Ballybofey, Co Donegal !
    Go lí cúnna ifrinn do thóin bheagmhaitheasach

ah man.. i hate sligo personally.

its a soulless kip which is getting worse.
    our main street is pedestrian where most people if any are on it still walk on the footpaths..

Callan, Co. Kilkenny is another one of those Marie Celeste towns I'd say.
    SIGNATURESCOPE

Quote Originally Posted by rebs23 View Post
    Limerick- my god it gets worse with every passing week and greyer, no cinema in the city centre, few enough restaraunts, fewer clubs, no theatres in the city centre ....
    ...that's because we copped on ages ago that the entire cinema concept is a quaint hangover from the early 20th century. Unlike our Corkonian neighbours who keep at least one of these massive human pettrie dishes slap bang in the middle of a prime thoroughfare. You're simply matter of factually wrong on the other criticisms....

no decent venues or festivals of any description.
    Oh Christ yeah ...we need MORE festivals, more I say, damn those who say less.
    " I wish to God that someone would be able to block out the voices in my head for five minutes, the voices that scream, over and over again: "Why do they come to me to die?"

Alright before this is binned;

Limerick- my god it gets worse with every passing week and greyer, no cinema in the city centre, few enough restaraunts, fewer clubs, no theatres in the city centre and no decent venues or festivals of any description.
    You really shouldnt be afraid to get out of the car and acually see for yourself before making yourself out to be a bit silly with your 'facts' if you dont like the place just say, no need to make up lies.

Mountrath and Tipp town get my vote.

Was in Belfast on Sunday/Monday and have to say it's an awful dump.
    Visited Bobby Sands grave on Sunday and this was the Highlight.
    The City Centre is completely devoid of soul or atmosphere.
    sorry to any of the Belfast Lads on here if I'm being over critical but I just couldn't wait to get out of it

111 Posts
    Dundalk without a shadow of a doubt. Athlone not the Mae West either. Bray I suppose as well.
    'Fascists dress in black and go round telling people what to do, where as priests.....'

46 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by dortie View Post
    Ballybofey, Co Donegal !

Trust ya Dortie to make a complete tool of yourself and do exactly as I asked you people not to do. Refrain from personal bias. Somebody will find you a dictionary and explain.

Quote Originally Posted by Harpsbear View Post
    Trust ya Dortie to make a complete tool of yourself and do exactly as I asked you people not to do. Refrain from personal bias. Somebody will find you a dictionary and explain.
    Tisk tisk, sorry for not playing by the rules

no bias whatsoever....its a kip !

No need for the dictionary friend.
    Go lí cúnna ifrinn do thóin bheagmhaitheasach

3,197 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Monkfish View Post
    Tipp town get my vote.

Tipp Town?! Have to disagree. There's the Cup and Saucer, an excellent spot for walking, with a superb view across to the Galtees, which aren't that far away. There's a par 3 golf course on the hill, a football pitch (of sorts...) and bits of cardboard to go scooting down the hill on. There's some World War II remnants and a public handball court. There's a cinema now, the Marian Hall for the bit of bingo of a Friday or Sunday night or cards of a Monday, the farmer's market, which will help you spot the jackeens a mile away (the ones who can't take the smell). There's a nice open area down beyond L&N (Londis I think it is now), some grand shops and pubs and chippers. There's a football team (not a bad one either) and a rugby team. I remember one time a Mini car rally around the square there just beside the Post Office - great craic so it was. Town has its own Paddy's Day Parade an all!

What more do you want?!

Sligo - lived there a few years but met some sound folk but mainly tossers
    Buttevant/Charleville- now the bane of my life every Friday.
    Shannon- Dead as a dodo
    Mallow- Depressing ****hole but has 1 or 2 characters
    "Are those my feet" Fr Jack Hackett

Can't believe I forgot this..

Drogheda.. what a soulless commuter belt kip

46 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by dortie View Post
    Tisk tisk, sorry for not playing by the rules

no bias whatsoever....its a kip !

No need for the dictionary friend.
    Of course it is. There are far worse towns in Ireland.In fact its a pretty ordinary town. Not too spectacular.Just ordinary. There are so many worse towns. So yes it was your own personal bias. Perhaps its as far in life as you have so managed to venture because but you and I know it there are worse towns.

Harpsbear, dortie has an opinion. He expressed it, no need to attack him for it.

37 Posts
    The general rule of thumb is that most inland towns are kips and most costal towns are okay.

My Dad is from Tuam and he reckons it is the best town in Ireland...to leave. Sligo town is dull enough but there are some wonderful places just outside Sligo like Rosses Point and Strandhill which are uniquely beautiful.

Shannon would still be a cattle farm had they decided to build an airport elsewhere. Clifden is in the middle of the most photographed scenery in Ireland but the town itself is not so easy on the eye.
    Nobody knows us, we don't care

Quote Originally Posted by Block G Raptor View Post
    Was in Belfast on Sunday/Monday and have to say it's an awful dump.
    Visited Bobby Sands grave on Sunday and this was the Highlight.
    The City Centre is completely devoid of soul or atmosphere.
    sorry to any of the Belfast Lads on here if I'm being over critical but I just couldn't wait to get out of it

i have been up to belfast a few times and i think its a great spot, some beautiful buildings in the city centre area queens university being one of note, very good nightlife, very friendly people and some very very attractive women

I'm somewhat relieved that the worst Dungarvan has to offer is that at chucking out time it can get a bit rowdy. I normally just avoid the square at that time. Actually it's rarer that I'm around town on a Saturday night. Still it's more loud mouth drunkenness than anything else (usually). We don't hit the headlines as often as the town folk just over (or on) the Tipperary border. So I nominate Carrick-on-Suir and Clonmel.
    Ceci n'est pas une signature

366 Posts
    I'm suprised nobody has mentioned Portlaoise. Although I think Athy is the worst town in Ireland, Portlaoise is a close second. Bagenalstown in Carlow and Castlecomer in Kilkenny are other towns high up on my list.

Quote Originally Posted by kingdom hoop View Post
    Plane-spotting is nothing? You must have been really spoilt for entertainment growing up. Ah shur tis great for all the kids so they realise there is an escape!
    When in a previous life you spent time spraying planes, trust me spotting them is not a good idea. As for the escape, some of the people I grew up with still haven't figured out that you can use these metal birds to escape.

Reminds me when we played football in Newmarket-on- fergus (home) yearrrrrs ago , the flight path to the airport is directly over the pitch, and as a plane was making its approach to land the 11 players on the opposition used to stop playing and look up. It was funny to watch the awe that this induced on these young fellows. As Smellyfeet has said with a population of 10K+ there is sweet fanny adams to do. Of course there is always the 4 pubs . Shannon is like the town in Willy Wonkas chocolate factory and if corporate America ever up roots it will be like Lionel Ritches vote Clonmellon. It really is a bad bad place to live. Sadly it looks like I will be here for a few more years. Thank God for those metal birds.
    I'll update this next year.

Quote Originally Posted by SligoBrewer View Post
    ah man.. i hate sligo personally.

its a soulless kip which is getting worse.
    our main street is pedestrian where most people if any are on it still walk on the footpaths..

Noticed that , it always makes me laugh, even mothers screaming at their kids to get off the street.
    I'll update this next year.

Page 3 of 7 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast