Results 1,921 to 1,940 of 2303

Thread: Next Senior Men's Team Manager - Runners and Riders

119 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by geysir View Post
    Ghana were not anything close to pre tournament favourites, they managed to get into the final tournament with what was reckoned to be their worst ever squad. Ghanaian sports journalists were very pessimistic about getting out of the group stage.
    Regardless, I did see enough of Chris' caution in 2 of Ghana's games to raise doubts about him for the Irish job even though (paradoxically) in no way should he be judged in anyway regarding the performance of Ghana.
    They were in the 5-8 sort of bracket for favourites from bookies, certainly expected to make the knockouts. They are a heavyweight of the competition, have some of the top players on the continent and 3rd most successful historically so definitely had greater expected of them.

Nobody associated with Ghana had anything positive to say about his tenure but if people want to believe he's the same coach from 6 years ago then it's up to them.

175 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by elatedscum View Post
    We’re in early April now. My guess is still it’ll be Poyet and the story leaking is part of negotiations of him trying to bring in his own back room team.
    His son is assistant manager with Greece... I kid you not.

565 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by brine3 View Post
    Uruquayan Healey-Raes ! !

438 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by brine3 View Post
    The lad has had two coaching jobs in life and both times his father was manager. It's funny how his father said he backed out of signing him as a player citing a fear of nepotism. That didn't take long to change when he retired from playing at 24 because he hadn't found himself a new club to play for in two years.

52 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by SkStu View Post
    I know this is probably sad and all (and maybe i need an expensive therapist too) but I dreamt last night that the FAI announced a new managerial team of Gary Kelly, Jason McAteer and Phil Babb and were calling them the Three Amigos. They said they picked Kelly to be the manager because he was the most serious of the three. Paul McGrath was also in it - he was at the media table - and he kept calling him Gary Jelly.

Might be worth a cheeky fiver?
    Gary Kelly serious?? Have you ever met the lad? Madder than a box of frogs, in a good way. Serious is not a word I'd use to describe him.

2,643 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by weldoninhio View Post
    Gary Kelly serious?? Have you ever met the lad? Madder than a box of frogs, in a good way. Serious is not a word I'd use to describe him.
    Well there’s a fiver I’ll never see again.

903 Posts
    Gotta say, I’m a little downhearted, and I suspect a lot of us are, that we couldn’t muster a single April Fool’s joke to lighten the mood here – no Paris Llofo from Cameroon, or Floori Sap the Dutch genius who’s taken Troy Parrott under his wing…

But it got me thinking, riffing off nominative determinism, what if there are clues in the leading candidate’s names that are hiding in plain view? What if…?

Well, what if Gus Poyet…? On the pro side of things, yep gusto in that appointment, but on the negative I think he’s been stringing us along so, equally, yep got us. Good one, Gus. Now *&?% off.

Next up, Chris Hughton, someone I’ve admired for nearly forty years seems to me a so right hunch. Of course, if the FAI hire him instead of Guardiola or Klopp, lots of you might have a sh!t org hunch. If the evidence is there…

But, if the FAI were to commercialise every aspect of the players and their private lives so they could afford Willy Sagnol, they might believe there’s lolly in wags. But it’s taken so long to make the decision it’s become a silly lag now.

Of course, the FAI might think they can mould John O’Shea cheaply into a world class coach, and hone a Josh as it were. But, the football could quickly become fairly agricultural because to plant the seed you've got to rough up the ground - and John’s a hoe.

Roy Keane might get the nod for proximity – as a former assistant and someone who could live here, he’s a near yoke. But his reputation suggests no key era would begin.

And finally, eyeless in Gaza, Robbie Keane. Don’t get me wrong, I loved him as a player, bursting on the scene as a 17-year old keen ROI babe. But in some quarters, he might be as popular as a compound fracture ie bone break.

So, after all that, the only thing I can say with any certainty is

I’m bored and work got no value out of me at all today!!!
    Last edited by Eminence Grise; 02/04/2024 at 4:22 PM.
    Hello, hello? What's going on? What's all this shouting, we'll have no trouble here!
    - E Tattsyrup.

International Prospect Razors left peg's Avatar
    858 Posts
    I'm in Portugal at the moment and there's a lot of talk here of Anthony Barry replacing Amorim at Sporting in the summer if he moves on to the Premiership
    Its really not that complicated!!!

401 Posts
    Surprised Klinsmann isn't being bandied about, as big as a disaster as he was in South Korea.

Would fit right in.

772 Posts
    This is getting worse and worse for the three lads with every passing day. It sounds like they've missed out on every single person they've approached. At what point do they go with the announcement of defeat and just give the job to O'Shea because there's nobody else left? Surely there's a competent lower league manager in the UK they can hire rather than resort to giving the job to someone with no management experience at all, beyond the two games he basically made a hash of as interim manager?
    Keane O'Shea Given Best Smallbone

409 Posts
    They should have talked to Duff.
    21 leagues and 25 cups.

565 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ontheotherhand View Post
    They should have talked to Duff.
    Maybe they did ? !

409 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by seanfhear View Post
    Maybe they did ? !
    He says they didn't but who knows at this stage. I think I'm going to give up on the international stuff for a while. The LoI is better craic.
    21 leagues and 25 cups.

2,350 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ontheotherhand View Post
    He says they didn't but who knows at this stage. I think I'm going to give up on the international stuff for a while. The LoI is better craic.
    LOI is much less chaotic and in a much better shape than the national team at the minute.

19. Thanks From:

International Prospect Razors left peg's Avatar
    858 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by nigel-harps1954 View Post
    LOI is much less chaotic and in a much better shape than the national team at the minute.
    Probably the 1st time that's ever been said
    Its really not that complicated!!!

409 Posts
    It's almost getting too good Nigel.

725 Posts
    I've heard that that's the fifth horseman of the apocalypse.

484 Posts
    You can't un-hear that

484 Posts
    Does anyone genuinely believe the fai have an ace up their sleeves?!

Best case scenario is they have made a balls of it and lost Carsley and who knowe else, but they move on quickly and hire Steve bruce or Chris hughton

Both will have us organized and competitive

John o Shea isn't qualified to manage our country.

772 Posts
    It's fairly clear there's no ace at this point. If there was one it would have been announced earlier this week to end the circus and allow time to get it done and dusted before the upcoming women's games.

It would be bad enough to have gone on this long without getting the new manager in normal circumstances, but to have done it while also seemingly openly lying to the media, and by extension the supporters, is next level stuff.

Clearly they either completely fabricated the contractual obligations line at that press conference, or they were massively overstating how far down the line they were with someone at that point in time. Either way what they've done is extremely damaging to themselves and I don't really see how any of the three can retain the confidence of the Irish football community after this.
    Keane O'Shea Given Best Smallbone

Page 97 of 116 FirstFirst ... 47879596979899107 ... LastLast