Page 11 of 57 FirstFirst ... 91011121321 ... LastLast

Thread: Attendances 2014

445 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by nigel-harps1954 View Post
    Apparently 845 was the official attendance.
    No official figure given but if you're taking the Extratime attendance for the Limerick game you must aye the 2,500 they estimated for the UCD game

Apparently 845 was the official attendance.
    There wasn't one. Think they're still having issues with the new scanners

83 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    There wasn't one. Think they're still having issues with the new scanners
    I couldn't make the game on Friday but I believe we are still having issues with them as well hence the official attendance of only 690 at the ATFC vs Cork City game. Definitely more than that there.

Follow Us on Facebook and Twitter

387 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Battery Rover View Post
    I couldn't make the game on Friday but I believe we are still having issues with them as well hence the official attendance of only 690 at the ATFC vs Cork City game. Definitely more than that there.
    You weren't at the game but are certain there was more then 690 there?

Formerly skibbereen co.cork but now Oregon USA
    25 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Town Legend View Post
    690 at Athlone v Cork according to Extratime.
    and about 150 of that was Cork fans.
    west cork district league
    west cork commandos

83 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Nah Nah Nah Nah View Post
    You weren't at the game but are certain there was more then 690 there?
    Have had a number of enquiries from all areas of the press asking was it correct and people who know the lay out of the ground are also saying there was more than that.

I was on the gate scanning the first game against Rovers and there was constant issues with invalid scans. I was told there were issues again last night. The problems with the new scanners will sort themselves out over time as the system settles in.
    Last edited by Battery Rover; 29/03/2014 at 4:37 PM.

Follow Us on Facebook and Twitter

98 Posts
    I know its easy say, but there was a lot more than 690 at our game. Dunno whats going on with the scanners but 690 is a mile off the attendance.
    Athlone Town AFC 1887-2017

218 Posts
    Have had a number of enquiries from all areas of the press asking was it correct and people who know the lay out of the ground are also saying there was more than that.

I was on the gate scanning the first game against Rovers and there was constant issues with invalid scans. I was told there were issues again last night. The problems with the new scanners will sort themselves out over time as the system settles in.

Have ye opened up more than just the one side of the ground? Genuine question. Last season I think ye only had the stand open.

63 Posts
    4300 at Windsor Park today for the top of the table game in Belfast. Unlikely now to make an Irish league game before the season ends but hope someday to go to a game up there. Would this fixture be the best one to go to? any suggestions

2,346 Posts
    757 in Finn Park v Galway.

365 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by wonder88 View Post
    4300 at Windsor Park today for the top of the table game in Belfast. Unlikely now to make an Irish league game before the season ends but hope someday to go to a game up there. Would this fixture be the best one to go to? any suggestions
    I've only been to Wndsor once for a Setanta Cup game with Dlk and I thought the stadium is lost on league games. For most games the stand the camera is facing is virtually empty, save for middle upper section for away fans.

While Linfield and Cliftonville are the current top 2 sides, I would tend to go to a home match for Clifttonville as it would seem a better atmosphere. The only other IL ground (apart from Newry) that I've been to is Solitude, where Crusaders play, that'sa nice compact ground, recently improved with all seating.

Suppose if you could make an end of season game, another option would be the IFA Cup Final in late April or early May.

Ps while 4,300 may have attended today, Linfield.s avg crowd is around 1,700, and I think Cliftonvlle's is a a good bit lower, I was very surprised to see some matches last season under 1,000 but I have not been tracking either this season.
    Last edited by oriel; 30/03/2014 at 12:35 AM.
    #DundalkFC - First Irish club to win an away game in Europe (1963), first Irish club to win points in a group stage in Europe (2016).

433 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by oriel View Post
    that I've been to is Solitude, where Crusaders play, .
    Jaysus, don't be saying that to any Cliftonville supporters!!

