Jackie McNamara Testimonial

May 29
    Celtic XI v Republic of Ireland XI
    Glasgow (Scotland)

Not pushed on starting a Celtic-Irishness debate but does anyone know if this is for charity?

He's giving a large proportion of his earnings to cancer charities, his mother died of the disease a couple of years ago. He'll also give a bit to a fund which raises money for ex-players who have fallen on hard times. He didn't say how much of it he will be giving, could be all.

Quote Originally Posted by Donal81
    May 29
    Celtic XI v Republic of Ireland XI
    Glasgow (Scotland)

Not pushed on starting a Celtic-Irishness debate but does anyone know if this is for charity?
    Tried finding out through the offcial website http://www.jackiemcnamara.com/ but got an automated response saying they would respond to my query soon, that was a month ago. Nothing since.

Edit: Just found this on Scottish Mail website:
    Pledge to charity after his mother's death from cancer

By Charles Lavery

CELTIC captain Jackie McNamara will donate a chunk of his testimonial cash to charity in memory of his cancer victim mum.

The 30-year-old stands to make more than £500,000 when Celtic face the Republic of Ireland.

Jackie - in his 10th year at Parkhead - has pledged to give at least £100,000 away in a tribute to mum Linda's fight against the killer disease.

The Scotland star will also give thousands to a benevolent fund for ex-players who have fallen on hard times.

Linda died of stomach cancer in June 2003. She was 49.

At a testimonial dinner, Jackie pledged cash to the charities in an effort to find a cure for a disease.

Former Celtic striker Darren Jackson, the star's agent, said: 'It's not something he would want to make a big deal of.

Generate

'Jackie is a straightforward guy who does this kind of thing without expecting any publicity.

'He was very close to his mum and that was a tragedy for the whole family, so this is his way of quietly helping out Cancer Research.

'He has a few charities he always gives to and they are the main ones.'

A full house is guaranteed for the testimonial at Celtic Park on May 29.

The game should generate almost £1million and Jackie can expect to get at least half after tax and policing costs.

McNamara declined to comment but a friend said: 'It's just like him to do that. He doesn't want to be seen to be blowing his own trumpet.'

Linda's widowed husband, Jackie snr, played for Celtic and Hibs, and rallied round his three sons after his wife's death.
    Last edited by Superhoops; 17/02/2005 at 11:27 PM.
    Honest! I am not a secret Tim nor a closet Sham - I really am a Seagull.

That sounds ok so far. A friend asked me to go. I reckon I will be too smashed at the time anyway but I certainly wasn't even going to entertain it if it wasn't for charity. Testimonials at that level don't make sense anymore otherwise. Thanks lads.

229 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by davros
    Should find out a bit more spec.over the w/e.........Please to a higher power the Irish/Celts can help.......more to come later?
    Dav, I have to say this is getting ridiculous - what the hell are you on about here?
    I thought you were off the drink Ronnie?

"No, I drink to help me mind my own business....can I get you one? (c) Ronnie Drew

Quote Originally Posted by Junior
    Dav, I have to say this is getting ridiculous - what the hell are you on about here?
    He just types whatever comes to him in dreams.
    It doesn't make sense to him and it doesn't make sense to us but someday, someone out there will make sense of it and it will prove to be the key to all the mysteries of our universe.
    Last edited by Peadar; 18/02/2005 at 11:30 AM.

Was Jackie's mother Irish - I am sure I heard somewhere that she was from Roscommon and at one stage was looked at by Irish management?????

So who do ye reckon McGeady goin' to play for then?

Aye Celtic unless he pulls it off big in Tel Aviv; Jackie says he dannae want to get showed up by him !
    Dav expect that phonecall sometime in the coming week re.a bus;
    Fair play to them for putting it the weekend before half term.....sweet as I can revise for my exams and go to the game

Celtic,or a half for each..........
    Id imagen that if McGeady keeps improving at his present rate he'll be a real contender for a place in the Irish midfield by then so Im sure Kerr will insist he plays for Ireland on the day

Quote Originally Posted by JimmyP
    So who do ye reckon McGeady goin' to play for then?
    If he remains in the Ireland squad for the next few matches, he'll stay in it for the Celtic game.

Jackie McNamara

Anyone know if tickets will be sold through FAI here or if we are getting an allocation?????

229 Posts
    On a complete tangent.....take it yer mob.no.hasn't changed.....will you be up in Scotland tomorrow?
    Alright Dav, Did get your text, though was pretty inebriated at that stage of the Saturday evening.

Ended up in The Iron Horse, The Malt Man and then Frankensteins. Great night followed by a shocking performance (particularly 2nd half) where we ended up with a result that we deserved. A poor rangers performance & an even worse Celtic one.

And to partially bring back on topic. McGeady was dropped for the game yesterday and only got 13mins. This was an enforced substitution when Jackie Mcnamara was injured & despite Alan Thompson (Left Mid) having an absolute shocker of a game. The swap should have been made at HT.

I wonder if this signifies MON intentions now with McGeady, in light of the fact that Bellamy is on board & the need to accomodate him in the first 11.
    I thought you were off the drink Ronnie?

"No, I drink to help me mind my own business....can I get you one? (c) Ronnie Drew

Large % to go to charity........
    How large is large? Is it anywhere near all?
    Honest! I am not a secret Tim nor a closet Sham - I really am a Seagull.

International Prospect Green Tribe's Avatar
    ,following a night in Hillhead.....ending in Cleopatra's........ ....
    hee hee

International Prospect Green Tribe's Avatar
    Some strange types in that night .....recommend 'The Blue Lagoon' for post-beverage refreshment......you get a Big surprise if you ask for a 'single' fish !
    Pat butcher liked your friend what did u get? 1.5 fish? battered ned's finger with complimentary knuckle-ring?