Page 14 of 14 FirstFirst ... 4121314

Thread: Pre-season friendlies 2015

86 Posts
    How any referee couldn't produce a red for that tackle beats me ?

Terrible tackle and certainly not a slip. Came flying in about 2 foot off the ground.

238 Posts
    Shocking tackle, anyone who defends it clearly off their head (yeah even more off their head than the run of the mill LOI fan)

What on earth was he thinking?

218 Posts
    Total over reaction from everyone on here and from the Waterford player. A simple mistimed tackle while going for the ball. Surely if it was anything worse the ref would of booked him. He got his free and the game carried on. It's a sight, opposition fans baying for blood before a competitive ball has been kicked. That's what's wrong with the LOI and what's holding it back is fans like ye.

36 Posts
    Disagree. It's a definite red. Disgraceful stuff by Sully.

218 Posts
    Haha I was waiting for someone to bite but didn't think it would be a fellow Town fan!! No excuses, straight red. What he was thinking I don't know cos that's right out of character for him. And how the ref didn't give a red I'll never know. But should we be surprised by our referees in this league?!

1,081 Posts
    Right I've watched it a few times now and holy **** it was a bad one. I don't know what he was doing or thinking but he's never done anything remotely violent or dangerous before. I would be a lot less surprised if it was one of our other hot heads. I wasn't at the game but can't imagine anything happened that would cause that kind of challenge.

Quote Originally Posted by disgruntled View Post
    How any referee couldn't produce a red for that tackle beats me ?
    A few things I'd say.

1) He mightn't have seen it properly
    2) There was no reaction from waterford players
    3) Refs are loathe to send off lads in pre-season

Not saying he shouldn't have been sent off, just pointing out *possible* reasons why he wouldn't be

819 Posts
    I was at the game and like I said on here before the surface was very poor but I didn't think at the time he had slipped it appeared he just threw himself at the blues player American football style. Can't defend Sully here im afraid it's a terrible challenge and the fact it's now online will do him no favours he should have came out an apologised to the player as he was badly injured on the night not sure if he has recovered yet or not. Even an apology at this stage would look more like he had to make one given the online reaction. Perhaps he apologised behind closed doors though. I'm sure the referees bosses will be taking a look at why the man in the middle didn't send him off as well.

114 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Town Legend View Post
    Total over reaction from everyone on here and from the Waterford player. A simple mistimed tackle while going for the ball. Surely if it was anything worse the ref would of booked him. He got his free and the game carried on. It's a sight, opposition fans baying for blood before a competitive ball has been kicked. That's what's wrong with the LOI and what's holding it back is fans like ye.
    \

218 Posts
    Colonelwest, I do hope you read my post under that. IF you did I find your reply very funny. If you did not I find your post very offensive

114 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Town Legend View Post
    Colonelwest, I do hope you read my post under that. IF you did I find your reply very funny. If you did not I find your post very offensive
    I did indeed! I got what you were doing with it straight away and had visions of the Rodmeister running through my head!

218 Posts
    Haha I'm trying my best to follow in the footsteps of both my hero!

504 Posts
    It looks more of a cowards tackle that a purposely dirty one if it makes any sense. He was sprinting full pelt for the ball, realized he was about to make a horrendous tackle, due to being the second too late, and kind of curls up to protect himself.

Page 14 of 14 FirstFirst ... 4121314