Page 57 of 105 FirstFirst ... 747555657585967 ... LastLast
Results 1,121 to 1,140 of 2100

Thread: The Derry City thread - Derry sign first four players

2,657 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Brian Boru View Post
    Derry City are a great club. Probably have the best fans in the league. The FAI gave Bohs a huge advance of money until they picked up the league champions prize money. Would they have relegated Bohs if they'd finished second and hence couldn't pay back the lone. Derry must have given second contracts because they faired relegation if they were more upfront about their business. It backfired obviously. I have plenty of friends who are Cork and Bohs supporters. However, if Derry are relegated shouldn't Bohs and Cork be relegated as well. This would be fair and equitable to an independent observer. They are worse off financially. I think none of them should be relegated personally. FAI and Delaney treat some people with no respect. Delaney should be ousted. They make up rules. Why they picked on Derry and not the only 2 is mysterious. In relation to an earlier post about Sligo. We have the soundest financial system. Only the manager and players get paid. The rest of the board, match day workers etc everybody do it voluntarily. They are legends.
    did you read the thread? There is a world of difference between what you are saying Cork/Bohs did and what Derry apparently did?

Your line about Bohs getting a "loan" from the FAI is so far off the mark its not even funny. Go back and read that thread again.

Christ.

Quote Originally Posted by cestlavie View Post
    You drove Pat Fenlon out of the club (yes he said he had to leave for personal reasons, yes his wife would not relocate etc but a small vocal group amongst the fans drove him out
    With respect, that's a load of cr*p and Pat will tell you that himself

141 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Brian Boru View Post
    We have the soundest financial system. Only the manager and players get paid. The rest of the board, match day workers etc everybody do it voluntarily. They are legends.
    A big clap clap for you.Sligo are not the only club with hardworking volunteers you know - Utd, Bray, UCD, Athlone, Mervue, Kildare, Pats . . . hell, the list can include 21 clubs
    "Billy Corgan, Smashing Pumpkins."
    "Homer Simpson, smiling politely."

Presumably all this licencing ballix is caused by trying to fit in with UEFA burocraci?

16 team all-island league made up of the best supported teams to start with and stick two-fingaz up at all this pen-pushing sh*te.

85 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by MariborKev View Post
    Lads,

At the end of the day today is one stage one. The financial troubles are the serious concern, a licence is a trifling issue to be frank.
    At this stage, surely most (if not all) Derry fans are resigned to winding up the club and the financial mess with it and starting again with a clean slate.
    www.dundalkfc.com

Colin Scanlon - hero!

I never said we were the only club with hard working volunteers.
    Níl aon tinteán mar do thinteán féin.

89 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by holidaysong View Post
    At this stage, surely most (if not all) Derry fans are resigned to winding up the club and the financial mess with it and starting again with a clean slate.

HS,

Unfortunately naievty and myopic attitudes still seem to hold sway.
    Tifo poles, sausage rolls and a few goals.

The Brandy Blogs, back and blogging the 2010 season

Quote Originally Posted by MariborKev View Post
    HS,

Unfortunately naievty and myopic attitudes still seem to hold sway.
    That's always the case in football, we thought after two games we could win the league

64 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by galwayjames View Post
    That's always the case in football, we thought after two games we could win the league
    We did?

He did.

Sorry to hear this Derry City fans, pretty sure I only ever have been at 2 matchs involving Derry City but on both occasions their fans were superb, not to mention that all of their fans are very well respected on foot.ie, always enjoy reading what youse have to say. Hopefully this isn't the end of Derry City Football Club, best of luck.
    Cmon County!

Quote Originally Posted by Mr Maroon View Post
    We did?
    Some of our more naive fans thought it

Of course the rest of us knew not being relegated would count as a good season but you can't deny the optimism of young fans. And after such a good start you can't help but wonder if it could happen

Quote Originally Posted by LeixlipRed View Post
    He did.
    I must've been very naive, the chances of us winning the league were as low as Shels beating Fingal in the play-off

Quote Originally Posted by WoodquayBoy View Post
    A big clap clap for you.Sligo are not the only club with hardworking volunteers you know - Utd, Bray, UCD, Athlone, Mervue, Kildare, Pats . . . hell, the list can include 21 clubs
    Sadlier or Leeson ain't giving his time for free i bet !?

141 Posts
    Our manager never thought it. Top of the league after 4 games and he was saying we were involved in a relegation scrap. He was right too. Unfortunately.

141 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Rovers Maniac View Post
    I'll take that bet (of sorts) on Leeson. You lose. He hasn't taken a wage a number of times this season .

64 Posts
    I'll take that bet (of sorts) on Leeson. You lose. He hasn't taken a wage a number of times this season .
    He's put 50 grand of his own money into the club.

Never said anything about a wage

Quote Originally Posted by Rovers Maniac View Post
    Pats have 4 salaried employees in the office (One of the is half paid by FAI). We're hardly talking civil service type overstaffing

No club in the league would survive without hard working volunteers

RTE News report from earlier tonight

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gPxLCMVkprE

Page 57 of 105 FirstFirst ... 747555657585967 ... LastLast