Page 7 of 14 FirstFirst ... 56789 ... LastLast

Thread: What do you work as?

You're argument that a Repoman is somehow more "manly" then a student or a doctor or an IT consultant or a bus driver is pathetic tbh.
    And what's your argument?

Smartasses are great, if they have an answer.

Is it because it has the word "man" in the job title??
    Inadvertently I think you found the answer, but were probably revelling in your bravura too much to notice. The job of a repo-man is one thoroughly unsuitable to all but the most manly of women. For example, can you imagine some lass coming to the door of a burly lumberjack telling him she must take away his chainsaw cos he's defaulted on the hire purchase payments?

How could you think chasing random people, not knowing what could be in store, trying to prise their prized possessions off them, does not require brave and intimidating attributes usually the preserve of men?

It takes a special kind of scumbag to be a repoman IMO
    I hope you open a business some day. You'll get great custom from me. No money, but your stock turnover figures will be best in class. WTF, if someone doesn't pay up after numerous warnings nothing should happen? Wonderful logic. Are prison guards 'a special kind of scumbag' for not releasing prisoners?

Kingdom Hoop put it better than i could.

We should start a "Jobs I dont agree with" thread or a "I would rather gouge my eyes out with plastic spoons than work at that" thread.

Quote Originally Posted by kingdom hoop View Post
    And what's your argument?
    That you can't judge someones "manliness" by someones profession

Smartasses are great, if they have an answer.
    I'll take that as a compliment given my answer

Inadvertently I think you found the answer
    Oh, it is because the word man is in the title??

Fair Enough.

Does that mean the ice cream man is more manly then a US Marine in you book??

but were probably revelling in your bravura too much to notice
    Revelling in bravura??

WTF??

The job of a repo-man is one thoroughly unsuitable to all but the most manly of women.
    LMFAO

For example, can you imagine some lass coming to the door of a burly lumberjack telling him she must take away his chainsaw cos he's defaulted on the hire purchase payments?
    Worst example ever

How could you think chasing random people, not knowing what could be in store
    WOW, like a superhero

does not require brave and intimidating attributes usually the preserve of men?
    So sexist, it's pathetic.

Nothing brave or intimidating (Jesus Wept btw) about any of the repo gangs I've come across

I hope you open a business some day.
    Why thank you.

Not really in my life plan though

WTF, if someone doesn't pay up after numerous warnings nothing should happen?
    Show me where I said repomen weren't necessary. It just takes a certain kind of character to want to do it.

Does that make them more "manly"

No, of course not

Wonderful logic.
    Try reading next time

Are prison guards 'a special kind of scumbag' for not releasing prisoners?
    Absolute garbage comparison.

Congrats on a post of twaddle

Quote Originally Posted by Anto McC View Post
    Kingdom Hoop put it better than i could.
    Despite his being wrong I agree with you 100% on him being able to put himself across better

Man.

Quote Originally Posted by Magicme View Post
    We should start a "I would rather gouge my eyes out with plastic spoons than work at that" thread.
    I'll get the ball rolling

Repoman
    Traffic Warden
    Debt Collector
    Prison Officer
    Army Private
    Operator of football forum
    Monaghan United manager
    Rat Catcher
    Surgeon
    Nurse

I could go on but I've broken out in a cold sweat

International Prospect Green Tribe's Avatar
    I'll get the ball rolling

Repoman
    Traffic Warden
    Debt Collector
    Prison Officer
    Army Private
    Operator of football forum
    Monaghan United manager
    Rat Catcher
    Surgeon
    Nurse

I could go on but I've broken out in a cold sweat
    Class!

Anto the repo man, it has a surprisingly poetic ring to it
    This is not the best signature in the world, this is just a tribute

Where are the real men?
    That's great, glad to know my contribution as a carer* is deemed less than manly.

* FYI I don't get paid or any allowances for it, all for love
    http://pix.ie/widgets/generate/accou...000-F5F5FF.jpg

"It's time for the FAI to grow up." John O'Donoghue, Minister for Sport, RTE , Sunday 7 Nov 2004

Any man who needs to question the manliness of things is not a real man in my book. A real man accepts what life throws at them and carries on through it all. Having met you soccerc not only do I rate you as a man but you are also a better variation of one, a gentleman.

Quote Originally Posted by blackholesun View Post
    IT developer in financial services co. Spend my days digging into C++ calcs code to figure out e.g. why a 600000+ pension fund rollup over 27 years at 6% is out by 1.77 euros compared to the excel test system written by the actuary upstairs. Nice work if youre the type of person who enjoyed 500 piece jigsaws as a kid ;-)

bhs
    what bank to ya work for?
    'How can I hate women, my Mums one!!!' Chris Finch

Quote Originally Posted by Ash View Post
    Software Engineer! Not as exciting as it sounds
    Not heard any one suggest IT was exciting since 2001 when everyone spend 20% of the time working & the remaining emailing jokes.

Quote Originally Posted by citizenerased View Post
    what bank to ya work for?

I dont think he means a personal bank.

I'm an MA Media student and the assistant manager in a Spar store. In the course of this work I have tangled with all sorts of ne'er do wells (though most are students or scumbags) trying to rip us off. So it is now clear that my scrawny 150lb body is the most manly of all. Go me.

I was also the well-paid mascot for a pro sports team but that's a whole other story.

Quote Originally Posted by soccerc View Post
    That's great, glad to know my contribution as a carer* is deemed less than manly.

* FYI I don't get paid or any allowances for it, all for love
    You're clearly a big girls blouse

I work on building site. Currently Im re-pointing bricks in walls. I work in a pub at the weekends.

My degree is collecting dust and losing value every passing day
    I think I should the parachute, because I'm great.

In fact, I think I should get both parachutes, in case one doesn't work.

Un-employed Concorde pilot.

Despite his being wrong I agree with you 100% on him being able to put himself across better

Man.
    Look, you said it takes a special kind of scumbag to be a Repoman. I say, it takes a special kind of pussy, to be afraid to do it and there's a lot of them. So in my logic, being a repoman is a manly job.
    Last edited by Anto McC; 26/11/2007 at 5:21 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by soccerc View Post
    Very creditable job and fair play, this country will always owe people like yourself a debt of gratitude but would you honestly say it's as manly a job as said a hod carrier on a building site?

Look, you said it takes a special kind of scumbag to be a Repoman. I say, it takes a special kind of pussy, to be afraid to do it and there's a lot of them. So in my logic, being a repoman is a manly job.
    Scumbag was a bit harsh, rather a certain personality

Why would anyone be afriad of doing it??

Pussy??

Are you for real??

Pathetic

Man.

Very creditable job and fair play, this country will always owe people like yourself a debt of gratitude but would you honestly say it's as manly a job as said a hod carrier on a building site?
    Mortified for you.

Man.

Page 7 of 14 FirstFirst ... 56789 ... LastLast