178 Posts

League Cup Semi Finals

Tuesday 17/08/2010
    19:45

Sligo Rovers V Shamrock Rovers
    Monaghan United V Dundalk
    Manager: Fergal, have you your boots with ya?
    Fergal: Ya, I have them here.
    Manager: Ah good stuff, well give them to this man so, he forgot his!

178 Posts
    This cup may classed as a mickey mouse cup but the last 4 teams left havent won a trophy for a while so would no doubt like to win it. Both games are hard to call i think, with us and Shams in good form and monaghan on the up and Dundalk on the slide lately. Should be an interesting evening.
    Manager: Fergal, have you your boots with ya?
    Fergal: Ya, I have them here.
    Manager: Ah good stuff, well give them to this man so, he forgot his!

138 Posts
    Id tip Monaghan to beat Dundalk because they are just on a downward spiral and Mons are on the up and seem more competitive.
    As for us and Shams, its so hard to call, id say we have the slimmest of advantages since we are at home.
    Should be a big crowd out for our semi final, wouldnt be surprised if there was 3000 at it since we got 3000 at the first home game of the season against Shams.

Jaysus don't be tipping us, that kinda talk scares me. Any nuterals making the spin over to cheer us on? I know of 3 drog coming wearing mons colours! :-D

537 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Magicme View Post
    Jaysus don't be tipping us, that kinda talk scares me. Any nuterals making the spin over to cheer us on? I know of 3 drog coming wearing mons colours! :-D
    sorry magicme the sligo lads win everytime!! easier to drive after work! still the best of luck to ye anyway! it will be nice to get a sligo monaghan final which hopefully I will go to!

185 Posts
    I have to be in Dublin on Tuesday evening unfortunately. I was hoping to make it down to Sligo for the game but it's not to be. Hopefully Sligo kick the crap out of Shams anyway.

Where will the final be held ?
    Ahhh

Quote Originally Posted by Ciaran W View Post
    Where will the final be held ?
    One of the finalists will be at home.

More then likely rovers will be at home if there in the final.
    Ahhh

3,223 Posts
    That's what Derry said when they played us. It's a coin toss to decide, as far as I know. If, say, Monaghan get to host Rovers, that's just the way of it (unless Monaghan elect to change)

It doesnt really make a difference to me anyway coz i wont be here for it if it was in tallaght it would be a brilliant crowd.
    Ahhh

3,223 Posts
    But if it were in Monaghan, it could do more for that club. The crowd isn't always an important factor.

Ye that is true, sure they had in the rsc last year even though bohs were in it.
    Ahhh

If monaghan get to the final I doubt the game would be played in Monaghan sure what is the capacity of the ground 500?
    Ian Fosters Black & White army

The Home of football is oriel!

85 Posts
    More then likely rovers will be at home if there in the final.
    It depends on the toss of a coin, there's no 'more than likely' about it.
    www.dundalkfc.com

Colin Scanlon - hero!

It doesnt really make a difference to me anyway coz i wont be here for it if it was in tallaght it would be a brilliant crowd.
    As opposed to the tumbleweed that would be blowing around the ground if it was at Monaghan or Dundalk?
    I'm what? I'm ants at a picnic?

I know you would get a big crowd out in the other 3 stadiums but the fact that it would be rovers first cup final since moving to tallaght would bring out a huge crowd.
    Ahhh

175 Posts
    Bring back the two-legged final!!
    NL 1st Division Champions 2006
    NL Premier Division Champions 2010
    NL Premier Division Champions 2011

Keep Tallaght Tidy, Throw your rubbish in the Jodi

Ten Years Not Out

19. Thanks From:

3,223 Posts
    I know you would get a big crowd out in the other 3 stadiums but the fact that it would be rovers first cup final since moving to tallaght would bring out a huge crowd.
    Rather arrogant to expect special treatment cos of that though. It'd be a Cup Final for the other team too, and it'd bring out a big crowd for them as well.

21. Thanks From:

138 Posts
    If we got to the final expect 4000-5000.
    Also id suspect if Dundalk got through to the final they would also have a bumper crowd.
    So can you please pack in the "tallaght is special" nonsense.

23. Thanks From:

Page 1 of 9 123 ... LastLast