Thread: Help Wanted From GAA Fans

Help Wanted From GAA Fans

Having an argument here.
    As far as I remember Meath played one Football Championship game back in 2000 or 2001 where the entire team wore manky sleeveless shirts. (Aussie Rules style)
    They thought they were the coolest of the cool
    They were beaten and naturally the shirts were never seen again.
    This is utterly disputed by a colleague from Meath.
    Anyone help with info or better still, a team photo?

Quote Originally Posted by Peadar
    Having an argument here.
    As far as I remember Meath played one Football Championship game back in 2000 or 2001 where the entire team wore manky sleeveless shirts. (Aussie Rules style)
    They thought they were the coolest of the cool
    They were beaten and naturally the shirts were never seen again.
    This is utterly disputed by a colleague from Meath.
    Anyone help with info or better still, a team photo?
    I though it was just one player, Graham Geraity or someone with a name sounding like that?
    Oh no not them again

Yep.

2000 V Offaly in the first round of the leinster championship
    The glass isn't half full or half empty it's just too damn big!

Quote Originally Posted by SÓC
    I though it was just one player
    I'm certian it was the whole team and not just Trevor Giles.
    As far as I recall, the game was played on a Saturday and they were beaten by Kildare or some outsider.

Quote Originally Posted by SÓC
    I though it was just one player, Graham Geraity or someone with a name sounding like that?
    trevor Giles did it for ages. Eventually after he won the '99 all iralnd for Meath, he convinced the whole team to go for it.
    The glass isn't half full or half empty it's just too damn big!

maybe its like arsenal where the captain has the choice of long or short sleeves.....no sleeves...nothing for players to grab onto. that is the main reason for the skin tight rugby gear these days
    Ignore Max Power, he is no more, the future is Ron Burgundy. I'd love to be Ron Burgundy but they won't let me........

montrosity of a yellow sleeveless number

Bog Ball forum

Not exactly proof but...

Meath GAA
    What are the chances of Meath wearing a new jersey design on Sunday I wonder? Back in '98 a the current jersey was launched amid much cricism that supporters were being ripped off. Meath wore the new design against Louth and then after supporters had payed for replica kits they proceeded to wear the old design in the Leinster final loss to Kildare. '99 saw the new design bring us an All-Ireland and then last year we had to put up with a montrosity of a yellow sleeveless number against Offaly that has never been seen again. In the 1990 All-Ireland final Meath wore a once off that has never reappeared since. In 1991 Meath wore jerseys with yellow sleeves for the first two matches against Dublin and after supporters had purchased replica's they proceeded to go with a new Kepak design for the remainder of the ten game campaign. We all like fashion but would the Meath County Board please stick with one design for two years and then and only then change it. We are not Man United you know!?

Quote Originally Posted by max power
    maybe its like arsenal where the captain has the choice of long or short sleeves...
    Does every player in all the major clubs not have this choice?
    AFAIK the Rep. of Ireland lads do when playing for us.

Meath looked like arrogant fools and watching them lose was the sweetest thing.

Every player has his own choice of whether he wants long or short sleeve, it's the same in the eL

Most of that Meath team should have been playing with a ball and chain around their legs and prison issue suits. Pack of dirty feckers.
    Maybe you should put her on a leash, agent-man.

20 Posts
    Just as a further point the jeresys didn't come that way. Over the course of the 99 season while Giles wore it the company with an anti-competitive virtual monopoly on GAA clothing (Azzuri are only recent entrants to the market and Connolly is too small to challenge) confirmed that they don't produce sleeveless jerseys and that Giles was removing the sleeves himself.

They went on to say how competition in the market place is wrong as it gives the consumer too much power thus preventing them from practicing all forms of evil...you wouldn't think I studied commerce would you.
    Check out my new sports blog http://www.action81.com

Quote Originally Posted by Aberdonian Stu
    Just as a further point the jeresys didn't come that way.
    You're not talking about the same thing as I am.
    I know all about what Meath were wearing in 1999 because they beat us in the football final and denied us a famous double.
    I had to suffer their horrendus accents on Hill 16.

The shirts I'm talking about were worn after that when Meath were beaten by the BIFFO's in the first round of the championship.