Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Those slippery slopes I warned of are here

Quote Originally Posted by joeSoap View Post
    In fairness Jebus, I don't thinkthat there's any blame to be passed the way of the FAI on this.
    Surely something could passed the FAI's way Joe, the bad weather equalling poor turnouts? The negative Limerick City image put across by the Dublin media? There has to be something, it's the FAI for Christ's sake

55 Posts

everyone else is to blame

lads get your asses in gear and hget a trust going

Quote Originally Posted by geezer View Post
    We don't know what the story is with the club, how much is needed, what it's needed for, where any trust money will go, etc. Basically the first any of us heard about this was Wednesday night/Yesterday morning, and until we're given answers by the club then how can we get our asses in gear?

Quote JoeSoap:
    Either Danny is a very very good bargainer, or L37 got ripped off in their development work in the jacks...
    Who was the development work contracted to in the Jacks? That is the question, isn't it?

Either Danny is a very very good bargainer, or L37 got ripped off in their development work in the jacks...
    Eh, isn't Darren Hehir involved in the building trade??

In fairness Jebus, I don't thinkthat there's any blame to be passed the way of the FAI on this.
    Would it really be that surprising to hear of the FAI going back on promises??

And what, oh wise geezer would you have this trust do at this moment in time??

Maybe you could come back when you've something useful to add....................

Fans of other clubs I suggest you ignore this. It's just our annual round of Limerick backbiting. There is an issue in the short term. The players are fully aware. It will be resolved in the long term. Lots of Junior folk with agendas will keep firing $hit off in all directions in the hope that some will stick. The attitudes of some people in this town disgust me at times. So much more pleasure is got from failure than success for these tiny, bitter people.

Foot.ie is no place for this garbage anyway but shur ye know that don't ye

1,524 Posts
    It's just our annual round of Limerick backbiting.
    Sorry, that made me smile. No eLOI club has only annual rounds of backbiting, it's an Irish art-form!

Quote Originally Posted by Mr A View Post
    Sorry, that made me smile. No eLOI club has only annual rounds of backbiting, it's an Irish art-form!

Nah, little backbiting is constant but if you want to look back through the annals of Limerick football history every year one item will be pounced upon for everyone to get a major hair up their collective ass about

As they say over on the general forum - FACT

55 Posts

im only trying

to advise yee. A trust isnt much good when the crisis is upon you thats true but at most clubs their will be issues like this every few years and if a trust is available and has got on its feet you would be amazed how it could mushroom and be there to get things back in control by the fans for the fans.
    it could not have been much of a business plan that was presented to the fai only some short months ago. it would make you wonder how thoroughly vetted the new bunch and their ideas were at the time.

Not the only thing that makes you wonder about our SuperDuper League, but I get your point

to advise yee. A trust isnt much good when the crisis is upon you thats true but at most clubs their will be issues like this every few years and if a trust is available and has got on its feet you would be amazed how it could mushroom and be there to get things back in control by the fans for the fans.
    Forgive me but:

Didn't strike home as one of the best pieces of advice ever

Fairplay though, you could yet hear from us in future. The SC is actually really well organised so it's just another step.

it could not have been much of a business plan that was presented to the fai only some short months ago. it would make you wonder how thoroughly vetted the new bunch and their ideas were at the time
    Wouldn't worry too much (not that anyone in Galway is, I'd say ). The problems are nowhere near as big as the assorted $hit-stirrers and liars on here will try to make out

Did anyone contact the club officials to see what the problems are...no use bitching here when no one knows whats going on....

Quote Originally Posted by Rams-07 View Post
    Did anyone contact the club officials to see what the problems are...no use bitching here when no one knows whats going on....
    Precisely

55 Posts

good limerick,sligo and athlone teams competition

is a dream for GUFC fans. It was brill to see cues at the showgrounds in sligo a few weeks back for the Sligo GUFC game. Imagine Lims with a set up like Galway and Athlone have now and good crowds. Its good for everyone. Nobody in GUFC will take pleasure in Lims having issues we had them for long enough the Trust made a huge difference of course they werent the only ones, Nick Leeson and the board done most of the work but trojan workers in the supporters trust saved the day in the interim on many occasions with cheques at tight times and stewarding, game promotion sticking posters everywhere and standing in shopping centres flogging season tickets at christmas time far away from seasons start. Respect grew around the county and within the club and everything is good now bar a few home results but trouble is never far away. Fans love clubs, a lot of players, managers, coaches , come and go directors are mercenaries and go whereever the mula is. Fans are with the club forever. Trusts ensure fans have some realistic input. Listening to the FAI is folly, believing their promises you would want to be mad. Limerick people are your only hope
    Last edited by geezer; 27/07/2007 at 7:34 PM.

It was brill to see cues at the showgrounds in sligo a few weeks back for the Sligo GUFC game
    Yea the pool tables were a bit of a waste without them really

Quote Originally Posted by 4tothefloor View Post
    Yea the pool tables were a bit of a waste without them really

For all the latest League of Ireland news visit www.extratime.ie

Quote Originally Posted by jebus View Post
    well if it happens to us it could very easily happen to other clubs that aren't financially sound, Longford in particular
    its flancare that will keep us afloat

Quote Originally Posted by Sonic View Post
    its flancare that will keep us afloat
    Can't be worth that much in fairness

I mean it's in the middle of nowhere in a county that's in the middle of nowhere

major absence on this site lately of the once vociferous and opinionated 'old keeper' and his mini me 'young L37 fan'...who I note from the fantasy league shares the same surname as old keeper...

Quote Originally Posted by PinBallWizard View Post
    major absence on this site lately of the once vociferous and opinionated 'old keeper' and his mini me 'young L37 fan'...who I note from the fantasy league shares the same surname as old keeper...
    ah!!
    COBH RAMBLERS FIRST DIV CHAMPS 2007

http://irish-abroad.appspot.com/GameDayDetails fantastic website by tetsujin1979

Just thought that I would clarify one point mentioned on here about Kieran Judge earlier. I have been told that he is the Club Licensing officer and has been since the start of the season and the Club secretary is Michael O'Sullivan.

All the best

John
    Last edited by JohnD; 29/07/2007 at 7:30 PM.
    "How Can you lie there and think of England when you don't even know who's in the team"-- B.Bragg

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast