Thread: FAI Cup Final Tape

Quote Originally Posted by joeSoap View Post
    Patrick St
    the james joyce,who owns that now id never link that to limerick37 whats the connection

The guy running the place is big into soccer around limerick isn't he......think he has actually moved to Foley's now.....i could be way off though. Mojo's have had Limerick37 flags up since nearly the start of the season aswell.

So the route before the next home game is:

Mojo's start out...then onto

Old Quarter, then onto

Nancys, then onto,

Flannerys, then onto,

Rashers, then onto,

Patsy Flannerys, (Wickham St), then onto,

Still House, then onto,

Baker Place, then onto,

Charllie St Georges, then over to

The Jacks.

Anyone else up for it besides me, jebus and I'm pretty sure Monkfish will do it aswell??

Don't drag myself and Monkfish through the mud with you LtiD, we generally hang out at the gentleman's club and have a few brandies as you well know

Quote Originally Posted by jebus View Post
    Don't drag myself and Monkfish through the mud with you LtiD, we generally hang out at the sissy bar and have a few pineapple Bacardi Breezers as you well know
    Just fixed your post for you there

Sure dont you a Jebus already have your regular route?

Home.

Match.

Home.

Bar 3/Nevada Smiths.

Home.

Jeasus Joe, i can picture yourself in Johns square running with the 'crew' up to Mulgrave street in your diamond Pringle v neck top and Fila runners
    So what was the craic back then? who were the biggest draw in terms of hassle? Shams, Waterford or Dundalk?

57 Posts
    Great days definitely. Not sure about the whole league being better though. Plenty of clubs had poor attendances at that time - Cork united, Shels, Home Farm in particular. Even Bohs and rovers had poor enough crowds.

We probably should have won more than a league and a cup. We blew the league the following season after winning it - beat Dundalk in November to go 4 points clear. Lost abad game at home to rovers but just after christmas drew in Athlone and won in Sligo to be 3 points clear at the turn of the year with all our tough away games played. The previous year we had won a number of games with late goals but in 80/1 we were the dominant team and looked like winning the league easily. We totally collapsed after that.

The Grace era was one of many missed opportunities. There was £5,000 per week coming in from the club lottery. Crowds were good too but we were always 3rd or 4th and had some sickening cup defeats. 2 up v Galway in the semi final only to draw 2-2. They scored a freak goal in extra time in probably their only attack of the replay and the winners were in Europe. We lost a replay to 1st division Drogheda in 1989. a much weaker Cork City team beat us in 86. and don't get me started on where the money went.......

The potential is still there. Right through the 70's crowds weren't that great. You'd always get a big turnout for the cup and for the visit of Rovers (eventhough they were often poor) and the top teams of the time. The popularside was never really crowded until the league winning season.

Quote Originally Posted by Monkfish View Post
    Bar 3/Nevada Smiths.
    Jaysus, is that what that place is called these days

What's it like??

in your diamond Pringle v neck top and Fila runners
    This was 1980s Limerick man, I'd imagine anyone in a v-neck pringle top would have been automatically beaten up

So what was the craic back then? who were the biggest draw in terms of hassle? Shams, Waterford or Dundalk
    EMFA

This was 1980s Limerick man, I'd imagine anyone in a v-neck pringle top would have been automatically beaten up
    Maybe on the Fashionless Southside where you would have all been wearing donkey jackets and work boots (not that you worked or anything) and where Bear USA hoodies, and the classic tracksuit pants and deck shoes combo is still the must have look since 1997

Unbelieveable....ye have managed to turn a thread about the 1982 Cup Final into a fashion parade. Sweet Divine Jesus!!

Who could afford Fila runners in the 1980s?

Quote Originally Posted by PinBallWizard View Post
    Unbelieveable....ye have managed to turn a thread about the 1982 Cup Final into a fashion parade. Sweet Divine Jesus!!
    Im trying to find out about matters off-field and on the terraces around that time, dont want to drag it too much off topic so please continue (your post had nothing to do with the topic either)

Quote Originally Posted by Voice of Reason View Post
    Who could afford Fila runners in the 1980s?
    Very true, were they even available in Limerick back then?

Denim jackets, black jeans and side-lace shoes were very much part of the fashion in those days. And your denim jacket was usually covered in ska pin badges, or AC/DC, Iron Maiden ones. Crombie coats were also very much in, as was paisley. Paisley shirts, ties, socks...anything with paisley on it.

So there was a strong football/music link with the lads going to the games? obviously you cant compare us with the country we had at the time with the terrace fashions with a 'certain element' on the terraces in England, Scotland and South Wales but certain details seem simular, where did the club draw it main support base from in your opinion? as in area of the city.

Maybe on the Fashionless Southside where you would have all been wearing donkey jackets and work boots (not that you worked or anything)
    Now, now, I'll have you know that no one in Limerick worked beteewn 1978 and 1992

FACT!!!

where did the club draw it main support base from in your opinion? as in area of the city.
    Mainly the "fashionless" working class southside areas I'd imagine

So there was a strong football/music link with the lads going to the games? obviously you cant compare us with the country we had at the time with the terrace fashions with a 'certain element' on the terraces in England, Scotland and South Wales but certain details seem simular, where did the club draw it main support base from in your opinion? as in area of the city.
    I wouldn't say there was a strong football/music link, but music was big business back then, especially live music. Limerick had legendary bands like Grannys Intentions, The Outfit and Tuesday Blue. The Boomtown Rats played in Johns Pavillion in the late 70's and Lizzy and Gallagher played the Savoy regularly.

Its hard to say what area of town the strongest suport base came from. Obviously Garryowen, because it was just on their doorstep. But they came from all over really.
    Last edited by joeSoap; 27/09/2007 at 10:05 AM.

83 Posts
    RTE archives would have it. You might be able to get a copy of it there.
    I wouldn't bet on that. We tried the RTE archives for a copy of the Athlone Town vs AC Milan game and were unsuccessful. RTE had a habit of reusing tapes as a cost cutting measure especially if it wasn't GAA

Follow Us on Facebook and Twitter

Quote Originally Posted by Battery Rover View Post
    I wouldn't bet on that. We tried the RTE archives for a copy of the Athlone Town vs AC Milan game and were unsuccessful. RTE had a habit of reusing tapes as a cost cutting measure especially if it wasn't GAA
    I;ve heard that myself, can't remember in relation to what, but that they used to tape over some of their archive footage ****ing Irish people strike again

57 Posts
    Im trying to find out about matters off-field and on the terraces around that time, dont want to drag it too much off topic so please continue (your post had nothing to do with the topic either)
    Hassle was very rare in reality.

Sligo league cup final 75 (home leg only)
    A Waterford cup tie 81 I think
    Shamrock rovers 84 I think

ran for our lives from Dutch hooligans in Alkmaar.
    Things got a little ugly on the reserved terrace at Milltown one sunday in the mid 80's as we were the only 2 away fans on that side. My Dad was avoiding the Graces at the time as relations were not good.