Thread: Sing The Anthems, Sing them LOUD!!

Sing The Anthems, Sing them LOUD!!

Let’s claim the French National Anthem like we did in Paris…make it our own, if you know what I mean! Would be great if the Irish players sang along too. Having said that, it would be great if the Irish players sang OUR anthem!

French:

http://video.google.com/videosearch?...d=0CBQQqwQwAw#

Does anyone have access to one or both anthems written phonetically?

192 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Scram View Post
    Let’s claim the French National Anthem like we did in Paris…make it our own, if you know what I mean! Would be great if the Irish players sang along too. Having said that, it would be great if the Irish players sang OUR anthem!

French:

To be fair, most of the players do make an effort to sing the anthem. Kilbane has learnt it in Irish and belts it out. There are a few who don't but I think that's probably more down to the language barrier - its not an easy language if you're brought up in Birmingham or Glasgow.
    "There's man all over for you, blaming on his boots the fault of his feet" - Samuel Beckett, Waiting for Godot

229 Posts
    Two different phonetic versions that I have.....

Sheena feena fall
    Ataw fway yowal egg erin
    Bween dar shlew
    har tin do rawnig cuinn
    Vay void veith sayor
    Shan tear aaw-er sinsear fasta
    Nee aahgfar fwayin tearawn naw fwayin trawl
    Anocht a hayim sa vearna vaoil
    Le geawn ar gaeil chun bais new sail
    Le gunny screach fway lawvach na bpill air.........
    Seo live connaig OWRAWN na Viann

Shin-na fee-in-na fall
    A-taw fwee yal eg Erin
    Bween daur slew
    Harr teen du rawnig cooin
    Fwaw vode veh sair
    Shann-tier awr shinshir fawsta
    Nee awg-fur fween teer-awn naw fween trawl
    A nukt a hay-un sa varna vwail
    Lay g'yan air gwale cunn bawsh no sale
    Le gunna schrake, fay law vock na bill air
    Shuh liv con-ig arawn naveen
    I thought you were off the drink Ronnie?

"No, I drink to help me mind my own business....can I get you one? (c) Ronnie Drew

French:

NO!

When we sang the French anthem in Paris, that was a one-off.

It should not be done again. It has to be spontaneous. Diff circumstances for an away match, as well.

Lets just make as much noise for our own lads as possible.

Sadly viewing the houses that were once Milltown
    780 Posts
    I learnt the French anthem at school. Still know the words It's my party piece.

Could never understand why the English born players never learnt our anthem in English and they could have sung along then. Too much to learn the Irish version.

Certainly won't sing the French anthem at our HOME game let alone our players We need to concentrate on our own and raise the roof!!
    Forget about the performance or entertainment. It's only the result that matters.

Singing the French anthem in Paris was hilarious. Henrys face on the giant screen laughing while all these green shirts were going nuts behind him was hysterical.

Why dont they print out the phonetic version on a songsheet for the fans. Not everyone speaks the language or can read it.

537 Posts

French:

no way should our players or fans sing the oppositions anthem!!
    just concentrate on belting out our own please

I dont remember seeing henry on the big screen, having said that i dont remember much from that weekend nevermind the game :embarassed:

Id say people being fairly ****ed could end up singing it.

The thing is we didnt actually "sing" their anthem we just hummed along. Fair play the french took it in good spirits!

Quote Originally Posted by wallis View Post
    Why dont they print out the phonetic version on a songsheet for the fans.
    How embarrassing would that be?

Why the hell would we sing their anthem?? As was said earlier it was done on the day in Paris, and it was a bit of a laugh.
    Would just be stupid and pointless singing theirs in Croker !!

3,315 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ParkLife View Post
    Why the hell would we sing their anthem?? As was said earlier it was done on the day in Paris, and it was a bit of a laugh.
    Would just be stupid and pointless singing theirs in Croker !!
    As stupid and pointless as it was singing it in Lansdowne?

89 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Schumi View Post
    How embarrassing would that be?
    As embarassing as Irish players singing the french anthem or humming along to try to psyche them out??

Quote Originally Posted by Junior View Post

Sheena feena fall
    Ataw fway yowal egg erin
    Bween dar shlew
    har tin do rawnig cuinn
    Vay void veith sayor

Shin-na fee-in-na fall
    A-taw fwee yal eg Erin
    Bween daur slew
    Fwaw vode veh sair
    Hilarious

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CQ6-b...eature=related

How about the referee singing along - Check out the end of Irelands Call
    Who is this guy, Trapper Tony?

Quote Originally Posted by Jicked View Post
    As embarassing as Irish players singing the french anthem or humming along to try to psyche them out??
    Yeah, just about.

Father Ted: C'mon Jack. Get up!
    Father Jack: Feck off!
    Father Dougal: How are we going to get Father Jack up, Ted?
    Father Ted: I know. Quick. Put on that song, Dougal.
    Father Dougal: What song, Ted?
    Father Ted: That song Dougal. The one that Jack always stands up to.
    Father Dougal: Oh that song.
    (Marseilles plays)
    Father Jack: Up! Get feckin' up! Get up the feckin' lot of yez.
    This is the cooooooooooooolest footy forum I've ever seen!

199 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by OwlsFan View Post

Could never understand why the English born players never learnt our anthem in English and they could have sung along then. Too much to learn the Irish version.
    No way... If you dont know it in Irish dont sing it!!!
    Id rather them stand there looking puzzled that singing it in English...

I hope we belt out our anthem so loud it makes us deaf

I will respect the French national anthem think its excellent one but no way will I sing it. I will respect it and clap after its finished but by god by that stage my lungs will be ready to belt out Amhrán na bhFiann

Quote Originally Posted by JGKyne View Post
    No way... If you dont know it in Irish dont sing it!!!
    Id rather them stand there looking puzzled that singing it in English...
    For those English born it would have been better to learn it in English first, then you know what the Irish version actually means.

Then learn and sing the Irish version.

Pretty pointless just bellowing a load of phonetically learnt sounds if you don't know what you are actually singing....

Quote Originally Posted by Junior View Post

Sheena feena fall
    Ataw fway yowal egg erin
    Bween dar shlew
    har tin do rawnig cuinn
    Vay void veith sayor

Shin-na fee-in-na fall
    A-taw fwee yal eg Erin
    Bween daur slew
    Fwaw vode veh sair
    And you wonder why it's difficult to learn for non Irish speakers or non Irish familiar....!!

They are totally different phonetically in places !!!

Completely different !!
    Last edited by Desyf; 11/11/2009 at 10:03 AM.