Thread: Limerick 37 v Dundalk.

Limerick 37 v Dundalk.

Recent results have dictated that this game is not the huge event it looked like being a few weeks ago, and I think will probably be the final nail in our promotion challenge. However Dundalk are not in the best of form themselves, so who knows.

Victory is a must, but I can't see it. 1-1 with Tommy scoring for us.

Oh, and is there any possible chance that this thread can be purely based on football, the game and tactics. No talk of the club being in the mire please, no talk of Ski being a tosser, just football please.
    Last edited by joeSoap; 24/08/2007 at 8:41 AM.

hopefully Tierney will play or play some part. He didnt feature in the last couple of league games i got to so i have yet to see the boy in action.

are barrett, kelleher and molan back for this?

is rossi suspended?
    you gowl!

All I can say is "get into them their easy!"

Good luck tonight!

lookin forward to this one myself...... in an optimistic mood today, feel limerick could win it. 2-1 to limerick.

Come on the lims, do yere buddies a favour!
    COBH RAMBLERS FIRST DIV CHAMPS 2007

http://irish-abroad.appspot.com/GameDayDetails fantastic website by tetsujin1979

Quote Originally Posted by bellavistaman View Post
    Come on the lims, do yere buddies a favour!
    Back to the sticks with you boy

I predict we lose 3-1. There's no motivation in this team, and i don't see us being as up for it as dundalk (thankfully i won't see it either, as i'm currently looking for a house in dublin )

Quote Originally Posted by baileban View Post
    The club is in the mire and Ski Magee is a tosser! Now!
    wow did you think of that all by yourself.must of being very hard for you.

couldn't just stick to the football side and not the financial or anything about Mcgee.

its friday super rovers - lighten up - look at the first post on the thread - he asked for it - now go away and find something else to be annoyed at. i'd say your great crack altogether!!

No you lighten up and stop being negative about the club when its not true!! If Joesoap asked for it then why dont you respect his request!! Its not that hard, theres other thread to discuss Mcgee and the clubs finance!! Anyways lads, still in Spain so on internet here checking the score in the Dundalk game!! I dont trust the Aertel on RTE.ie anymore!!
    For all the latest League of Ireland news visit www.extratime.ie

Yes, cant believe it. great result lads, well done.

And cheers, ha
    COBH RAMBLERS FIRST DIV CHAMPS 2007

http://irish-abroad.appspot.com/GameDayDetails fantastic website by tetsujin1979

That's a mighty result, what was the crowd like, well done again.

just in the door from work and seen the result, pretty shocked I have to say! Great to see Harrington and Tierney getting some goals, anyone care to give a bit of a match report?

Great stuff lads...that not only gives us a great boost but gives ye a lot to play for also....well done...what a hammering

Quote Originally Posted by Rambler1 View Post
    what a hammering
    We've owed them one of those, for years of misery.....

best performance from the whole team this season. tierney and mccarthy were brilliant up front (they should definately be the starting partnership up front). colbert and harrington were solid in midfield. Rossi was average as usual and waters had a decent game. keady, purcell and finucane had great games. molan really stood out at left back though, will give mcgee something to think about when deciding whether to play molan or buckley at left back. Fyffe didn't really have much to do but he was fairly solid and his kick outs where good.

limerick made Dundalk look very average tonight. played some nice football aswell. they actual were able to string a few passes together. a few more performances like the one tonight and there is no way you could write off limerick for a play off spot at least.

finding it hard to remember most of the goals cause i was too busy celebrating them. Tierneys was a free kick (delighted he scored, he worked his socks off and was trouble for dundalk all night). Purcells was a header. harringtons first was a bit of a scramble in the box and he finished it off. i'm finding it hard to remember his second goal cause as i said i was too busy celebrating to even think about the goal just scored dundalks goal was a well taken free kick.

all in all a very enjoyable game. probably the most enjoyable all season

Nice one!! Fair play for that Jofspring. I hope tonights result shuts up a lot of doubters and moaners. Saying that, during that bad string of results it really was excellent to see so many people staying behind the team and being positive !! Shelbourne next friday is going to be a tough one and we still have to play Wexford away soon again (When is that BTW?) In my opinion it is still all to play for. I was dissapointed I missed tonight but its been a good week of results and I should go on holiday more often if this is what happens!! Great to hear the U-21 players are doing well and the future looks bright in that sense.
    For all the latest League of Ireland news visit www.extratime.ie

Talking

Well Done Lads. At Long last we beat Dundalk at home !!
    I missed this tonight and would have loved to be there. Ah well lets hope this is the start of the comeback.

BTW thought the team selection was spot on. Molan full Back is a great idea and Tierney, Derek up front also sounds good !!

JohnD
    "How Can you lie there and think of England when you don't even know who's in the team"-- B.Bragg

great result lads, Dundalk are a shadow of the team that played down here earlier in the season. Probably one of the best performances of the season allright, loads of chances created and we could have scored 6 in the scond half! the crowd was 525 which was disappointing but hopefully some of the fairweather fans will come back.. Also thought that it was a good idea to have a raffle for a prize at half time, a good way of generating a few bob from the punters. Roll on the draw for Monday! Also heard that there is a good chance that the game against Shelbourne could be called off as one of the main people involved with shelbourne is seriously ill..

Talking

Great win tonight , should get our season back on track. If only we could play like that every week .We made Dundalk look very average tonight .. That 4-1 flattered them it could have easily been five or six at least with a bit of luck in front of goals... Dundalk don't bother us ..!

The club is in the mire and Ski Magee is a tosser! Now!
    Ya right.. the only tosser around here now is you. By the way ease up on the tablets.

85 Posts
    It was a long trip home to Dundalk after that shambles tonight. Fair play to Limerick - you took your chances and fully deserved the win. Your boy who was straight through towards the end should have made it five. We were down to 10 men for the last 20 minutes or so when our captain went off injured but the damage was done by then. Pity the crowd was so bad. About 1/3 the crowd that was there the last time we were down..
    www.dundalkfc.com

Colin Scanlon - hero!