Page 11 of 12 FirstFirst ... 9101112 LastLast

Thread: LOI Squads 2013

63 Posts
    I think the Sligo manager it taking the right approach. No point in having a big squad, resulting in a lot of players getting no games at all. There is no reserve league either. A good team will pick itself mostly and since Sligo are full-time the number of games played by teams in the LOI is not too demanding.

Quote Originally Posted by srfc1928 View Post
    Ciaran Kelly to be added aswell.
    Not a massive squad at all, maybe one of the smallest in the league. But Baraclough has said he prefers work with a small squad rather than having players not getting game time. He could of easily gone to the board demanding big money for players after winning the league but hes been patient and brought in 3 players that he tought would fit in and let 5/6 go. There wasnt pressure on him to trim the squad either, at Thursdays AGM Rovers reported a profit for the fifth year in a row. He seems to put a lot of emphasis on the running costs of the club along with managing/coaching the team
    I'm a big fan of Baraclough but to suggest that the signing of Elding is part of some long term plan or being patient is absolute rubbish.
    We were left with no other options. The reasons for this may be commendable but let's not kid ourselves.
    Only Baraclough knows if the Elding signing is a gamble. I have a feeling he will destroy a lot of defences in this league but the amount of clubs he has gone through has got to be a worry.

288 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by dong View Post
    Only Baraclough knows if the Elding signing is a gamble. I have a feeling he will destroy a lot of defences in this league but the amount of clubs he has gone through has got to be a worry.
    Would be surprised if he makes any significant impact, but I still have it in the back of my mind that he destroyed the LOI when I brought him across in Football Manager about 5 or 6 years ago...

Quote Originally Posted by dong View Post
    I'm a big fan of Baraclough but to suggest that the signing of Elding is part of some long term plan or being patient is absolute rubbish.
    We were left with no other options. The reasons for this may be commendable but let's not kid ourselves.
    Not suggesting elding or any player is part of a long term plan. But Baraclough could of felt he deserved a bigger budget, he hasnt complained or moaned and just got on with it. He does seem to understand that we cant spend money that we do not have or may not have in the future
    . We all know that if you throw enough money at a player he will sign for anyone, he hasnt done that or asked the club to do that so from that point of view i think he has been patient

420 Posts
    Jonathon Tiffoney can be added to the Limerick squad.

http://www.limerickfc.ie/jonathan-ti...for-new-season

Squad of 20 for Pats, with plenty of under 19s expected to make squads too (they've all be signed for the LOI season)

But for now here's the squad numbers
    1 Brendan Clarke
    2 Ger O'Brien
    3 Jake Carroll
    4 Conor Kenna
    5 Aidan Price
    6 Greg Bolger
    7 Conan Byrne
    8 Shane McFaul
    9 Christy Fagan
    10 John Russell
    11 Killian Brennan
    12 Ian Bermingham
    14 Jordan Keegan
    15 Kenny Browne
    16 David Ryan
    17 Chris Forrester
    18 Sean Gannon
    19 Jake Kelly
    20 Anto Flood
    21 Conor Murphy

From the under 19s I'd expect Sean Hoare, Sam Verdon, Gavin Boyne, Peter Durrard, Mario Chindea, and Tom Mulroney to be involved at stages. Pat Jennings Jnr is oour GK coach and has signed forms to play too

Quote Originally Posted by bluewhitearmy View Post
    Jonathon Tiffoney can be added to the Limerick squad

http://www.limerickfc.ie/jonathan-ti...for-new-season
    All round to his gaff for a fry-up on match mornings so.

This new Limerick manager wasn't joking when he said he had a few contacts in Scotland.

Current and I would imagine final Sligo Rovers squad:

Gary Rogers,
    Alan Keane,
    Gavin Peers,
    Jeff Henderson,
    Seamus Conneely,
    Ross Gaynor,
    Ryan Connolly,
    Joseph Ndo,
    David Cawley,
    Lee Lynch,
    Danny North,
    Liam Martin,
    Colm McLoughlin [on loan at Ballinamallard United],
    Martin Owens,
    Aaron Greene,
    Iarfhlaith Davoren,
    Rafael Cretaro,
    Pascal Millien,
    Evan McMillan,
    Danny Ventre,
    Anthony Elding.
    Not 100% convinced. We've a lot of quality there. The big question is who can break open a game the way Quigley did. He's a very different type, but if Lynch can consistently produce the kind of form he did on occasion last year, he could be our most influential player. I've high hopes for the playmaking and creativity of Gaynor released from full-back duty, and I'm really looking forward to a full season of Conneely. Add Cawley, one year older and wiser, and you have as good a midfield as anyone, with still other options.

Goals are the big question. North was untouchable last year but he'll miss a chunk of the season and is very unlikely to regain his sharpness immediately. In Elding, have we got a player who'll tear up LoI defences or a headcase who'll be gone halfway through the season? We'll find out soon enough.

539 Posts
    Longford Town squad(Squad numbers included)

1. Chris Bennion
    2. Noel Haverty
    3. Chris Deans
    4. William McDonagh
    5. William Tyrell
    6. Des Hope
    7. Keith Gillespie
    8. Mark Salmon
    9. Colm James
    10. Gary Shaw
    11. Michael Lee
    12. David O'Neill
    14. Daniel Purdy
    15. David O'Sullivan
    16. Gary Cronin
    17. Gavin Doyle
    18. Paul Hunt
    19. Corey Treacy
    20. Keith Quinn
    21. Etanda Nkololo
    22. Josh O'Hanlon
    23. Michael Isichei
    24. Aaron Brilly
    25. Brian McCarthy

20 Posts
    Hi lads.

Does anyone on here have the Cobh squad so far ?

Cheers..

We have another player on trial so may not be finished signing just yet, given the position he plays in I'd say it's likely we'll sign him...assuming he's not cat altogether.
    Last edited by sligoman; 26/02/2013 at 8:16 PM.

137 Posts
    3 more for Athlone.

Niall Scullion re-signed, Paddy O'Boyle from junior football and Garbhan Coughlan coming on loan from Limerick.
    Celebrating 130 Years of Athlone Town Football Club - Pride of the Midlands Since 1887

365 Posts
    I think we are almost complete now, just missing one defender, if we can manage it within budget (failed to get Kalen Spillane from Cork this week)

Peter Cherrie
    Aaran Shanahan

Dane Massey
    Eoghan Osborne
    Andy Boyle
    Mark Rossiter
    Chris Shields
    John Sullivan
    TBC

Stephen O'Donnell (capt)
    Stephen McDonnell
    Richie Towell
    John Dillon
    Keith Ward
    John Mountney
    Darren Meenan

Vinny Faherty
    Tiarnan Mulvenna
    Kurtis Byrne
    Patrick Hoban

Possibly some youth players will be added also, including Sami Osobe, may have spelt name wrong, and one or two others.
    Last edited by oriel; 26/02/2013 at 9:15 PM.
    #DundalkFC - First Irish club to win an away game in Europe (1963), first Irish club to win points in a group stage in Europe (2016).

We have another player on trial so may not be finished signing just yet, given the position he plays in I'd say it's likely we'll sign him...assuming he's not cat altogether.
    I'm about 900 miles from Castlebar tonight but judging by the tweets he seemed to be involved in everything. Were you at the game?

Quote Originally Posted by Fivesilver View Post
    I'm about 900 miles from Castlebar tonight but judging by the tweets he seemed to be involved in everything. Were you at the game?
    No I wasn't but as you say, seemed to get himself about. I reckon he could be a decent signing, still young.

Cobh squad Off the top of my head,
    robert burnskill
    Ian llong
    Gary cCollins
    brian fitzpatrick
    john meade
    alan o flynn
    micky o shea
    andrew bandacker
    martin deady
    conor meade
    davin o neil
    jonathan Spillane
    And the rest are u19 players.

Shamrock Rovers:

Goalkeepers:
    Barry Murphy
    Richard Brush
    Conor Winn

Defenders:
    Pat Sullivan
    Daniel Ledwith
    Ken Oman
    Derek Foran
    Jason McGuinness
    David Elebert
    Conor Powell

Midfielders:
    Lorcan Shannon
    Stephen Rice
    Conor McCormack
    Sean O'Connor
    James Chambers
    Shane Robinson
    Gary McCabe
    Billy Dennehy
    Ronan Finn

Strikers:
    Karl Sheppard
    Mark Quigley
    Tommy Stewart
    Ciaran Kilduff
    Dean Ebbe
    Ireland: Discovered!

365 Posts
    Christ have you enough midfielders there manic?

Didn't realise Lorcan Shannon re-signed, thought he worked very hard in a very poor DLK side for the second half of last season. Decent player but will he get many games?
    #DundalkFC - First Irish club to win an away game in Europe (1963), first Irish club to win points in a group stage in Europe (2016).

2,642 Posts
    http://www.thesun.ie/irishsol/homepa...cle4821129.ece

Heary added: “Dermot Keely is a very good manager and I know people criticise him for the way he went on but look at what he achieved, Pat learnt off Dermot. I take some aspects out of them all. The only one I wouldn’t take anything from is Seán Connor.

23. Thanks From:

Page 11 of 12 FirstFirst ... 9101112 LastLast