Thread: Your Cup final memories

Your Cup final memories

Pat's vs Lonford, Fahey was sent off. Hahhaha what a game. We had just come back from Belgium(where I had been living all my life) and my dad took me to lansdowne to see the cup final the day after.

i have relatives from longford so was happy to see them victorious.

oh and dont even remind me off 99, came home and all for that and was horrible.
    Last edited by irishultra; 22/11/2009 at 1:11 AM.

1,081 Posts
    That was a particularly memorable occasion for us alright. Nasty tackle from Fahey on Prunty, he was in his brat phase at that stage. All of our cup finals () were memorable in their own way but 2003 will always be special. Almost no pub in the town closed until about 7 or 8 the next morning, the guards didn't give a flying one they were having the craic as well.

445 Posts
    Fahey got the ball, no way should he have been sent off, bad day
    Here on a technicality.

1,081 Posts
    It's been a while since I looked at it but from recollection he went in two footed and didn't get the ball, Prunty had pushed it on ahead of himself and Fahey caught him. All ancient history now anyway!.

57 Posts
    Kom Igen, FCK...

99 was great, especially Jayo in the third match.
    Extratime.ie

Yo te quiero, mi querida. Sin tus besos, yo soy nada.

Abri o portão de ouro, da maquina do tempo.

Mi mamá me hizo guapo, listo y antimadridista.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=58LFLdxnJlY

Good times. I went to my first cup final in '87 to see Dundalk play Rovers, not good times. '88 was much better.

Someone start a thread for todays final
    Ahhh

145 Posts
    Most recently the 2006 final stands out for me, absolutely extraordinary game aided by the horrendous conditions, I wonder will the weather have a similar impact on today's final?

Longford's late turnaround in 2004 and Tony Sheridan's classy lob over the keeper in the 1996 final are my other stand out cup final moments

My best Cup memory is actually the semi final in 2007 in Dalymount. Magic night.

Final was a bit of an anticlimax as a game after that, apart from lifting the trophy.
    During the game the atmosphere actually kicked off at half time, everyone's freezing, bucketing rain, so someone lights a flare, and another and another and the whole stand stands jumping up and down to seven nation army, as much to keep warm as anything.

Was convinced the stand was going to come down, didnt seem stable at all. I stopped jumping at one stage but the stand kept moving

62 Posts
    Mine is the 200 final where we came from behind agaisnt all ods to beat Bohs,simply as that was the only final Iv ever been to! super Gary Haylock, nearly kept us in the Premier all on his own and won the final for us all on his own. Got meself into the paper the following week too!

You've got no fans.

1996 - Tony Sheridan's performance in both games stands out in the memory. Cork - Derry games in 89 were good as well. But I suppose St Francis' achievement of getting to Final in 1990 merits praise also.
    'And Crouch must score'

22 Posts
    Losing
    5-0

537 Posts
    my top 5five cup finals of all time are:

1. pats derry city game the best cup final of all time
    2.Longford town st pats 2003our first ever trophy
    3.Dundalk bohs 2002 for gary haylock double
    4.Shamrock Rovers Derry City 2002-03 for Liam Coyles glorious winner
    5. Sligo Rovers 1-0 Derry City Gerry carr winner

290 Posts

Mad that our win is top of your list rather than Longford's triumph, classic though the 2006 final was.

I missed Liam Coyle's goal in 2002 as I went to the toilet just before the second half started thinking I'd be smart and miss the half time rush. I hear the cheer just as I was zipping up
    Last edited by thischarmingman; 22/11/2009 at 7:47 PM.

185 Posts

Surely our 2 wins should be your top 2 Marty?

433 Posts
    John Flanagan coming into us with the cup in 2002, Class And Haylock.
    Cumann Peile Dún Dealgan - Champions 2015 (too many accolades to be typing)

Termonbarry Athletic TID!

Freezing my nuts off in Tallaght.
    Fingal pulling a thousand or so fans out of a hat.

Quote Originally Posted by Dunny View Post
    John Flanagan coming into us with the cup in 2002, Class And Haylock.
    Jim Flanagan > John Flanagan