53 Posts

I agree Abbeyman with the summer soccer WO, anyway lads do we not need refs to play soccer and I have it on good authority that the referees won't agree to it, they had a vote a couple of years ago and it was a no vote, that is the Irish society of referees not just the Desmond league referees

Have to disagree with you there as some leagues are already playing Summer soccer and in fact the League of Ireland is Summer soccer and those games are handled by society referees to the best of my knowledge.

Quote Originally Posted by last man back View Post
    I noticed Wille of Brien played for Broadford last Sunday, great signing in my opinion
    Willie played in Fairview for a good few years, a brilliant player. Starred for Fairview in their FAI and Munster Successes in 09/10. Has had a few injuries, but you'd go far to find a better central midfielder in Limerick.

Quote Originally Posted by booster 03 View Post
    Willie played in Fairview for a good few years, a brilliant player. Starred for Fairview in their FAI and Munster Successes in 09/10. Has had a few injuries, but you'd go far to find a better central midfielder in Limerick.
    I presume he is well into his 30s if he was playing with Fairview that long ago

He'd be 30 this year I think, unbelievable pick up by Broadford, saw them against youghal, they had John Paul King back as well. If they had all the players they have now fit since the start they'd be top of the league I think, they've an awful strong squad now. And Johnny Carey has been injured all year on top of it come to think of it

Underage blanket call off for tomorrow - I'd imagine the Junior's will follow suit

83 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Langerdan007 View Post
    Underage blanket call off for tomorrow - I'd imagine the Junior's will follow suit

Blanket call off for the ladies on Sunday as well

Follow Us on Facebook and Twitter

83 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Battery Rover View Post
    Blanket call off for the ladies on Sunday as well
    Junior games now gone as well

All fixtures are cancelled on Sunday 5th March due to the unfavorable weather conditions. These cancellations bring the Scheduled Vs Played figures to 377 scheduled Vs 332 played. 24 of the 45 failed fixtures occurred on 26th Feb and this Sunday 5th March.

Follow Us on Facebook and Twitter

Quote Originally Posted by Battery Rover View Post
    Junior games now gone as well

All fixtures are cancelled on Sunday 5th March due to the unfavorable weather conditions. These cancellations bring the Scheduled Vs Played figures to 377 scheduled Vs 332 played. 24 of the 45 failed fixtures occurred on 26th Feb and this Sunday 5th March.
    Its the correct call in fairness, no point dragging it out until tomorrow

So is that a good thing for summer soccer or bad, i personally think it is a bad thing we have not had that many fixtures fall fowl to the weather thank god. If the pitches are to hard during the summer due to adverse weather (ha ha) does that mean they will be called off or will it be a case of its dry lads feck the hamstrings and the calfs and the achilles and play away. Incase ye haven't noticed i'm not for summer soccer. How many of my Foot.ie buddys are for or against let us know with a simple YES FOR OR NO AGAINST

NO..... (5 character minimum )

I'm all for it

No , the Desmond league outside of the top three or four teams has never been weaker , seeking to exclude gaa players could rob the league of half its players and clubs as if things aren't bad enough . totally unnecessary , what we have is not broken and be careful what people wish for !

Quote Originally Posted by Abbeyman View Post
    No , the Desmond league outside of the top three or four teams has never been weaker , seeking to exclude gaa players could rob the league of half its players and clubs as if things aren't bad enough . totally unnecessary , what we have is not broken and be careful what people wish for !
    I would have thought the opposite in that I don't think the league has been this strong in 20 years. Usually it's one team running away with it, where as this year we have the Munster Champions Cup champions struggling to break into the top 3. Outside of the top 4 you have the defending Desmond Cup champions Glin and below them again you have Ballingarry who almost won a league cup last year. Personally I find it a bit irritating when guys throw around the "it's never been weaker" line which seems to be thrown out on a regular basis

53 Posts
    Janesboro beat Broadford 2-1 in Charleville last Sunday.

I see Aisling have beaten Janesboro, Carew and on Wed night Pike. Broadford will do well to keep the score down on Sunday considering the top teams Rathkeale, Abbey and Rovers have all beaten them this season. What are u predicting Shearer

Annacotty v average team. Broadford are alot stronger Dan start of season so broadford win for me. Comfortably

Broadford have a great chance tomorrow, better footballing side I think based on seeing them a bit lately. They'll find Annacotty a tough nut to crack, very well coached side and they have Mawdsley who is absolutely lethal given a chance. I'll tip broadford but only by a hair. Could get quite open also especially if there's an early goal

Aisling Annacotty have had some big results in their MJC campaign to date but I'd give Broadford a good chance of progressing as well. Would be great for the league to see a side in the last 4.

Page 13 of 23 FirstFirst ... 31112131415 ... LastLast