behind for the Swiss players to get on the team-bus. We need to vent our anger at these fcukers and give them a taste of their own medicine. Three years ago Frei and Chapuisat made obscene gestures to Irish fans (kids with their parents) from the safety of their team bus. I've been waiting to repay the compliment.
    "Love many, trust few, always paddle your own canoe." Dillo

Quote Originally Posted by TheJamaicanP.M.
    Lads when we win tonight and knock the Swiss scum out of the World Cup I want as many people as possible to wait behind for the Swiss players to get on the team-bus. We need to vent our anger at these fcukers and give them a taste of their own medicine. Three years ago Frei and Chapuisat made obscene gestures to Irish fans (kids with their parents) from the safety of their team bus. I've been waiting to repay the compliment.
    You're spot mate, they are a shower !!!!! Hope we beat them more than anything.

COME ON IRELAND !!!!!!
    Bye bye Stan. Go off back to collecting cones you useless git.

lads we have to go out fighting tonight once kick off starts. none of this open football sh1te. we need to close them down, get in their faces, boo their players, etc.

Just remember that if these childern win tonight, they wont be shy about rubbing our noses in it. I met a few swiss people on holiday and they were so arrogrant and full of themselves I wanted to smash a glass bottle in their faces. They made fun about everything and spent most of the time laughing about our country and football players. I dont want to be humilated again

214 Posts
    come on lets go for the jugular tonight and create an atmosphere to remember in the stands and on the pitch.

O'Shea in midfield... i feel sick....

200 Posts
    never want to be drawn in the same group as them again, theyre too damn organised and too lucky

fair play to the swiss , there was none of that nonsense tonight.

Page 7 of 7 FirstFirst ... 567