Thread: Galway crowned Connacht Champions....

Thumbs up Galway crowned Connacht Champions....

....Fair play to the lads they deserved it and hopefully they can bring Sam home aswell.
    Galway 0-10- Mayo 0- 8
    www.galwayunitedfc.net -----New GUFC fans forum and Gust Website.

Europe's Big Club.
    "Cause Galway are MASSIVE"-RW Rover on 24/8/07 00:29am

Quote Originally Posted by Conor H
    ....Fair play to the lads they deserved it and hopefully they can bring Sam home aswell.
    Galway 0-10- Mayo 0- 8
    To be honest I watched this (in my GUFC jersey) in Jono's in Ilford and thought we played rubbish. Too many wides. The only reason we deserved it was that Mayo were worse... indeed the consesnus in the pub afterwards was that neither will get any further...

Still - GUFC, senior hurlers and both minor & senioe footballers won so not a bad weekend i guess!

70 Posts
    Poor game from a technical perspective. Neither team will win the All-Ireland. Way too many wasted chances by both sides and poor give aways.

Quote Originally Posted by exiled_gufc_fan
    To be honest I watched this (in my GUFC jersey) in Jono's in Ilford and thought we played rubbish. Too many wides. The only reason we deserved it was that Mayo were worse... indeed the consesnus in the pub afterwards was that neither will get any further...

Still - GUFC, senior hurlers and both minor & senioe footballers won so not a bad weekend i guess!
    There was quite a few wearing Utd jersey's,including me.I just wonder do they all go to Terryland

Europe's Big Club.

Thumbs down Stick your gaa up your ............

Stick to the soccer lads

isn't it about time you lot started following a real game (like hurling or gaelic football) instead of watching a foreign game with a bunch of fairies falling about at the slightest hint of contact.

face it, lads - ''soccer'' is dead in ireland. and the fai are laughable.

gaillimh abu!

Quote Originally Posted by Aaron GUFC
    Stick to the soccer lads
    Couldn't agree more!
    The fight is won or lost far away from witnesses - behind the lines, in the gym, and out there on the road, long before I dance under those lights.
    Muhammad Ali

Roy Keane is still a pri*k!

Quote Originally Posted by tayto repairman
    isn't it about time you lot started following a real game (like hurling or gaelic football) instead of watching a foreign game with a bunch of fairies falling about at the slightest hint of contact.

gaillimh abu!
    I think you wandered on to the wrong website mate!
    The fight is won or lost far away from witnesses - behind the lines, in the gym, and out there on the road, long before I dance under those lights.
    Muhammad Ali

Roy Keane is still a pri*k!

I fancied Galway for the Connacht title from the start but an All-Ireland title in the Football is well beyond them

gaillimh abu!
    Sto talking ****e
    P.s this is an "other sports" forum lads hense the reason i aint talking about soccer.

Europe's Big Club.

51 Posts
    Lads,
    it was a poor game of football from too bad teams and i doubt either team will progressed any further to be honest, well done to peter ford, i think its about the county board gets a right manager in mayo!!!

A terrible performance from MAYO, am gutted looks like another year waiting for sam
    Magic moments for the Republic of Ireland ...Commentator Barry Davies ...june 1988!!

Very poor match, especially when you look at the quality of Football in the other two finals..
    It says a lot for how behind Connaght are in the standard of football in the country.. there was the time when we were up with the best but the standard has gone downhill fast and something has to be done about it...
    Part of the problem is that there are only really two football teams in connaght because the rest aren't even worth mentioning, with doesn't give us much competition and thus the standard stays low, if we were playing the likes of Tyrone, Armagh, Kerry ect regularly I'd say it would be a very different story IMO

Bad football from both sides but I have to say Mayo were worse and considering they made the final last year they were embarrassing!!

At least it will keep them quiet for another year they have to be the worst winners I have ever come across.. It was great to see them all mouth before the game talking about the hammering we're going to get and not a peep out of them after the final whistle.. apart from blaming the ref for everything and it being nothing to do with the fact that they were crap

Pity all the lads on the pitch because it was a scorcher of a day and not a breath of wind in the stadium.. I had to sit down in terraces repeatedly because of the heat and I am a glowing red colour today because of it!!

Was very surprised to see the amount of GUFC jerseys there.. Especially since I get abuse when I wear my GAA jersey to terryland

Quote Originally Posted by Eire06
    Was very surprised to see the amount of GUFC jerseys there.. Especially since I get abuse when I wear my GAA jersey to terryland
    And you still will !!

I agree with Aaron, they can stick there stupid GAAAAA up there a***.
    Amateur sport, played by amateur players and supported by red necks !!

Quote Originally Posted by Terry
    And you still will !!

ooh yeah.. great call..

and i suppose the fai players are multi-millionaires eh? hahah.. paaavies

and i suppose the fai players are multi-millionaires eh?
    Why? Are the GAAAA players? I suppose they would be with all the pay packages the farmers get every year!!

And you still will !!

I'm sorry have you looked around terryland park lately..
    Looks more amateur than Galway GAA team any day and have you see the way GUFC is ran.. a joke..
    At least the GAA are organised and run their clubs and county teams efficiently

Try getting the crowds at terryland that you get at Galway County matches and you can talk then

Quote Originally Posted by Eire06
    Looks more amateur than Galway GAA team any day and have you see the way GUFC is ran.. a joke..
    At least the GAA are organised and run their clubs and county teams efficiently

Try getting the crowds at terryland that you get at Galway County matches and you can talk then
    Whats wrong with the way GUFC is run? After years of crap that we had to put up with, the structure now in place is one of the best in the country.

Efficiently run? I suppose you could be right? Its fairly handy when one of your top players is injured you can call of the match until he is fit. An dthe fact that there is less players playing both GAAAA sports combined than there is playing football it is easier to run!!!

As for the crowds? Ask them to go but all you'll here is "english sport feck them!" but they are the same people that spend hundreds to go see Man U, Liverpool....etc.

Whats wrong with the way GUFC is run? After years of crap that we had to put up with, the structure now in place is one of the best in the country.
    Was it not up until a few weeks ago everyone was calling for heads to roll and that the board is not telling the Fans what's going on, no press realese to us ect and Stephen was being slated for poor desisions and that the team weren't getting on with each other.....
    Efficiently run? I suppose you could be right? Its fairly handy when one of your top players is injured you can call of the match until he is fit. An dthe fact that there is less players playing both GAAAA sports combined than there is playing football it is easier to run!!!
    You can't be honestly trying to tell me that the FAI is a more organised and efficient organisation than the GAA your having a laugh
    Not even going to argue this point
    As for the crowds? Ask them to go but all you'll here is "english sport feck them!" but they are the same people that spend hundreds to go see Man U, Liverpool....etc.
    I go to both Galway United matches and Galway County hurling and Football matches..
    and I know a load of people who support both GAA and soccer but not EL soccer they support the English clubs and claim the EL is a crap poorly organised amateur league