Thread: RTE World Cup Gatecrasher

Foot.ie! RTE World Cup Gatecrasher

World Cup RTE

RTE are sending a film crew over to Germany, sending back reports on the World Cup every couple of days. We’re calling it “Gatecrasher” as it’s someone else’s party and we’re gatecrashing it, travelling around in a van all over Germany for the duration of the tournament. If anyone is heading over to the tournament send us an email to gatecrasher@rte.ie telling us who ya are, and where you’re gonna be (what matches etc ). We’re gonna try and catch up with as many Irish fans over there as possible.

Look forward to hearing from ya

The gatecrasher team

fair play, even rte are on foot.ie!
    Salthill/Knocknacarra Gaa Official Website- http://www.salthillknocknacarragaa.ie/

Quote Originally Posted by GalwayFrancis
    fair play, even rte are on foot.ie!
    Typical bandwagon RTE-ers

Unhappy

You can hardly argue with their reasoning, we'll be watching the WC anyhow. Crying shame we're not all on our way!
    And you ask me to help you??!! Man is evil!!!! Capable of nothing but destruction!

Think this is Ger Gilroys baby...

gatecrasher

your gatecrasher segment is f*cking horrendous, i wouldn't like to be with you planks on an ireland away trip. The most toe curling moment so far was u trying to get a word out of that East Belfast fella over there supporting england, wouldn't even stop to talk to ye so u ran along side him trying to be the friendly fenian.

RTE should print some of the posts here out and hand them to Johnny Giles and Brady. Obviosuly they need help

That guy from East Belfast was an ignorant ****.
    In Trap we trust

164 Posts
    Sorry, but that Gatecrasher thing is appalling. How much of my TV license was wasted on that?

[QUOTE]Sorry, but that Gatecrasher thing is appalling. How much of my TV license was wasted on that?

Quote Originally Posted by Frank Stapleton
    I think we should go over to Germany and give him a smack!
    SIGNATURESCOPE

Quote Originally Posted by bluemovie
    Sorry, but that Gatecrasher thing is appalling. How much of my TV license was wasted on that?
    Doubt its much. Fair play to Gilroy though. Deserves it for putting up with Roddy's ****e on newstalk

He might get the Dunphy gig now that he has left.
    In Trap we trust

This rubbish is beneath Gilroy's obvious talent. Why can't RTE give him something decent to do. I have not seen him get one piece of footage that was even mildly interesting. If he is going for humour then he is failing badly!

Its shockingly bad alright. Don't think Gilroy is "made" for TV to be honest (what was that skin tight orange t-shirt all about for example). I love him on Newstalk but i really dont think his voice is suited for TV. He just annoys me to be honest. And the actual programme itself is unbelievably uninspired. Whats the aim of it all? What the hell are they gatecrashing? I presume FIFA dont let them film inside the ground so why even bother making this if you knew you couldnt actually get some decent footage? rubbish

20 Posts
    Its not as bad as people are saying. I think it could probably do without having an intro that lasts nearly as long as the segment. But its still an interesting concept. I take it all the people criticising it have extensive TV experience? No? I didnt think so. Never mind the begrudgers Ger..........

3,223 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Billsthoughts
    I take it all the people criticising it have extensive TV experience? No? I didn't think so.
    I imagine those people have extensive TV experience from sitting down watching telly every day.

20 Posts
    I doubt watching telly would give you any idea of how a television programme is conceived and produced. All it makes you an expert in is sitting on your arse.

3,223 Posts
    Nobody's criticising the production values. They're criticising the content, as far as I can see. Watching other programmes with content is a very good way of forming a view on this programme's content.

20 Posts
    Well give a few examples of a similar segment which you feel has superior "content"? Or it is it a case of you just knowing what you dont like? Try add some constructive criticism that rises above "its ****e"!

3,223 Posts
    Show me where I said it's ****e?

You said that people had to be experts in TV production to criticise a show. I showed that that was ****e, with reasons. You're now saying that that view is ****e without reasons. Bit hypocritical, no?

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast