Page 9 of 11 FirstFirst ... 7891011 LastLast

Thread: Smoke bombs flares etc.

420 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Town Legend View Post
    Well??? That doesn't answer my question. So I'll ask again. Where did I say the others are all degenerate scum?
    I believe he was exaggerating for effect, hope this helps.

218 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by bluewhitearmy View Post
    I believe he was exaggerating for effect, hope this helps.

Really??? You don't say!!

International Prospect NeverFeltBetter's Avatar
    581 Posts
    I'm sorry I said anything about the Wexford bans.
    Author of Never Felt Better (History, Film Reviews).

420 Posts
    Really??? You don't say!!
    Now this is just a wild guess correct me if I'm wrong, but I reckon you are an absolute joy to be around great craic altogether I imagine.

2,337 Posts
    I'm really enjoying this.

218 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by bluewhitearmy View Post
    Now this is just a wild guess correct me if I'm wrong, but I reckon you are an absolute joy to be around great craic altogether I imagine.
    Continue on

218 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by nigel-harps1954 View Post
    All good craic Nigel

2,337 Posts
    This is going through my head as I read these posts.

420 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by nigel-harps1954 View Post
    What are your feelings on flares Nigel get involved

535 Posts
    Good man Martinho. If they're looking for volunteers why don't you take up your own advice and volunteer. That way you and your mates can let off all the flares ye like and deal with the repercussions!
    if you want to know I do volunteer. I sell the programme- I help out with the lotto in the shopping centre not as much as I would like to. I used to sell town lotto in the pubs. I do the stats for the Longford Town website. I also am researching into the history of the club in my own free time and am considering doing a history of the club when its all done as I have someone that am friendly with that has wrote loads of league of ireland books thats willing to come on board with me.. I write for the match programme. I also go to the programme fair in Dublin and am active in the Irish Programme Club committtee. I used to be secretary of the Longford Town Supporters Clubs . My younger brother also volunteers also and does our website.I help out with the club shop at xmas. all the lads wanted to do was to better improve atmosphere at games! So you are not going to win the argument with me my man!
    Last edited by Martinho II; 19/04/2016 at 3:55 AM.

218 Posts
    So what you're saying is you are a volunteer board member? If that's the case why didn't you step in and have a word with your fellow board members over the fining and banning of your mates? Why didn't you say for the club to look after the fines this once and you'd talk to your mates and say that letting off flares wasn't on and then everybody would be happy? Did you not stand up for your mates to your fellow board members but then come on here bashing those fellow board members? Look Marty, we go back a long way. Back as far as the start up of section O. We've had many a disagreement over football matters on bus trips to away games. And this is just another one. I'm sure we're both big and bold enough to appreciate each other's points of arguments and move on.

This is is the last time I'm going to post on this thread as its getting beyond a joke. Just so it be known, I have nothing against flares. My problem is that the idiots who let them off and then cry about been fined and banned. I don't mind the fellas who let them off and hold their hand up and pay their fine. Everyday you go through life with rules in place. If you get caught you suffer consequences simple as that. If you get away with it fair play to ya, if not then you're in bother. The same goes with these flares. Now that's my rant over with!

535 Posts
    So what you're saying is you are a volunteer board member? If that's the case why didn't you step in and have a word with your fellow board members over the fining and banning of your mates? Why didn't you say for the club to look after the fines this once and you'd talk to your mates and say that letting off flares wasn't on and then everybody would be happy? Did you not stand up for your mates to your fellow board members but then come on here bashing those fellow board members? Look Marty, we go back a long way. Back as far as the start up of section O. We've had many a disagreement over football matters on bus trips to away games. And this is just another one. I'm sure we're both big and bold enough to appreciate each other's points of arguments and move on.

This is is the last time I'm going to post on this thread as its getting beyond a joke. Just so it be known, I have nothing against flares. My problem is that the idiots who let them off and then cry about been fined and banned. I don't mind the fellas who let them off and hold their hand up and pay their fine. Everyday you go through life with rules in place. If you get caught you suffer consequences simple as that. If you get away with it fair play to ya, if not then you're in bother. The same goes with these flares. Now that's my rant over with!
    I was never a board member and am not a board member. I dont think it is my place to tell lads to stop flares. I was too busy minding my nephew anyway. The issue was that Dundalk should have checked the fans coming into Oriel. My only involvement is with the Supporters Club but I am based in Dublin a lot now so dont have the time now to go to meetings. Thats why I quit as secretary.

812 Posts
    Stop, I beg.

222 Posts
    Derry now seemingly clamping down on flares now. Leaflets were handed out at the Dundalk game saying how we get fined €750 per game for them.
    Now they're threatening lifetime bans. http://www.derrynow.com/soccer/derry...ndywell/103197
    Have you ever won the treble?

581 Posts
    Limerick look like the next to be fined, fans setting off flares after Limerick's third this evening. FAI commentators reacting in the driest manner imaginable.

Quote Originally Posted by NeverFeltBetter View Post
    Limerick look like the next to be fined, fans setting off flares after Limerick's third this evening. FAI commentators reacting in the driest manner imaginable.
    They'll be demoted I'd say.

3,197 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by NeverFeltBetter View Post
    Three flares all told. The first looked like it might have been burning a seat at one stage; it was burning away for a while after being dropped anyway.

Is it Limerick or UCD who get fined for that?

581 Posts
    Be a bit weird if they fined UCD. Unless the FAI wants every game to be a security lockdown.

3,197 Posts
    Think it's happened before that the home club has gotten fined for away team flares?

Could be imagining it. Certainly not unlike something the FAI would do.

125 Posts
    Home team gets fined as the venue is their responsibility. The away side get fined too. 50/50 I think. 500 for first offence

Page 9 of 11 FirstFirst ... 7891011 LastLast