Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: League of Ireland Structure

114 Posts
    Pundit Arena used to be the loi blog or something like that didn't it? Themselves and Balls.ie's pieces vary between something an 11 year old would write to thinking they're the reincarnation of Yeats.

2,346 Posts
    http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/s...ek-355625.html

League of Ireland review to be released next week.

Quote Originally Posted by John Delaney
    Welcoming the review yesterday, Delaney said: “It’s very pragmatic about reflecting the views of everybody — so the media were met, Uefa, the clubs, the Government, some managers, fans’ input was taken on board, sponsors and obviously the association’s views.“The thing is not to grab the report and say, ‘listen, we’re going off now to implement this immediately’, or anything like that. It’s his independent report, how he sees the League of Ireland, with his recommendations.
    “What we’ve got to do now is take that to the clubs and out of that we’ll look to meet the clubs individually.
    “I wouldn’t put any time frame on (implementation).
    “We discussed it at board level and the best thing is to put it out there first, let people take stock of it and then look at how we go about taking it further.
    “Whether all of it, some of it or most of it gets implemented will be through the debate that takes place once it’s put out to the public.
    “I think it’s a real debate. I don’t think in all our time there’s been such a comprehensive review.
    “I don’t think as many stakeholders have been met over such a period of time and, as one of the board members said yesterday, it really captures what people have been saying for maybe the last 10 years.
    “I must say, it’s a very good report, a very honest report in my book, and when people see it they can give their views,” he said.
    Last edited by nigel-harps1954; 24/09/2015 at 2:32 PM.

1,081 Posts
    It's about time we had another independent assessment process. The last one was great craic.

86 Posts
    I think it will go well alongside the last report.
    What are they going to call this one ?
    Genesis Part 2 (The Sequel)

Who knows we might have world wide syndication here yet.

2,346 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by disgruntled View Post
    Exodus.

1,524 Posts
    It's all very vague, and letting the clubs comment will mean there is ample opportunity to do not very much in the end.

288 Posts
    The long-awaited independent review of the League of Ireland has been presented to the board of the FAI.
    and

The report was conducted by consultant Declan Conroy, the man who was project director for the successful bid to bring Euro 2020 games to Dublin.
    Does not compute...

Independent my back side.

1,081 Posts
    Bits of the report have been leaked already. Main recommendations are for a pyramid structure, a return to winter football and one division for the first two years. Oh and Dundalk have to go back to a grass pitch.

125 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Longfordian View Post
    Bits of the report have been leaked already. Main recommendations are for a pyramid structure, a return to winter football and one division for the first two years. Oh and Dundalk have to go back to a grass pitch.
    Why?

Our away record is better than our home. It is the only reason the rest of ye can keep in touch

1,081 Posts
    Because the input from the stakeholders has been consistent. A zero day approach is desired.

86 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Mr A View Post
    It's all very vague, and letting the clubs comment will mean there is ample opportunity to do not very much in the end.
    Isn't this what usually happens anyway

86 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by jinxy lilywhite View Post
    Why?

Our away record is better than our home. It is the only reason the rest of ye can keep in touch
    Then all the more reason to get a decent grass pitch.
    Destroy us all & win the League every year by at least 15 points

221 Posts
    Bits of the report have been leaked already. Main recommendations are for a pyramid structure,
    grand, easier said than done though

a return to winter football
    this has been done to death and is a terrible idea

and one division for the first two years
    this has been done to death and is a terrible idea and in breach of UEFA rules. And it has to be said... BEST PYRAMID EVER

Oh and Dundalk have to go back to a grass pitch.
    I presume this a Longfordian's little joke
    Last edited by seand; 25/09/2015 at 10:25 AM.

1,081 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by seand View Post
    grand, easier said than done though

this has been done to death and is a terrible idea

this has been done to death and is a terrible idea and in breach of UEFA rules. And it has to be said... BEST PYRAMID EVER

I presume this a Longfordian's little joke
    The whole post was my attempt at humour to be honest. Tried to cram in as many populist notions as I could.

1,524 Posts
    Can someone please link the UEFA rule that says we have to have more than one division?

19. Thanks From:

114 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by disgruntled View Post
    Genesis Part 2 (The Sequel)

Who knows we might have world wide syndication here yet.
    Never the same after Phil Collins took over from Peter Gabriel

221 Posts
    Can someone please link the UEFA rule that says we have to have more than one division?
    I'm not privy to the regulations of UEFA membership tbh. And I notice San Marino appear to have one rather convoluted parallel top tier without relegation but are allowed into the Champions League so perhaps it's a guideline rather than a regulation. Liechtenstein don't have their own national league as such and do not get a place in the Champions League- Gibraltar, Estonia, Faroes, Wales, Norn Iron and Andorra have multiple tiers. (As do Kosovo, Isle of Man and Northern Cyprus.) Hopefully we can keep up with the Faroes and Gibraltar.

Quote Originally Posted by seand View Post
    I'm not privy to the regulations of UEFA membership tbh. And I notice San Marino appear to have one rather convoluted parallel top tier without relegation but are allowed into the Champions League so perhaps it's a guideline rather than a regulation. Liechtenstein don't have their own national league as such and do not get a place in the Champions League- Gibraltar, Estonia, Faroes, Wales, Norn Iron and Andorra have multiple tiers. (As do Kosovo, Isle of Man and Northern Cyprus.) Hopefully we can keep up with the Faroes and Gibraltar.
    There needs to be a merit-based mode of promotion and relegation, AFAIK, not necessarily two divisions. One division with theoretical promotion for top LSL/MSL/whatever side would possibly suffice.

It's here

25. Thanks From:

288 Posts
    Copy pasted.

Rule 427.1 C

Member associations will exercise common sense when structuring their league competitions.

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast