Thread: Scully gone.

420 Posts

Scully gone.

Pat O Sullivan has confirmed on radio that Pat Scully is no longer Limerick FC manager.

just got a text to say the same from a good friend at the club. no one saying why though.
    "We've had a lot of good times, but you don't know how good they are until you have the bad ones" Tony Adams

108 Posts
    Noel O'Connor for Limerick!!

...seriously tho who has O'Sullivan got his eye on?

46 Posts
    Playing fourth choice centre half on the wing did it for me thanks pat wish him all the best.

Club need to appoint a manager quick.

420 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by cornflakes View Post
    Noel O'Connor for Limerick!!

...seriously tho who has O'Sullivan got his eye on?
    Pat Dolan to live the dream of a LOI club playing an a 20,000 capacity stadium.

137 Posts
    Uh oh, we're due to announce our new manager by this weekend.....
    Celebrating 130 Years of Athlone Town Football Club - Pride of the Midlands Since 1887

Sean Connor just seen leaving Zimbabwe national airport !

420 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by atfconline View Post
    Uh oh, we're due to announce our new manager by this weekend.....

I honest to god said to one of the lads that he is taking over Athlone after ye signed his son.

Quote Originally Posted by bluewhitearmy View Post
    I honest to god said to one of the lads that he is taking over Athlone after ye signed his son.
    After seeing that I'd be shocked if he didn't end up there.

122 Posts
    Scully wouldn't be the worst appointment for Athlone. After all, Limerick is third successful venture in the First Division, having lead Shamrock Rovers out at the first attempt and performing miracles with Kilkenny. I know he probably should have got Limerick up last year, and he didn't do it in a blaze of glory this year, but was he that bad that he's not worth a shot in the Premier?

Athlone should look at it positively. Good location to attract decent Dublin players, his teams don't play the best football in the world, but if they get results who cares. After all, attractive football in the First Division doesn't go hand in hand.

Dundalk did this with John Gill a few years ago and it didn't exactly go to plan I'm sure after that.

International Prospect CraftyToePoke's Avatar
    857 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by gufc2000 View Post
    I know he probably should have got Limerick up last year, and he didn't do it in a blaze of glory this year, but was he that bad that he's not worth a shot in the Premier?
    I am behind this decision, as cold as it may appear looking in at the club, home form in key fixtures is blighting the club, momentum and attendances are repeatedly set back by these losses going back three seasons now. We went up this season but that fault remained and handy away points instead may not be as easy to come by next season. For that solid reason, whatever about rumours of unrest etc, Id back change.

Dundalk did this with John Gill a few years ago and it didn't exactly go to plan I'm sure after that.
    Well they finished 5th the year after being promoted when they got rid of Gill and 6th the season after that so it wasn't till 3 seasons later they started going backwards.

I can see manager queuing up for the job but not being happy that the money they thought might be there for players isn't. In saying that though there is a very good squad potentially there already, one that a good manager will do well with in the premier.

I think he should have got a chance in the premier division after getting limerick promoted, Why did pat sullivan leave it so late, did something happen?.

Quote Originally Posted by Minesapint View Post
    I think he should have got a chance in the premier division after getting limerick promoted, Why did pat sullivan leave it so late, did something happen?.
    A meeting happened this morning and they mutual agreed to go separate ways. The season only just ended 3 weeks ago and the end of season night out was only Friday gone so hardly leaving it late, still 3 months till the start of next season too.

420 Posts
    For the record he wasnt sacked. Minesapint must be in an awful state over it .

Is it not obvious?

Quote Originally Posted by Minesapint View Post

Two words - Stephen Kenny.

125 Posts
    Scully wouldn't be the worst appointment for Athlone. After all, Limerick is third successful venture in the First Division, having lead Shamrock Rovers out at the first attempt and performing miracles with Kilkenny. I know he probably should have got Limerick up last year, and he didn't do it in a blaze of glory this year, but was he that bad that he's not worth a shot in the Premier?

Athlone should look at it positively. Good location to attract decent Dublin players, his teams don't play the best football in the world, but if they get results who cares. After all, attractive football in the First Division doesn't go hand in hand.

in theory it did go to plan. Sean Connor did achieve his objective and kept us in the PD. It was the manner in which he went about it and subsequent **** up by the board of directors and our CEO after that in the running of the club
    Long Live King Kenny

122 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by jinxy lilywhite View Post
    in theory it did go to plan. Sean Connor did achieve his objective and kept us in the PD. It was the manner in which he went about it and subsequent **** up by the board of directors and our CEO after that in the running of the club
    Which was what I was hinting at, replacing him with Connor seemed ambitious at the time. Seanie got ye midtable, even into Europe due to Derry's collapse. But he left, and he was followed by Foster who didn't make much headway either. John Gill had worked hard with Dundalk (appointed late 05/early 06 I think?). Put a good side together for 06 that was 'promoted' in theory, came 3rd in 2007 and went up properly in 2008. During this time he had gotten to know the club well I'm sure and all that, and certainly deserved a shot at leading them in 2009, but probably got the bullet because he wasn't the big name Dundalk wanted from then on (stand corrected on why he left now mind you, just guessing). Would Dundalk be in a better position now if they opted to stablise under Gill for a season or two in the Premier and then try kick on? I guess we'll never know, and completely irrelevnt now I suppose. I just feel that a manager who wins promotion, deserves the chance to prove himself at the next level

125 Posts
    hindsight is a great thing and with the demise of derry and cork we would of been safe irregarless of where we finished.

my opinion was that off the pitch activites stunted the 1st teams growth under connor and foster. everything did seem so rosy under Gill.
    Long Live King Kenny

International Prospect NeverFeltBetter's Avatar
    583 Posts
    Not that surprised by this news. I've said it before a few times, he had no long-term future with the club the way he had the team playing. Limerick had a hard slog in a division we really should have put away far earlier then we did, and he has to take a lot of the responsibility for that. Some bizarre player selections, positioning, tactics and formations could be seen all throughout 2012, to say nothing of the failures of previous years. I wish him well, but this was a likelihood ever since Waterford won that last game in Jackman.

I could see Kenny take the job. He'd probably get on better in a position without the intense expectations of a club like Shams.
    Author of Never Felt Better (History, Film Reviews).