Page 8 of 116 FirstFirst ... 6789101858108 ... LastLast

Thread: Next Senior Men's Team Manager - Runners and Riders

577 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Razors left peg View Post
    Didnt realize he has a Dublin born father until I looked at his Wiki page to see what hes doing now.
    He also weirdly called us a British team last time Wales were here
    Folding my way into the big money!!!

94 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by seanfhear View Post
    So ~ What you are saying is ~ Chris Hughton's judgment is a bit off ( wink )
    Nobody gets it right all the time (except my wife of course )

232 Posts
    Don't blame me, I'm only passing this on....

Next Republic of Ireland manager odds: Northern Ireland man backed from 5/1 to 7/4 favourite

Neil Lennon has seen his odds slashed to become the Republic of Ireland's next manager.

Spokesperson for Paddy Power, Rachael Kane: “With Stephen Kenny’s tenure as Irish manager likely to come to an end before the year is out, the money suggests Neil Lennon could be set to takeover.

https://www.belfastlive.co.uk/sport/...int_source=nba

Of course there's no suggestion that Paddy Power, a company of impeccable credentials, are in some way trying to create (artificial) interest in their book at a time when interest is low...

567 Posts
    Neil Lennon ~ ~ The Man that eff-ed up the Celtic job when it was virtually impossible to do so !

Also ~ Has Lennon ever done anything in management of much consequence at any other club than Celtic.

And ~ Yes Paddy Power are probably just acting the eejit !

1,001 Posts
    Poyet seems to be trying to put himself in the frame.

International Prospect Razors left peg's Avatar
    862 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by osarusan View Post
    Poyet seems to be trying to put himself in the frame.
    Hes pretty shamelessly publicly negotiating for a contract extension from the Greeks. He said that even if they qualify from playoffs he wont be managing in Euros cos his contract expires in March. Pretty sure we'll see that he has signed that extension very soon
    Its really not that complicated!!!

567 Posts
    Uruguay Wiles ~ Maybe he is just what we need !

862 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by seanfhear View Post
    Uruguay Wiles ~ Maybe he is just what we need !
    The way hes acting here makes me think he'd bat his eyelids at every Premiership job that came available if he was in the Ireland job.

Theres probably a lot of F you to Keith Andrews in the way hes acting too

448 Posts
    The way hes acting here makes me think he'd bat his eyelids at every Premiership job that came available if he was in the Ireland job.

Theres probably a lot of F you to Keith Andrews in the way hes acting too
    Fact the FAI aren't paying millions anymore most managers will be gone if a PL or Championship job that pays good comes up. Darren Moore was supposedly looking for £1.5m a year after getting Sheffield Wednesday promoted.

That's triple what the FAI are gonna be paying, more than what we paid Mick, and similar to what we paid MON.

862 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by JR89 View Post
    Fact the FAI aren't paying millions anymore most managers will be gone if a PL or Championship job that pays good comes up. Darren Moore was supposedly looking for £1.5m a year after getting Sheffield Wednesday promoted.

That's triple what the FAI are gonna be paying, more than what we paid Mick, and similar to what we paid MON.
    We better keep Kenny so

729 Posts
    The Premiership has become the wealthiest league in Europe. I don't think there's much point fishing in that pool any more. We're out of our depth.

According to this, the Bundesliga managers bottom out at €500k/year https://www.totalsportal.com/money/b...gers-salaries/
    This site says similar about Serie A managers: https://cultofcalcio.com/revealed-hi...ie-a-managers/

448 Posts
    Reports in Ghana that Chris Hughton is close to being sacked as Ghana manager and may happen this weekend.

484 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by JR89 View Post
    Reports in Ghana that Chris Hughton is close to being sacked as Ghana manager and may happen this weekend.
    I would happily fly out and pick him up and bring him straight to the AVIVA

When I hear names like Neil Lennon I despair ....

2,710 Posts
    Only time will tell if the new FAI are any significant improvement over the last lot, but I get the feeling yer man Marc Canham is quite clued in and has an idea of the kind of appointment that's needed. And I don't think the likes of Lennon or Bruce fit the bill.

2,353 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Stuttgart88 View Post
    Only time will tell if the new FAI are any significant improvement over the last lot, but I get the feeling yer man Marc Canham is quite clued in and has an idea of the kind of appointment that's needed. And I don't think the likes of Lennon or Bruce fit the bill.
    Nor do I think Chris Hughton fits the bill either. Needs to be a progressive manager who doesn't revert back to hoof football and ten men behind the ball, which I fear is exactly what Hughton would do.

170 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by nigel-harps1954 View Post
    Nor do I think Chris Hughton fits the bill either. Needs to be a progressive manager who doesn't revert back to hoof football and ten men behind the ball, which I fear is exactly what Hughton would do.
    I may be wrong but I don't think Hughton has ever played 'hoof ball'. Defensively rigid, sure but his teams pass in my experience - and we could use some defensive solidity as under Kenny we're effectively starting a goal behind against any side other than your Giblratars since we have completely lost the ability to keep a clean sheet.

International Prospect passinginterest's Avatar
    425 Posts
    My main memories with Houghton are that he had a very good football playing Norwich side in the championship. It was built around Wes Holohan, but as soon as they got into the premier league he abandoned that style and benched Holohan in favour of much more limited and defensive players. The fear is that he'd view the Ireland squad like the Norwich squad he took to the premier league and he'd adopt a similar ultra negative approach. Although, to be honest, unless we unearth a couple of really top class central midfield, every manager, no matter what the approach is going to have issues implementing it. Josh Cullen is pivotal to the team at the moment and he's at best an average mid to low level premier league player. We need another couple at that level, or at least one who's a level above that. Unfortunately, it seems to be the one area of the field where we still have no serious prospects emerging.

Tallaght Stadium Regular

21. Thanks From:

862 Posts
    Hughton would be up there with Neil Lennon as an absolute disaster. Theres a very good reason Ghana, like Forest before him cant get him out the door quickly enough.

He did well ok the past, but so did David O'Leary and I dont see anyone calling for him

484 Posts
    Hughton would be up there with Neil Lennon as an absolute disaster. Theres a very good reason Ghana, like Forest before him cant get him out the door quickly enough.

He did well ok the past, but so did David O'Leary and I dont see anyone calling for him
    Did ok in the past is very unfair. He did very well with Newcastle and Brighton.

I think he won the championship?

David O Leary was deemed toxic because he sued everyone and everything and that's why he's has been unemployed for quite awhile

24. Thanks From:

862 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Diggs246 View Post
    Did ok in the past is very unfair. He did very well with Newcastle and Brighton.

I think he won the championship?

David O Leary was deemed toxic because he sued everyone and everything and that's why he's has been unemployed for quite awhile
    I posted his record with Ghana a page or 2 ago. That should be enough to rule him out, but just in case it wasnt, Forest getting promoted in the same season he had them bottom should be enough to rule him out completely.

He's a nice man but his day is gone.

Page 8 of 116 FirstFirst ... 6789101858108 ... LastLast