Thread: Limerick Vs. Bray

Limerick Vs. Bray

What was the game like lads ? Could'nt make it, was watchin the cousin in the cup semi.

How did Bray play etc ????

Bray played well in the first half. There was a strong wind with ye which made it difficult for Limerick to clear the ball. Ye passed the ball well and made some good runs into space. Limerick were very poor, they couldn't get anything going and only had a few half chances in the first half. Bray had a good few shots but didn't hit the target too often. Ye scored just before half time, a ball was played into the left corner and Zayed sprinted after it. Our centre back Paddy Purcell was the fault for the resulting goal, he started to go with Zayed and then he stopped 'cos he knew Zayed was too fast, the CB should always go with the runner. Our keeper saw this and realised that Paddy wasn't going with him and that it was up to him to clear the ball. As a result he was slow to come out and inevitably Zayed got to the ball crossed it in, Paddy Purcell tried to exempt himself from any blame by heading the ball away and a Bray fella took a shot and hit of the backside of your no 10. At the start of the second half we lost possession as we were attacking, the ball was played up to your striker (I can't think right now who scored your second), our left back Conor Molan couldn't get a block on it, the Bray player ran up the field until he was one on one with our keeper and easily beat him at his near post. Limerick started to get into the game, we brought on Derek McCarthy who had been dropped, and he scored with a header from a Brendan Sweeney cross, who was man of the match. Then Limerick with the wind with them kept up the pressure. We didn't really look like getting the equaliser but we a got a corner, ye cleared it and we got another corner at the left side. The ball was sent in and it was a free for all and we scored with a header by Brendan Hughes. Overall I thought Bray played better than Limerick, but Limerick were fantastic to come back into it and the way we did that then a draw was a fair result.
    Limerick 37, its so shiny and new we dare not take the cover off.