Eamonn Dunphy 200/1
    Jack Charlton 500/1

Martin O'Neill or Roy Keane for me but I am not holding my breath

I would love to see Keano get it but that wont happen.

If is going to be a Irishman to get the job then Dave O'Leary is the only one IMO

131 Posts
    Please God not Aldridge or Souness. Replacing one clueless manager with another is not the way forward.

Quote Originally Posted by Armando View Post
    Delaney - 'this is the 4th crisis now in Stauntons tenure...we've become conditioned to it''
    This is the sickening bit from his interview. Does that make last night acceptable John you ****ing tit

John Sheridan has gone some way to earning his stripes with Oldham. Not a great level I admit.

I've said before I'd have O'Leary as Manager in a shot
    " I wish to God that someone would be able to block out the voices in my head for five minutes, the voices that scream, over and over again: "Why do they come to me to die?"

There is no chance Roy would leave the Black Cats to work for the FAI, ditto Martin O Neil at Villa, personally El TEL ticks a lot of boxes, namely experience at appropriate levels,

Don Givens 25/1
    Oh sweet jesus NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO

Quote Originally Posted by sonofstan View Post
    Does anyone know where I could find the constitution of the FAI online? do they have one?
    Try here
    Honest! I am not a secret Tim nor a closet Sham - I really am a Seagull.

Make sure and bring delaney out banners to cardiff, wat a tool
    Ya lads, make sure ye bring this out with ye. DEFFO>.

161 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Superhoops View Post
    I don't think he is distancing himself from it all. I think he is merely clarifying the point that the decision to appoint Steve Staunton's was not made by him alone. A three man sub-committee, of which he was a member, made a recommendation to the 10 man Board of Management and that recommendation was ratified by that Board.

Several journalists and several on here have been promoting the notion that Delaney made the appointment himself without any reference to anyone. That simply it not true and there is nothing wrong with Delaney making that clear.
    So who else did the "3" interview for the job? Delaney made a statement that a world class manager would be appointed. Are you suggesting that David Blood had the same say in appointing Staunton as Delaney?

200 Posts
    Igor Tudor ?

Try here
    Thanks
    A patriot is someone who knows how to hate his country properly.

if looking like a dozy fupper hiding from the son is a crime then delaney should be in prison for life.

O'Donoghue is asking the questions we want to be asked, he seems to be the most in touch.

FORMERLY: City till I Die Aaron's Avatar
    74 Posts
    O'Leary for me

72 Posts
    Well Stan's gone that's for sure.

Board was not due to meet until 3 days before Wales Game, now likely to meet in the next couple of days to 'discuss' the situation.

I don't think he is distancing himself from it all. I think he is merely clarifying the point that the decision to appoint Steve Staunton's was not made by him alone. A three man sub-committee, of which he was a member, made a recommendation to the 10 man Board of Management and that recommendation was ratified by that Board.
    And who appointed the boards? And what do you think would have happened to board members who went against Delaney's choice?

Quote Originally Posted by Schumi View Post
    And who appointed the boards? And what do you think would have happened to board members who went against Delaney's choice?
    An extract from a short story being published in STIG:
    The hens spoke up at this stage, asking for details of his dream, preferably in writing but they got no useful answer. Every member of the three animal committee they spoke to answered that they had only prepared a report, the vote was taken by the ten animal committee and that's where responsibility lied. But every member of the ten animal committee gave the opposite answer. He had only voted in accordance with the recommendations of the three animal committee, that's where responsibility lied. The hens would even got these answer twice from the same animal if he were a member of both committees.

130 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by youngirish View Post
    Please God not Aldridge or Souness. Replacing one clueless manager with another is not the way forward.
    The same Aldridge who brought a minnow to a major cup final, had a great record against Premier teams in the cups and had a better club record then Sanchez before he took over Norn Iron? What's your basis for that? The FAI won't get away with appointing him now but to call him clueless is way off the mark. Had he taken over when they wanted the cheap option after Kerr we'd be far better off then we are now.

I'll give you Souness alright.

Sadly viewing the houses that were once Milltown
    780 Posts
    All this is so obvious your shock amuses me. Here's something I posted well before the Delaney interview in the Cyprus game thread in response to youngirish:

I think you would do what I think will happen when Delaney comes knocking on your door. "Listen youngirish, I don't think this is working out and we're getting terrible stick from the media and the fans". You reply "Fair enough". Delaney says "I think we have to replace you". You say "I have a 4 year contract". Delaney says "What will it take for the good of the country and my job security for you to leave?" You say "€700k". Delaney says €500k". You say "€600k". Delaney says "Done!".

Press statement: "The FAI have agreed to terminate the contract of youngirish by mutual consent. The FAI would like to thank youngirish for his unstinting hard work for the Association and the national team during the past x months. The search now begins for a new world class manager".

John Aldridge had a couple of half decent cup runs with Tranmere about 10 years ago and hasnt been even mentioned for a job anywhere since. As Dunphy stated, we have had enough of 'rinky dink coaches who wouldnt get a job for any other country'. No other country would go near Adridge, why should we?? Because he was a decent player for us i think this has been proven over the last year and a half to mean nothing. Aldridge is one option to certainly avoid. I would have confidence in the FAI to hire the right man. I cant picture another monumental **** up on the manager apointment like with we had a year ago

Page 7 of 13 FirstFirst ... 56789 ... LastLast