Page 14 of 16 FirstFirst ... 41213141516 LastLast

Thread: Limerick Desmond League 2015/16

Forecast very mixed again this weekend with heavy rain for Saturday evening. Hearing a lot of different people saying the league cups will get cut. Another 2 weeks and U21 hurling will start on Sundays which is going to kill teams, as no doubt every hurling game will be fixed for 12noon to be doubly sure of clashing

Our pitch was actually in good nick after last week but all other Division 2 games were called off - league cups are defo under pressure - once you can play in the evenings there's going to be a lot of Friday/Sunday weekends - will we see a lot more teams unable to field teams for the last 2 or 3 meaningless to them fixtures??

Every year the fixing of GAA games comes up - standard GAA, no flexibility, to be fair I think a lot of the GAA teams do try to re fix for the Saturday night but still doesn't always happen - would 21's really have that big an effect on the majority of clubs though?

Quote Originally Posted by Langerdan007 View Post
    would 21's really have that big an effect on the majority of clubs though?
    Definitely will affect some teams, NCW rovers have at least 4/5 players that are playing u21s.
    I'm sure Abbey have a few young players as well that might be playing football too.

Easy fix league cups, play them Tuesday and Thursday nights in clounreask, starting ASAP, it'll give teams a chance to get some game time too after the long lay off, can't beat competitive games, friendlies only take a team so far. That's common sense to me but......

That wont be an option either, clonreask is out of use for the season going by what im hearing. I'd say dont panic yet and see how the season pans out, youd be surprised how quick it will be run off playing twice a week

Ya heard clounreask is outta action for the year as well because of the pitch getting infected or something

Quote Originally Posted by walkover View Post
    Definitely will affect some teams, NCW rovers have at least 4/5 players that are playing u21s.
    I'm sure Abbey have a few young players as well that might be playing football too.
    U21 football is over , played in Nov , might have an odd one playing hurling with tour/glantine although I thought 21 hurling was on Saturdays generally . We would prefer if they were Sunday as they have a bigger effect on youth teams . Desmond league haven't been exactly flexible when it comes to allowing fixtures been changed either . So many players could be working Saturdays it's hard for any sports club to field .

Quote Originally Posted by Abbeyman View Post
    U21 football is over , played in Nov , might have an odd one playing hurling with tour/glantine although I thought 21 hurling was on Saturdays generally . We would prefer if they were Sunday as they have a bigger effect on youth teams . Desmond league haven't been exactly flexible when it comes to allowing fixtures been changed either . So many players could be working Saturdays it's hard for any sports club to field .
    Young lads have so much going on now its very hard to keep numbers involved after 16. Do ye get to often play under lights Abbeyman?

2 outa 5 games off in Div 2 today - shocked Bally Rovers wasn't playable

Vote took place regarding league cups last night: they go ahead as normal.
    Also for all cup ties: if home field is unplayable automatically switch to away teams field.
    But of hassle over teams calling off games, suggestion of teams doing it even when their field is ok just a front fir when they are missing players.
    I've suspected it for a while myself

Predictions

We are just about at the half way point lads, Any revised predictions for leagues and cups. Premier and Div 1 are really hotting up

Any results from today?

Heard ratkeale 2 ballysteen 0. Abbeyfeale 5 killeaney 1. Ratkeale b 4 feenagh 6. Askeaton beat abbey b on pens. Athea 5 glantine b 0. A few random results!

Sunday 6th March

Desmond Cup 1st Round
    Granagh Utd 4 Ferry Rangers 1
    Kildimo Utd 5 Shannonside B 0
    Glin Rovers B 2 Adare Utd 1

Desmond Cup 2nd Round
    Newcastle West Rovers V Askeaton B, w/o to Rovers
    Rathkeale 2 Ballysteen 0

Richard Hogan Cup Q/Fs
    Newcastle West B 2 Newcastle West Rovers B 2 aet (3-4 pens)
    Knockaderry 3 St Itas 2

Riedy Cup Q/F
    Glantine B 0 Athea Utd 5

Premier Division League Cup 1st Round
    Killeaney 1 Abbeyfeale Utd 4

Division 1 League Cup 1st Round
    Askeaton A 3 Abbeyfeale Utd B 3 aet (4-3 pens)

Division 1 League Cup Q/Fs
    Feenagh 7 Rathkeale B 4
    Breska Rovers 5 Pallaskenry 3

Division 2 League Cup 1st Round
    Creeves Celtic V AK Utd off

Division 2 League Cup Q/F
    Bally Rovers 2 Shountrade 3

Division 1
    Carrig Celtic V Rockhill Rovers, w/o to Carrig

Division 3
    Ballingarry B 4 Feenagh B 0

Desmond Cup Round 3: Newcastle Rovers 1 Feenagh 4 ( 0-0 at half time)

Is that the same Newcastle rovers who the premier league was "theirs to throw away" a while back?

Yes I think that is same team snafu but in fairness anyone can have an off day and in cup competition it's no 2nd chances. U have to say well done to feenagh. Looks like lge favourites now may be broadford as they are flying it. Could be exciting finish after all but I would fancy them now as I believe abbey have lost too many players due to injury and working abroad..

Desmond Cup Round 2 tonight: Abbeyfeale United 3 St Ita's 0, was scoreless with 15 minutes left.

Quote Originally Posted by snafu View Post
    I'm gonna make a bold prediction and say that not only will abbeyfeale retain their treble but will also go the season unbeaten in the league. Runners up to be someone like Broadford.
    This truly was an outstanding prediction

Quote Originally Posted by The Enforcer View Post
    This truly was an outstanding prediction
    Well Abbey ain't going to win the treble now after getting knocked out of the Desmond Cup yesterday, well done Breska

Anyone have the Desmond Cup Quarter final draw?

Page 14 of 16 FirstFirst ... 41213141516 LastLast