The problems with the new scanners will sort themselves out over time as the system settles in.
    I'd hope Athlone will be a small bit more proactive than that in dealing with the issue.

365 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dunny View Post
    Jaysus, don't be saying that to any Cliftonville supporters!!
    Sorry my bad. I was at Seaview home of Crusaders, never been to Solitude, sorry Reds!
    #DundalkFC - First Irish club to win an away game in Europe (1963), first Irish club to win points in a group stage in Europe (2016).

Cliftonville has 2 good stands behind the goals. The away stand is small enough but perfect for what they need. On one side of the ground is nothing, while the other has an old stand that was empty the couple of times I was there bar a few lads standing on the terrace beside it.

This site is great if you're planning a trip;
    http://www.footballgroundguide.com/n...land/index.htm

2,346 Posts
    Have Shelbourne been charging 15 euro into the ground all season so far? Noticed the prices for the Harps game online there. Shocking prices for First Division. 15 adults, 10 students..very steep altogether.

That's their usual price.

Same as last year

http://www.shelbournefc.com/news.php?id=2758

2,346 Posts
    Week 4:

PREMIER DIVISION

Athlone - 1,242 (754; 271; 200; 354; 462)
    Bohs - 2,530 (1,597; 1,496; 1,488; 1,835; 2,366)
    Bray - 525 (891; 965; 1,121; 952; 1,169)
    Cork - 4,036 (1,965; 2,786; 2,128 FD; 1,693 FD; 2,681)
    Derry - 1,300 (1,446; 1,460; 2,135; 1,965 FD; 2,436)
    Drogheda - 1,515 (817; 977; 811; 859; 1,106)
    Dundalk - 1,884 (1,997; 949; 1,355; 1,877; 2,371)
    Limerick - 1,081 (1,649; 734 FD; 569 FD; 598 FD; 429 FD)
    Pat's - 1,250 (1,687; 1,474; 1,346; 1,756; 1,631)
    Rovers - 3,307 (2,763; 3,127; 3,779; 3,794; 3,611)
    Sligo - 2,182 (2,342; 3,007; 2,103; 1,807; 1,756)
    UCD - 544 (487; 506; 558; 610; 272 FD)

FIRST DIVISION

Cobh - 400 (439; 2008 - 1,122 PD; 681; 368; 403)
    Harps - 677 (479; 429; 433; 644; 480) -
    Galway - 1,723 (No previous)
    Longford - 600 (379; 365; 315; 230; 260)
    Rovers B - 330 (No previous)
    Shels - 765 (1,114 PD; 1,187 PD; 781; 737; 972)
    Waterford - 677 (478; 453; 466; 619; 434)
    Wexford - 197 (227; 302; 216; 343; 494)

PREMIER AVERAGE: 1,783 (1,566; 1,630; 1,547; 1,512; 2,010)
    FIRST DIVISION AVERAGE: 694 (391; 372; 578; 682; 417)

OVERALL AVERAGE: 1,364 (1,140; 1,125; 1,110; 1,095; 1,175)

OVERALL WEEKLY ATTENDANCE: 10,612 (9 games)

OVERALL FIRST ATTENDANCE: 10,411
    OVERALL PREMIER ATTENDANCE: 42,789

OVERALL COMBINED ATTENDANCE: 53,200

2,346 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    That's their usual price.

Same as last year

http://www.shelbournefc.com/news.php?id=2758
    Surely though, 15 euro is just too much to be charging into a First Division match. Most clubs charge 10 euro for adults, never mind students.

Formerly skibbereen co.cork but now Oregon USA
    25 Posts
    Surely though, 15 euro is just too much to be charging into a First Division match. Most clubs charge 10 euro for adults, never mind students.
    Were Mervue charging less? €5?? Still Cork City only charged €10 when in the first division! Shels are just greedy.
    west cork district league
    west cork commandos

Page 11 of 57 FirstFirst ... 91011121321 ... LastLast