Results 7,401 to 7,420 of 7867

Thread: The say anything, what's on your mind thread

357 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by thischarmingman View Post
    I like the compulsory voting here; at least it means you're less likely to have someone like Trump rear his head. It makes for more reasonable candidates. In general you don’t see as much dog-whistling to certain extreme elements as you do in the USA or UK.

I mean, I don’t think it’s perfect. But it does change the focus of election campaigns in generally good ways. And it forces people to take more of an interest in politics and their vote. And I think it’s small price to pay to not the bull**** you see in the States where young people can't get time off work to vote, or minimum-wage earners aren't to afford to vote.

Plus, sausage sizzles!
    The problem with compulsory voting is that you have to make promises to everyone and try and placate all minority groups, hence the turn back the boat policies which is absolutely disgusting. It might also explain why, of late, prime ministers are being kicked out in office usually due to low opinion poll results and the crazy idea of having federal elections every three years. In terms of extreme politics, in the 1990s One Nation was the equivalent of UKIP, and how John Howard dealt with it was by taking their policies leading to the Liberals regaining power and the end of any compassion towards asylum seekers.
    Last edited by gastric; 09/06/2016 at 2:12 AM.

357 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by BonnieShels View Post
    But Tony Abbott still sneaked through... And John Howard on several occasions... Oh wait.
    Abbott was reptilian in every sense, makes Enda look like a big, lovable teddy bear.

1,813 Posts
    It does help that Labor are utterly abject.

Howard was in his pomp when Kim Beazely was his opposite number. Come on like.
    And then the constant bickering where we have had that messing with Rudd and that cretin Hillard.
    DID YOU NOTICE A SIGN OUTSIDE MY HOUSE...?

517 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by TheOneWhoKnocks View Post
    16 year old murders 7 year old in satanic ritual in Palmerstown, Dublin, in 1973.

https://dialogueireland.wordpress.co...ritual-murder/
    New article on Broadsheet.

http://www.broadsheet.ie/2016/06/22/...in-the-detail/

Probably the most disturbing thing I have read in my entire life.

517 Posts
    What is the best way of getting back to Leopardstown after a concert on a Friday night?

Would it be feasible/possible to get a Luas if the concert were to end at approximately 11:30?

Bus?

How much would/should a taxi cost from the 3 Arena to Leopardstown?

3,215 Posts
    Taxi could be 40 quid anyway.

Last Luas on Fridays is 12:30am. So Luas from Point to O'Connell Street, then walk, then Luas from Stephen's Green. Tight, but you should be ok.

3,306 Posts
    Luas isn't going to the 3Arena/o2/The point at the moment due to works, there's a shuttle bus that goes from Abbey Street

1,813 Posts
    What is the best way of getting back to Leopardstown after a concert on a Friday night?

Would it be feasible/possible to get a Luas if the concert were to end at approximately 11:30?

Bus?

How much would/should a taxi cost from the 3 Arena to Leopardstown?
    I wouldn't be taxiiing. If you can manage to get to the Green to get the Green Line Luas by 1230 then do that.

Otherwise Hop a Nitelink (46N) from D'Olier St. All depends on what part of Leopardstown you're going to. It goes into Leopardstown Valley/Ballyogan.

Luas Point to Jervis is reopening on Sunday. Whoop.

517 Posts
    If "doors open 6:30" and "show starts 8:00" does that mean the support act starts at 8 or the main act starts at 8? Cos if the main act starts at 8 then I'd be a lot more confident about getting Luas in time.

1,813 Posts
    If "doors open 6:30" and "show starts 8:00" does that mean the support act starts at 8 or the main act starts at 8? Cos if the main act starts at 8 then I'd be a lot more confident about getting Luas in time.
    Don is being being supported by JD and the Straight Shot. So they're on at 8. I'd say they'd be finished about 830-845 and then Don is on about 9-930. I would doubt you're getting that last Luas to Leopardstown.

Here's his setlist from Manchester last night.

http://www.setlist.fm/setlist/don-he...-33ffb0c9.html

The curfew at 3Arena is before 11 so you'll be grand.

1,813 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Charlie Darwin View Post
    The curfew at 3Arena is before 11 so you'll be grand.
    Someone should have told Fleetwood Mac that.

Plus he's got no access to a spaceship or a direct bus.

Quote Originally Posted by BonnieShels View Post
    Someone should have told Fleetwood Mac that.

Plus he's got no access to a spaceship or a direct bus.
    Don't play dumb with me. You well know Fleetwood Mac had a prior arrangement with the Gardaí and mypost for that.

517 Posts
    Would it be easy to get a taxi outside the 3 Arena after the concert?

Cos the plan is to get a taxi to Stephens Green Luas from the 3 Arena.

What time would I want to be leaving the arena if I was to give myself enough time to get a taxi to the luas and not be rushing? 11, 11:15, 11:30?

He plays Desperado as the encore and that's my favorite song.

Be raging if I have to miss it.

My other half has travel sickness so I can't get the shuttle bus or a taxi straight to Leopardstown. Otherwise I would do one of those two things.

Regardless of what Fleetwood Mac done he's not going to be playing at 11.30. If you're on your feet and ready to leave once Desperado is done, you'll be ahead of most people for taxis, but I'd still just go for the Luas as it's predictable. 10 minutes to Abbey St, 10-15 minute walk to Stephen's Green, then you're set.

1,813 Posts
    Would it be easy to get a taxi outside the 3 Arena after the concert?

Cos the plan is to get a taxi to Stephens Green Luas from the 3 Arena.

What time would I want to be leaving the arena if I was to give myself enough time to get a taxi to the luas and not be rushing? 11, 11:15, 11:30?

He plays Desperado as the encore and that's my favorite song.

Be raging if I have to miss it.

My other half has travel sickness so I can't get the shuttle bus or a taxi straight to Leopardstown. Otherwise I would do one of those two things.
    Jesus,

Calm yourself. Enjoy the gig. Wander to town. Get the nitelink.

3,306 Posts
    when is the gig? Luas to 3Arena to restart on Sunday: https://twitter.com/Luas/statuses/748034036384268288

517 Posts
    Gig is on Friday.

Raging about the whole Luas thing.

2,629 Posts
    10 years in Canada...it was only supposed to be 3-5 years.

Best decision I ever made.

504 Posts
    Any craic lads,? I'm still alive. I do miss the sunshine we had there for a few weeks. Cycled to a shop at about 1am last night to buy supplies to make banana bread. Everything went better than expected.