Page 372 of 394 FirstFirst ... 272322362370371372373374382 ... LastLast
Results 7,421 to 7,440 of 7867

Thread: The say anything, what's on your mind thread

2,346 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Acornvilla View Post
    Any craic lads,? I'm still alive. I do miss the sunshine we had there for a few weeks. Cycled to a shop at about 1am last night to buy supplies to make banana bread. Everything went better than expected.
    Your adventures have become boring. Any chance you could just beat up people for the craic and see what happens?

504 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by nigel-harps1954 View Post
    Your adventures have become boring. Any chance you could just beat up people for the craic and see what happens?
    hah! Well, if it helps, I also got in to a major dispute with two housemates, which resulted in my needing to kick them out, after a few months of absurdity. So since then it's all quiet and banana bread for AV.

2,346 Posts
    Did you physically kick them out? There's a story in that if so.

105 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by nigel-harps1954 View Post
    Did you physically kick them out? There's a story in that if so.
    "This is 29 Acacier Road. And this is Eric - the schoolboy who leads an exciting double life. For when Eric eats banana bread, an amazing transformation occurs!"
    A man can have no greater love than give 90 minutes for his friends.

517 Posts
    Haggled taxi driver down to 20 euros and told him to take the Stillorgan dual-carriageway. Result.

Managed to **** off the people in my row by repeatedly going to get more beer and go to the toilet - even though I deliberately went and came back during intervals.

Some people will get ****ed off at anything.

2,346 Posts
    I was at this gig the other night. Some inconsiderate alcoholic a$$hole kept getting up at ridiculous times and coming back stinking of p!ss and beer, crossing over me and my mates who were just there trying to enjoy ourselves.

Wouldn't shut up talking about how to get to Leopardstown either for some reason.

517 Posts

1,813 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by TheOneWhoKnocks View Post
    Haggled taxi driver down to 20 euros and told him to take the Stillorgan dual-carriageway. Result.

Managed to **** off the people in my row by repeatedly going to get more beer and go to the toilet - even though I deliberately went and came back during intervals.

Some people will get ****ed off at anything.
    I've been to thousands and millions of gigs over the last 16-18 years and if there's one thing that ****es me off is someone constantly leaving their seat.

It's absolutely frustrating when it's constant. So I feel their pain, and judging by the lead up to you actually getting to that bloody gig you don't strike me as a regular gig goer. So probably devoid of the sense of others being around you. Ah millennials.
    Last edited by BonnieShels; 02/07/2016 at 9:13 PM. Reason: Decades? Jaysus I'm not Owlsfan. Or Stutts.
    DID YOU NOTICE A SIGN OUTSIDE MY HOUSE...?

900 Posts
    Just mailed a book off to the publisher. Very weird feeling of euphoria and tiredness and nervousness.
    Hello, hello? What's going on? What's all this shouting, we'll have no trouble here!
    - E Tattsyrup.

1,813 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Eminence Grise View Post
    Just mailed a book off to the publisher. Very weird feeling of euphoria and tiredness and nervousness.
    Congratulations.

If there's not at least one Termonbarry or umbrella reference in there for our delectation then I'll be sorely disappointed.

1,813 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by TheOneWhoKnocks View Post
    What?

900 Posts
    I've always said it's a mistake to click on those Russian brides emails. Before you know it it someone's ringing your doorbell with a legally binding contract.
    Hello, hello? What's going on? What's all this shouting, we'll have no trouble here!
    - E Tattsyrup.

900 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by BonnieShels View Post
    Congratulations.

If there's not at least one Termonbarry or umbrella reference in there for our delectation then I'll be sorely disappointed.
    Thanks, Bonnie. I'm holding them over for the second edition - a cunning ploy to get the sales figures into triple figures, you know.
    - E Tattsyrup.

504 Posts
    Wimbledon final, and then Euros final later, today will be a good day.

Lads, on an aside, I'm having a quick 3/4 night stay over in Amsterdam at the end of the month. Never been before. Any advice as to what to go and see?
    Will be checking out the likes of the Van Gough gallery, and got online tickets to have a gawk at Anne Franks house, to avoid the queues there, so I have some plans, but I'm all ears!

International Prospect bennocelt's Avatar
    335 Posts
    Wimbledon final, and then Euros final later, today will be a good day.

Lads, on an aside, I'm having a quick 3/4 night stay over in Amsterdam at the end of the month. Never been before. Any advice as to what to go and see?
    Will be checking out the likes of the Van Gough gallery, and got online tickets to have a gawk at Anne Franks house, to avoid the queues there, so I have some plans, but I'm all ears!
    I did a drugs tour while I was there. Now mad as that sounds it was one of the informative ones, took in the history of it all and the history of the red light zone. was kind of cool to get the low down on it all
    Here is the link http://www.drugstour.com/

3,231 Posts
    Really depends what you're interested in I guess, but I liked the Rijksmuseum more than most museums of its kind.

Any matches on? Ajax stadium tour maybe? Though one stadium tour is a lot like any other if you have done one.

Go for a walk in general - it's a scenic city away from the crowds; lots of canals, nice old buildings and quiet squares.

2,346 Posts
    Finally getting back into employment after a few years of no work.
    It's wonderful.

23. Thanks From:

900 Posts
    Very, very best of luck with it.
    - E Tattsyrup.

25. Thanks From:

517 Posts
    I was in Bruges or Brussels on a school tour once, I want to say Bruges, and I've been trying to convince my girlfriend to come with me but she's not having it.

115 Posts
    Lads, on an aside, I'm having a quick 3/4 night stay over in Amsterdam at the end of the month. Never been before. Any advice as to what to go and see? Will be checking out the likes of the Van Gough gallery, and got online tickets to have a gawk at Anne Franks house, to avoid the queues there, so I have some plans, but I'm all ears!
    A few years since I was last there, but apart from the Rijks- and Van Gogh museums which are well worth a visit, the two big tourist churches are worth a look too if you have any interest in the historical, the Westerkerk is where Rembrandt was buried, and the Oude Kerk dates from the 1300s (and is near the red light, and not far from the oldest street in the city, with suitably slanty buildings, called the Zeedijk, which is also the centre of Chinatown).

The De Gooyer windmill is also worth a visit, though you can't go inside it. The real reason for going is next to it, though, the Brouwerij 't IJ, a nice little microbrewery with pub & beergarden.

If you're about in the pubs of the town at any stage, and not a vegetarian, try the bitterballen, a very tasty bar snack, and late of an evening a visit to one of the many shoarma kebab houses is a must. Just steer clear of the yellow chili sauce. Mental.
    Last edited by stann; 15/07/2016 at 3:15 PM. Reason: you're not Rick Stein ffs!
    more bass