Thread: Tips on forum posting

205 Posts

Tips on forum posting

1. To win a few instant friends on the board a good first post should indicate that you are from Dublin, preferably around Phibsborough or Tallaght area and that you think Glen Crowe is one of the best LOI players, past and present. Also it bodes well among your new found friends if your personal signature contains comments like "Bohs are crap" or The FAI are losers"

2. If you want to annoy or generally upset the board a surefire way is to post only in textspeak . Dis is alwys a gr8 laf wit da lads n a gud way ov shwin dat skool got in da way ov bin cul wif da bois.

3. When you are not sure if a story is true or just want to make up your own lies always add the word "FACT" at the end of your post this automatically makes it true and gives the post the air of authority that it had lacked .

4. Always refer to players by their first name , by doing this you will fool certain members here that you know the top guys personally and that you are somehow qualified to speak on their behalf. Comments like "Gary's ovaries were at him " and "Jason wasn't really trying so he decided not to score" are bound to have the faithful here wishing they were as well up in the footballing scene as you seem to be. Also its no harm to let people know that you have contacts and access to records in FAI, Local Clubs, English FA or any other outfit that you care to throw in for good measure.

5. When you are a keeping it real and true member be sure to compliment
    all and sundry on great wins ,great posts, clips etc etc to show that you are a nice guy and a good sportsman, but when you change to your poison alter ego (your other posting name) comments like " he wouldn't score in a whorehouse" , "the only box he would get into is a snackbox" are the order of the day.

6. Beware when you make your first contradictory reply, be sure to have the correct information at hand for the inevitable backlash that's bound to ensue, as there are a certain breed of anorak here that seem to have all day, everyday to search for that one link that will prove you wrong and then take great pride by adding their trademark piece de resistance "FACT" (see item 3) to finish you off .
    The sad fact(pun intended) is that people who believe everything they read on the Internet tend to be a bit dim.

7. Before you reply to a thread about the rules of football just remember that FAI and UEFA have bowed to the superior knowledge shown here by some self proclaimed protagonists and have deemed the rulebook is useless. A new " Little Black Book " is on the way.

8. Slander is allowed but frowned upon by the mods , but if you insist on spreading some its advisable to use a first/only time poster account from an internet cafe . ( Maybe a section for first and only time posters could be set up for this purpose)

9. Now start posting and enjoy yourself we really are a nice bunch of guys here. FACT
    Sporting F*ck All!

501 Posts
    Fact!

1,524 Posts
    A few more tips:

1. No matter what they do, attack the FAI. Often they deserve it, but whether they do or not is not important- lay into them anyway. The same goes for match officials.
    2. You may come across the odd thread that relates to fans causing trouble. Note that if these acusations involve Shamrock Rovers, the following are true:
    a. It didn't actually happen. People only say it did because it was Rovers.
    b. What did happen was very minor.
    c. It doesn't count anyway because Bohs once did something worse.
    d. There were only a tiny minority involved.
    e. It was the guards fault.
    f. It was also the opposing fans fault.
    g. As we mentioned before, it didn't happen anyway.
    3. About 25% of all threads will descend into Bohs- Rovers bickering. Best to steer clear or you'll be acused of being in a love in with one of the sides.
    4. Harps and Derry do the same, but can't help occasionally lapsing into civility.
    5. The funniest threads often end up in rubbish. Always worth a look.
    6. The off topic forum is a quite astonishingly bad place to ask for advice on life decisions. You should still ask though, we do enjoy it so.
    7. We absolutely fecking HATE new LOI clubs on this forum. Especially if they're a bit good.
    8. Posting your preferred layout for the LOI divisions without thinking it through is the fastest way to win friends.
    9. Jim is dead. Most of us are glad.
    Last edited by Mr A; 15/05/2010 at 5:14 PM.

716 Posts
    One more tip:

Posts consisting of a series of references to forum in-jokes and clichés are a good bet for post of the month.

2,629 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Mr A View Post
    A few more tips:

1. No matter what they do, attack the FAI. Often they deserve it, but whether they do or not is not important- lay into them anyway. The same goes for match officials.
    2. You may come across the odd thread that relates to fans causing trouble. Note that if these acusations involve Shamrock Rovers, the following are true:
    a. It didn't actually happen. People only say it did because it was Rovers.
    b. What did happen was very minor.
    c. It doesn't count anyway because Bohs once did something worse.
    d. There were only a tiny minority involved.
    e. It was the guards fault.
    f. It was also the opposing fans fault.
    g. As we mentioned before, it didn't happen anyway.
    h. it was photoshopped/doctored footage
    3. About 25% of all threads will descend into Bohs- Rovers bickering. Best to steer clear or you'll be acused of being in a love in with one of the sides.
    4. Harps and Derry do the same, but can't help occasionally lapsing into civility.
    5. The funniest threads often end up in rubbish. Always worth a look.
    6. The off topic forum is a quite astonishingly bad place to ask for advice on life decisions. You should still ask though, we do enjoy it so.
    7. We absolutely fecking HATE new LOI clubs on this forum. Especially if they're a bit good.
    8. Posting your preferred layout for the LOI divisions without thinking it through is the fastest way to win friends.
    9. Jim is dead. Most of us are glad.
    i just added a new h) if thats okay...

473 Posts
    There's no point looking for any Shamrock Rovers supporters because there's a strict 100% blanket boycott of foot.ie by all their fans

501 Posts
    Which is of course why it's also so peaceful and tranquil every time they make idiots of themselves.

I was threatened with legal action the last time, so the bully boy tactics would seem to come from the top down. If they spent more time actually dealing with the morons that cause trouble at their games and less time worrying about their personal images and egos, they might be slightly better off.

3,223 Posts
    What morons?

501 Posts
    The ones that don't exist of course!

175 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by peadar1987
    There's no point looking for any Shamrock Rovers supporters because there's a strict 100% blanket boycott of foot.ie by all their fans
    Quote Originally Posted by Mr A
    About 25% of all threads will descend into Bohs- Rovers bickering.
    NL 1st Division Champions 2006
    NL Premier Division Champions 2010
    NL Premier Division Champions 2011

Keep Tallaght Tidy, Throw your rubbish in the Jodi

Ten Years Not Out

501 Posts
    peadar was being facetious. The rest of the thread could've been taken as a tip...

I think he's just wondering is the percentage too low.