Page 145 of 212 FirstFirst ... 4595135143144145146147155195 ... LastLast
Results 2,881 to 2,900 of 4233

Thread: Stephen Ireland

1,914 Posts
    Besides demanding the same salary as a given in a contract with a prospective club, Stephen also does not want to move house. So the Shark tank suppliers/auto custom detail workshops for ponces in Lancashire, haven't lost a valued client just yet.

Formerly: vega007 Colbert Report's Avatar
    163 Posts
    I just read on soccernet that Stephen is demanding a two million pound golden handshake from City in order for him to sign off on the Milner swap deal. Fair play to you Mr. Ireland, takes a bit of balls.

82 Posts
    Dunno the ins and outs (Manblue probbly does) but you'll find he'd have to take a pay cut to go to Villa and probably just wants the balance.. Just speculating.

Good business for Villa if it transpires
    I pity the fool!.... But suggest ways that he might improve himself.

www.thefastleague.com

646 Posts
    Just to put this in perspective
    http://www.newsoftheworld.co.uk/spor...m-pay-off.html

RICHARD DUNNE'S move to Aston Villa is in danger of collapsing after he demanded a £2million pay-off from Manchester City.

65 Posts
    Dunne was one year short of testimonial, not the same circumstances.
    "I'm just a chilled out entertainer"

Blog

646 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by centre mid View Post
    Dunne was one year short of testimonial, not the same circumstances.
    Don't know why I'm sticking up for Ireland but Dunnes figure of 2 million was based on the difference in wages he would make between his 4 year contract at City and his 4 year contract at Villa. Yes he used his testimonial as a bargaining chip but not in the calculation of the fee.

Ireland is calculating his figure of 2 million in exactly the same way, but without the bargaining chip of a testimonial, he does have precedent.

Any way you want to look at it, I was just trying to highlight the different way people are treated, we all love Dunney and very few have time for Ireland. Que sera.

65 Posts
    I was thinking more in terms of whether its was merited or not.
    "I'm just a chilled out entertainer"

Blog

2,710 Posts
    I'm actually on Ireland's side regarding making whole his wages, though discussing "merit" would open a whole hornet's nest.

Would be a good move for Ireland if O'Neill had stayed. Ireland has bags of potential and needs the right manager to nurture it. The best mid-fielder Ireland has produced since Roy Keane and hopefully he will return someday.

International Prospect tricky_colour's Avatar
    621 Posts
    I guess any player is entitled to claim whatever his contract allows.
    Lets face it the club would not be paying up if they didn't have to.

I think the players have the upper hand over clubs.
    The days of them getting £20 a week are long gone.
    (£20 a second now!!)
    Last edited by tricky_colour; 13/08/2010 at 6:14 PM.

International Prospect Razors left peg's Avatar
    867 Posts
    According to one of the tabloids today Man City are trying to sign Ibrahimovic on wages of €600000 a week, and while I realise that figure is probably just over the top speculation the fact that numbers like that are even being thrown around would make me want to get as much as I possibly could from that club if I was Ireland
    Its really not that complicated!!!

245 Posts
    I don't think anyone can begrudge someone trying to get the most out of a club. He's signed a contract and wants a payoff. Par for the course and I'd be looking for a payout as well.

Was expecting a few people to rip into him but fairly mature response on here, well played lads...now that I've said this, I expect some morons to come on here and let 'er rip on poor old Stevie...
    Eirebhoy's "We Love You" Chant. RIP:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V7UfSbASyrQ

567 Posts
    I'd back Stephen Ireland on this one. After the way they treated Richard Dunne (even though he had been city's player of the year for 3 of the 4 previous years) I would strongly advise taking these city owners for every penny he can get.

1,914 Posts
    I don't really care about SI one way or another to express support or condemnation.
    Apathy seems more appropriate.

Needless to say I am not a big fan of SI but he has been a super player for Man City. Been there all his career and basically has now come up against a (not very good IMO) manager who doesn't really fancy him.

Spunking shedloads of money even seems to be going straight to the heads of the City fans on their forums who seem to be quite happy to get rid of him in place of the latest vastly overpriced muppet they can get their hands on.

575 Posts
    http://www.skysports.com/story/0,195...310937,00.html

Manchester City manager Roberto Mancini believes the time has come for Stephen Ireland to leave Eastlands.

The former Republic of Ireland international has spent his entire career with City and is on a long-term contract with the club.

Ireland has been tipped to join Aston Villa as part of the deal that sees James Milner join City, although a pay-off is curtailing the deal.

Italian tactician Mancini knows Ireland is a good player, but feels the time has now come for the 23-year-old to grow elsewhere.

"Stephen Ireland is a good player but he has been here all his life and he needs to change," said Mancini.

"Sometimes it can happen that a player stays with the same squad for 15 years and plays well but a moment arrives when he needs to change.

"Now is time for him. I really think he can improve."

672 Posts
    According to Pat Murphy on Five Live today he's set to become the highest paid player in Villa's history, if the deal goes through. No figures but I'd imagine it's in the realm of 55,000-70,000k. Bit strange given Villa's apparent purse tightening - I'm not convinced it's a great move for either club or player but we'll see.
    Ou-est le Centre George Pompidou?

245 Posts
    Maradona wants to manage Villa. How awesome would Villa be with Maradona at the helm and Ireland as their highest earner?

Most entertaining team ever....
    Eirebhoy's "We Love You" Chant. RIP:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V7UfSbASyrQ

I hope he holds out for the City job. Just imagine the team talk with Maradona, Balotelli and Adebayor - ****ing mental.

Maradona and SI together? Lovely. Match made in hell.
    No Somos muchos pero estamos locos.