Page 11 of 35 FirstFirst ... 91011121321 ... LastLast

Thread: Markets Field Renovations??

Plenty of space alright but the problem is pumping money into a ground that won't be ours to use there afterwards. It will probably be pretty expense to extend the dressing rooms, make the hill safe for temporary stands, rent the stands and make another secure entrance.

Quote Originally Posted by El-Pietro View Post
    Do you really think Delaney is going to make exceptions for Limerick? Hes out to get them anyway he can, and all he has to do is follow the licensing rules. The irony here is that the fudge in this case will be not fudging it.

precedent has allready been set with Harps and Droghada

what upgrades? where would you put a temporary stand? honestly? where could you conceivably put a temporary stand? on the hill? Come on be serious here, where will you add an extra entrance? Theres so much more that would be required, licensing is much more than just having 500 covered seats and two entrances.
    as has been mentioned there is a half a mile of flats to be knocked in Jan and an entrance anywhere along there if not two, three or as many as we like can go there. also at that end a stand similar to wexford or Bray can be put in the wedth of the pitch. No matter how bad we build a stand nothing and i mean nothing can be as bad as that ****tte st annes end yee did in cork.
    Last edited by gael353; 18/10/2012 at 6:10 PM.

447 Posts
    theres a 46 page document on licensing requirement for Stadium infrastructure alone
    http://www.fai.ie/images/stories/FAI...teria_2011.pdf

420 Posts
    theres a 46 page document on licensing requirement for Stadium infrastructure alone
    http://www.fai.ie/images/stories/FAI...teria_2011.pdf

Ill leave that to the lads who actually need to know it... Jackman will get work done and then it will have everything it needs for licencing i have no worries about that at all.

420 Posts

International Prospect NeverFeltBetter's Avatar
    583 Posts
    More nonsense from city Councillors. Leddin was opposing the plans a few months ago, now talking about how they can be "fast-tracked". Now that Limerick have been promoted, I guess they don't want the possible stigma of damaging that process. 2014 isn't that far away.

Really dissapointing if it is Jackman though, improved or not.
    Author of Never Felt Better (History, Film Reviews).

I thought Limerick FC said it would be available to the local community already?

Do the councilors not realise that it's the LEDP that own the Markets Field and surely it's them who will ultimately decide what else the Markets Field can be used for. I'm pretty sure Limerick FC can't turn around and say "right this is only for soccer and the local community can't use it".

It looks like to me they are just letting everyone know this can be fast tracked.

Any news on this ? is it looking more and more likely that we won't see Prem football in the Markets field next season ?

Well lads has the field been laid yet up there...

583 Posts
    Planning permission hasn't gone through yet.

Surely they dont need planning permission to lay new grass where the existing grass is do they? Could seating be put into the stand and refurbish or get temporary changing rooms (portacabins) and tidy the place up a bit. Surely this would bring the ground up to standard while waiting for planning permission and would be money better spent than doing up Jackman Park, id imagine it would be easier get a prem licence for the Markets Field Than Jackman.

shur lets give galway back prem football and go to terryland for a year kills two birds etc etc

Shed End.. **** off with your joe delaney stand
    159 Posts
    what would the capacity of markets field be when ye move in?

Quote Originally Posted by patrickccfc View Post
    what would the capacity of markets field be when ye move in?
    Not sure, would that be up to the fire Marshall to decide when the time comes?

583 Posts
    The aim is somewhere around 4'000 I think, with longer term proposals for double that.

55 Posts

better than nothing

Quote Originally Posted by gael353 View Post
    shur lets give galway back prem football and go to terryland for a year kills two birds etc etc
    Galway United Supporters Trust could offer some services like stewarding, programme, event promotion etc which could help us continue to re establish Galway United and rehabilitate the club back into the league for a small fee of course

Shed End.. **** off with your joe delaney stand
    159 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by NeverFeltBetter View Post
    The aim is somewhere around 4'000 I think, with longer term proposals for double that.
    ah that would be grand for ye.. first game there will be special

420 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by gael353 View Post

It would kill two birds alright. No hope of it happening i would think/hope though.

Quote Originally Posted by bluewhitearmy View Post
    http://virtualglobetrotting.com/map/...iew/?service=1

If you look at it there you can see there is massive space for a temp stand behind the goal opposite the club house and when those apartments are knocked there is more then enough room for an entrance.
    That aerial photo was taken in late 2007, I reckon (the roof of the stand was replaced in 2009).

Regardless of what Limerick FC would need for Jackman Park, the LDMC needs to upgrade the dressing rooms and toilets for themselves. I believe they have planning permission for this work, so it's just a matter of them allocating a budget and seeking tenders for the job.

I really hope Limerick will not be playing there next season, but it's easy to see how a Bray- or Wexford-type stand (something lightweight and cheap) could be put in at the Station side.
    As for behind the goal at the City end, I would go for something more substantial which could be moved to the Markets Field afterwards. It might be possible to get a stand that would go into Jackman Park temporarily, but could then be converted/upgraded to a permanent structure in the Markets Field.
    Fight the good fight!

(Now with my very own account on foot.ie - How cool am I? - 15/02/07)

Page 11 of 35 FirstFirst ... 91011121321 ... LastLast