Page 9 of 13 FirstFirst ... 7891011 ... LastLast

Thread: John Delaney

86 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Bosco View Post
    Was fairly hungover this morning in Spar and saw his mug beaming from the front page of one of the tabloids.....had to look it up there to see if it was actually a story or whether I had just imagined it..

http://www.evoke.ie/reviews-entertai...-emma-english/
    €360K a year can do that for you alright.
    My first thought is "Do I really care ?"

1,524 Posts
    Part 2 of the main yoke: http://www.independent.ie/sport/socc...-30565166.html

Inspired, certainly, because the nation’s recession-darkened mood seemed to lift almost magically with the arrival of Martin ‘n Roy. “I notice, even now, when you walk down the street in Ireland, that there’s a positive vibe. That’s got to be good for the country. People are excited about Martin and Roy.
    So JD pretty much lifted the country out of recession. Sweet good Jebus this is awful, awful stuff.
    Last edited by Mr A; 08/09/2014 at 10:01 AM.

86 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Mr A View Post

So JD pretty much lifted the country out of recession. Sweet good Jebus this is awful, awful stuff.
    God that's awful stuff.
    Lucky I had my lunch before I read it.

I see Dunphy is already getting his claws into O'Neill after his interview with Tony O'Donohue last night.
    Won't be long now until Roy pipes up

1,524 Posts
    I don't have much time for Keane, but if he were to burst into the studio after the Gibraltar game, throwing O'Donoghue's broken body on the floor before administering a prolonged, violent beating to Giles and Dunphy in front of an incredulous and horrified Brady I could forgive a lot.

Edit: May have got a bit carried away and gone off topic a bit there, sorry.
    Last edited by Mr A; 08/09/2014 at 4:00 PM.

55 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by marinobohs View Post
    Had to misfortune to fall upon SKY Sports 'piece' on our own living legend JD difficult to imagine a more cringeworthy bit of television than the Dr Gobbels rubbish spouted by Johnnie Boy.

The part that REALLY (and there were many contenders) annoyed me was his assertion that he is judged solely on how the International team do.
    Let's be honest, that's all he cares about. Once he has the love and affection of the 'olé, olé brigade' and the national team, John is happy. The creep!

55 Posts

231 Posts
    I don't have much time for Keane, but if he were to burst into the studio after the Gibraltar game, throwing O'Donoghue's broken body on the floor before administering a prolonged, violent beating to Giles and Dunphy in front of an incredulous and horrified Brady I could forgive a lot.

I'm looking forward to a serious Keane v Dunphy row.
    Out for a spell, got neglected, lay on the bench unselected.

65 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Bosco View Post
    Was fairly hungover this morning in Spar and saw his mug beaming from the front page of one of the tabloids.....had to look it up there to see if it was actually a story or whether I had just imagined it..

http://www.evoke.ie/reviews-entertai...-emma-english/

WOW....just WOW!!! I didn't see that coming.

86 Posts

We can but dream

Quote Originally Posted by disgruntled View Post
    €360K a year can do that for you alright.
    My first thought is "Do I really care ?"
    My disbelief wasn't so much as the woman he's with but the ridiculousness of seeing his mug on the front page giving an interview about his love life considering his ongoing refusal to be interviewed about his job.
    If you can keep your head when all around you have lost theirs, then you probably haven't understood the seriousness of the situation.

2,346 Posts
    Anyone else reckon she looks like a younger, slightly plastic, version of Anne Doyle?

Quote Originally Posted by nigel-harps1954 View Post
    Anyone else reckon she looks like a younger, slightly plastic, version of Anne Doyle?
    No, I don't think she looks younger than Anne Doyle.

86 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Charlie Darwin View Post
    No, I don't think she looks younger than Anne Doyle.
    No but she looks like she's had the same amount of work done

Not to knock Trappatoni's CV but I found it comical that Delany listed the fact that he marked Pele before as one of the factors for giving him the Ireland job.

If you haven't listened to Monday's Second Captains on the man himself it's a good laugh.

https://soundcloud.com/secondcaptain...ia-waynes-wane
    If you can keep your head when all around you have lost theirs, then you probably haven't understood the seriousness of the situation.

No reaction to his interview on RTE tonight?

http://www.rte.ie/sport/player/813/649089/

41 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Charlie Darwin View Post
    No reaction to his interview on RTE tonight?

http://www.rte.ie/sport/player/813/649089/
    I didnt think he came across too badly - which annoyed me in itself.
    A few things did manage to annoy me...... when questioned on the leagues facilities
    "Look at Athlones ground, look at Deasy park, The RSC, and Tallaght.... they're the main ones"

He's a smarmy pr1111ck and was able to dance around everything

"John today i researched the salary of other football association bosses and your salary is higher than a lot of them "
    "ah look, we dont know what other people are being paid.....i've been offered higher salaries"........

2,346 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by desaintsno.12 View Post
    "Look at Athlones ground, look at Deasy park, The RSC, and Tallaght.... they're the main ones"
    Lissywollen has a lovely stand. But the rest of the ground looks awful. I'd love to see someone put some money into that and improve the all round look of the place. While I don't expect three more stands to be built, it could look a lot better.

Deacy Park in my view, as I have not been to Turners Cross, is the nicest ground in the league. The old stand could do with a bit of TLC, but aside from that, it's one of the few grounds that can be called top class.

The RSC is annoying as feck. Two nice stands, great pitch, but jesus feck, that running track is an annoyance and a hindrance. A better perimeter wall and turnstile facilities would make that ground a lot nicer too.

Tallaght, is lifeless and soulless without the two ends. At least one end on it, similar to that of Deacy Park would make a big difference. Feels too open. Fantastic facilities though.

Showgrounds in Sligo is better than Galway. As are Tallaght and Turners Cross

He doesn't mention that half the grounds he mentioned aren't owned/run by football too

International Prospect bennocelt's Avatar
    335 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by desaintsno.12 View Post
    I didnt think he came across too badly - which annoyed me in itself.
    A few things did manage to annoy me...... when questioned on the leagues facilities

He's a smarmy pr1111ck and was able to dance around everything

"John today i researched the salary of other football association bosses and your salary is higher than a lot of them "
    "ah look, we dont know what other people are being paid.....i've been offered higher salaries"........
    Ha yeah agree. Pity it took so long to ask a half decent question from the interviewer. Would have liked to know who the hell in the media he was on about?
    He takes a lot of credit for the natural order of things. LOI sounds like a great league in Johns eyes.

Page 9 of 13 FirstFirst ... 7891011 ... LastLast