Thread: Drogheda (away)

420 Posts

Drogheda (away)

So we bring our galacticos away for the peasants of the country to see for the first time tonight . How do people think it will go?

Id be delighted with a draw myself.

Would be happy with a draw too. It'll be less of an occasion than the Cork game too, possibly give us a better idea of how we'll do week to week. We shouldn't be afraid going up there either though.

420 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by sadloserkid View Post
    Would be happy with a draw too. It'll be less of an occasion than the Cork game too, possibly give us a better idea of how we'll do week to week. We shouldn't be afraid going up there either though.

You have clearly never seen Hunky Dory Park .

International Prospect CraftyToePoke's Avatar
    857 Posts
    I'd be happy with an away point, they did well last year after all. A point with a clean sheet would be spot on.

Of course if we are two up after half an hour and put them away 3-0 or something like that, and in the process making the whole division nervous, I would accept that too.

International Prospect NeverFeltBetter's Avatar
    583 Posts
    We're in this space right now, after a good but pretty impotent performance against Cork, where I'm not sure just how good the team can be. So, its good to have a game against one of the top sides in the league so soon, and away, a real proper test of the teams current state and ability. Is Brown likely to play a role?
    Author of Never Felt Better (History, Film Reviews).

2 men and a manager sent off, 3 penalties given against and still get a draw.....that's a great result...close to all 3 points too.
    What the hell happened up there lads?

44 Posts
    I hope we get a decent match report because that sounded absolutely mental.

Anyone who has seen Graham Kelly's 'performances' in Jackman over the last few years wouldn't be a bit surprised. There's a lot more one could say but there is no point in having 2 threads closed down in one week!

Quote Originally Posted by Market's Field View Post
    Anyone who has seen Graham Kelly's 'performances' in Jackman over the last few years wouldn't be a bit surprised. There's a lot more one could say but there is no point in having 2 threads closed down in one week!
    There's nothing wrong in stating facts. I'm sure it was pure coincidence that both our sending offs were players of a certain ethnic group. These things happen especially when Limerick Fc have a greater ethnic diversisty than most other clubs. Still its all quite shocking what happened last night. Looks like the crap we had to put up from officials for the last few years is continuing.
    "We've had a lot of good times, but you don't know how good they are until you have the bad ones" Tony Adams

[QUOTE=LK37oldskool;1670294]There's nothing wrong in stating facts. I'm sure it was pure coincidence that both our sending offs were players of a certain ethnic group.

Jesus lads ye would wanna be very careful before ye insinuate that the match referee may be a racist.

never said such a thing. Just saying it was a coincedence.
    "We've had a lot of good times, but you don't know how good they are until you have the bad ones" Tony Adams

I had no intention of implying any ethnic bias by Mr. Kelly in my post. I just think he shouldn't be left near a league of Ireland game, simply not up to the job!

A very watered down report compared to what he was saying last night on extratime
    http://www.extratime.ie/newsdesk/art...---2-limerick/

3 of those 4 officials should never be let near a pitch again.
    In brief Ball strikes hand of gamble, pen and scored by O'Brien
    Gamble booked by Kelly later in half
    Gannon given yellow for two footed lunge into the back of Galbraith.
    Brown scores.

Sava picks up ball outside box, yellow.
    Pen Drogs called by lino (Cahill) when tackle looked very clean and ref Kelly standing two feet away.
    Brown STRAIGHT RED..dismissed for dissent?? complaining about pen. Taylor dismissed by forth official Neill Doyle for complaining about pen
    Pen saved by Ryan
    Glabraith fouled in box, pen limerick....Tracy scores
    Limerick totally on top
    Monaghan tactics being employed
    Axel goes past three taken dowm, free
    Cassidy throws himself to ground from no contact
    Forth official Neil Doyle sends off axel.

Forth official Neil Doyle shows 3 mins to be added in the 92nd min
    Pen Drogs and scored by O'Brien

Forth official at UCD game for Tuesday would appear to have been changed
    Last edited by gael353; 16/03/2013 at 11:09 AM.

Why was the 4th changed, is p Sutton not doing it now?mns Monday night should clear it all up.

420 Posts
    There is no-one to blame for Axels red but Axel imo. He had won the free get up and get on with it if you go running over to an opposition player like he did they will react the way Cassidy did every single time. Stupid stuff from Axel.

583 Posts
    Sounds like a mental evening. Reds aside, its good to see Limerick challenging the better teams.

How did Browne get on before his exit?

27 Posts
    i see gael is at it again,maybe our matchs should just have no officials...yawn.

Humble pie anybody!!!

583 Posts
    Watching the MNS highlights:

I'd have little complaints about any Drogheda penalty, I think I've seen similar calls for all three both given and not given. Our penalty was certainly deserved.

For the reds, I can't really speak about Browne or Taylor, don't know what was said so I'm willing to give the ref the benefit of the doubt and assume it was over the line. As for Axel, it was nonsense. To call a square up of that nature "violent conduct" - the only thing that would justify a red in that situation - is to the immense discredit of the ref and his linesmen. The simulation was shocking to see, and an appeal process should be at least attempted, if only to call attention to that blatant bit of gamesmanship.
    Author of Never Felt Better (History, Film Reviews).

Browne's wasn't a red and the ref pretty much flashed the red before Browne even had a chance to speak to him so can't see how it was for dissent. The penalty calls were fine but the red cards were terrible knee jerk/OTT officiating.

21. Thanks From: