Page 1 of 12 12311 ... LastLast

Thread: Songs/Chants for the Singing Section

Songs/Chants for the Singing Section

Seperate thread for song suggestions. I'll edit this post to add to the list.

Last edited by eirebhoy; 21/01/2009 at 8:44 PM.

International Prospect Green Tribe's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by eirebhoy View Post
    I'm sure there'll be a new thread for this but we really have to start singing the song Ozymandias suggested last year:

Óró, sé do bheatha 'bhaile! Óró, sé do bheatha 'bhaile!

Óró, sé do bheatha 'bhaile........! Anois ar theacht Trappattoni.

I got a group in the pub singing that after the Georgia game and it was brilliant. Everyone instinctively goes faster and faster with each chorus clapping their hands and banging anything in sight.

Agreed, that and "On the one road"

Everybody better learn the words so!

(Chorus)
    We're on the one road
    Sharing the one load
    We're on the road to God knows where
    We're on the one road
    It may be the wrong road
    But we're together now who cares
    North men, South men, comrades all
    Dublin, Belfast, Cork and Donegal
    We're on the one road swinging along
    Singing a soldier's song

Though we've had our troubles now and then
    Now is the time to make them up again
    Sure aren't we all Irish anyhow
    Now is the time to step together now

(Chorus repeat)

Tinker, tailor, every mother's son
    Butcher, baker shouldering his gun
    Rich man, poor man, every man in line
    All together just like Old Land Syne

(Chorus repeat)

Night is darkest just before the dawn
    From dissention Ireland is reborn
    Soon we'll all be United Irishmen
    Make our land a Nation Once Again

(Chorus repeat)

41 Posts
    I'm sure there'll be a new thread for this but we really have to start singing the song Ozymandias suggested last year:

Óró, sé do bheatha 'bhaile! Óró, sé do bheatha 'bhaile!

Óró, sé do bheatha 'bhaile........! Anois ar theacht Trappattoni.

I got a group in the pub singing that after the Georgia game and it was brilliant. Everyone instinctively goes faster and faster with each chorus clapping their hands and banging anything in sight.
    Brilliant
    "Now jump up there and stuff that son of a bitch in the basket, chief"

Stuff could even be synchronised between both sets if we got 1600. You know like one chant from half and the other chant something else. Or 1/4 chant, the other do something else etc.

Instead of the usual "Stand up for the boys in green"....how about "BOUNCE/JUMP.....for the boys in green" ??

Also the "Sing your hearts out for the lads" tune could work ...although it may sound a little "too british" in tone.

622 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    Stuff could even be synchronised between both sets if we got 1600. You know like one chant from half and the other chant something else. Or 1/4 chant, the other do something else etc.
    Exactly. Its not going to be perfect immediately, as there are going to be a few of the new crowd (myself incl) who won't be used to supporting a team week in week out, in the traditional sense.
    I'm more than willing to watch listen and learn (loudly) from the LoI Fans.
    Here they come! It’s the charge of the “Thanks” Brigade!

Oro se do bheatha abhaile has to be the main one i reckon, a bit of irishness a bit of pride. Btw i realise the irony i spelt it wrong, but still the point is there

oh ya and watch it get faster and faster. Like the cruachan version

537 Posts
    the singing section is a very positive move. one suggestion i would give is that things are kept very simple to start off with. have to be realistic in that new songs will take a while to take off particularly if not straight forward. eg. i doubt most fans would know more than one verse of the fields and its been sung for years. given the poor atmosphere at most recent games it would be a huge success to even get all signing what they already know.

fair play to those who pushed for this so hard with the fai

Agree with everything you said jbyrne. We need to keep it simple so we create a great atmosphere with the others around the stadium able to join in.

As I said in another thread this is a song that I think would be able to take off easily as it's easy to catch on to:

to the tune of "Fernando Torres Liverpool's no. 9"

When Kevin goes marching Down the wing KILBANE KILBANE
    When Kevin goes marching Down the wing the south terrace stand up and sing
    We All Know That Kevin's gonna score

Na na na na na na na na KILBANE KILBANE,
    na na na na na na na na KILBANE KILBANE
    na na na na na na na na na na na na na na na na
    We All Know That Kevin's Gonna Score

It would be fantastic to hear that blared around Croker in 3 weeks time.

Fair play to YBIG and the FAI(although it is overdue).
    San Marino are going to be a handful as the group goes on." - Steve Staunton reacts to performance against San Marino.

Robbie Keane (To the tune of "New York, New York")

Da, da, da, da-da, da.
    Start spreading the news,
    he's playing today.
    He's going to score a goal for us, Keano, Keano.
    If he can, *clap*clap*, score from there, he'll score from, *clap*clap*, Anywhere.
    It's up to you Keano, Keanoooo.
    Da, da, da, da-da, da
    Da, da, da, da-da, da..."

All you need is Duff

All you need is Duff,
    da da da da da da,
    All ya need is Duff,
    da da da da da da,
    All you need is Duff, Duff,
    Duff is all ya need,
    Duff is all you need.

International Prospect DmanDmythDledge's Avatar

Given is our player

How bout this; heard somebody else sing this before, on their own and drunk (presumably ).

Woah-oh we're half way there,
    Woah-oh Given is our player,
    He's got great hands,
    And he'll save it swear,
    Woah-oh, Given is our player.

Quote Originally Posted by DmanDmythDledge View Post
    How bout this; heard somebody else sing this before, on their own and drunk (presumably ).

Woah-oh we're half way there,
    Woah-oh Given is our player,
    He's got great hands,
    And he'll save it swear,
    Woah-oh, Given is our player.
    Livin on a prayer yeah; I'm taking credit here thanks. Made it up in a bar in Paris before the match. One correction "He'll save us I swear". And don't forget the last big roar of "Given is our player" at the end like in the song. Gas one that. I sing it in all states of mind... but always on my own.

Another is the "Trappatoni's Green n White Army". With the auld "Green Army, Green Army, Who are we? Green Army" thrown in for good measure every so often. Sounds great with the bodhrán. Probably be better with drums. The Derry lads are absolutely great for that at their matches. I'm good for that one for the entirelty of each half.... again.
    Last edited by Colie; 21/01/2009 at 9:24 PM.
    "I always likened him to a Rolls Royce. You just used him once a week & he'd be flawless"
    Townsend on McGrath

International Prospect Razors left peg's Avatar
    848 Posts
    Da, da, da, da-da, da.
    Start spreading the news,
    he's playing today.
    He's going to score a goal for us, Keano, Keano.
    If he can, *clap*clap*, score from there, he'll score from, *clap*clap*, Anywhere.
    It's up to you Keano, Keanoooo.
    Da, da, da, da-da, da
    Da, da, da, da-da, da..."
    Thats brilliant
    Its really not that complicated!!!

i think our own chants with our own air would be better rather than taking from english terrace chants.

Also for a start i think whoever said keep it simple is best ,with a list of 4 tunes and get them going, next tme 6 etc. Probably better to focus less on player tunes as oppossed to actual songs for starting with(just a suggestion). Do ye think the FAI might print songs on a seat or something or lyrics for those who wouldn't know them all? Personally Id be grand with on the one road, fields, but only the chorus of Oro sé do bheatha abhaile.

Living on a player would be a good song too, as can be adapted really for anyone quite easily and everyone knows the main lyrics so simple to change it.

Btw we need to be "singing"(roaring) for 3 people to emphasise it. so make sure ye shout loud, even bring a loudspeaker thingie

International Prospect Green Tribe's Avatar
    agree with paul o'shea!