Kevin McAleer
    “Jockey Wilson . . . What an athlete.” - Sid Waddell
    www.donegaldarts.com

I've always found Jason Byrne to be about as funny as arse cancer.

Saw him at Kilkenny last year and was embarrassed for him. Dom Irrera hauled him out in front of the audience for nicking his gags (which he'd been blatantly doing ...-on the same bill as the guy ffs!!!) and Irrera made him look like a rank amatuer.

Michael Mee is class, likewise Karl Spain and Tommy Tiernan.
    " I wish to God that someone would be able to block out the voices in my head for five minutes, the voices that scream, over and over again: "Why do they come to me to die?"

Never really seen Jason Byrne do gag's as such - more improv stuff, audience interaction etc.

Quote Originally Posted by Macy
    Never really seen Jason Byrne do gag's as such - more improv stuff, audience interaction etc.

yeah the time i saw him he just messed around on the stage for about half an hour before he went into his material.thought he was very funny.everything seems to be spur of the moment stuff.
    saw tommy tiernan in the opera house before xmas-funny but not as good as his dvds. des bishop was very good when i saw him also.
    Life isn't all beer and football...some of us haven't touched a football in months

Quote Originally Posted by Conor74

Don't like Jason Byrne or Ed Byrne.
    I never really liked the other brother, Gay..........

3,197 Posts
    No Ardal O'Hanlon? (Not just plugging him 'cos I work for his brother! )

Never thought much of Tommy Tiernan - saw the ad for his video and it was just him making silly noises on stage.

Dara O'Briain's certainly up with the best. Enjoy a bit of Brendan Grace as well at times. Probably a legacy of weekends down at my grandparents in Tipp when there was only him and one Carry On film in the video collection!

185 Posts
    I love Tommy Tiernan myself.

Bernard O Shea

Bernard O Shea is the one to look out for in my book. He seems to be very original and does not do the usually "we are irish aren't we mad routine that a lot of the comedians do"

Anybody else seen him yet and agree
    In Trap we trust

342 Posts
    Tommy tiernan is brilliant saw him on the late late show one night and was ****ing meself laughing ,the Cork gags were hillarious.
    I think colin murphy is awful ever see the blizzard of odd. RUBBISH!
    Irish by birth ,Harps by the grace of god.

Yeah I agree Tiernan is brilliant the best Comedian by a long shot as seen by his numerous sell outs at Vicar St. Pretty established at this stage though. Its good to check out the up and coming comedians
    In Trap we trust

Quote Originally Posted by joey B
    Tommy tiernan is brilliant saw him on the late late show one night and was ****ing meself laughing ,the Cork gags were hillarious.
    I think colin murphy is awful ever see the blizzard of odd. RUBBISH!
    The blizzard of odd was fantastic, I'm gutted it's gone now.

karl spain is very good but id say that .

ed burne is the only comedian that puts me in a bad mood ,not in the slightest bit funny

Quote Originally Posted by NeilMcD
    Anybody else seen him yet and agree
    Yes he is very good alright. A great talent!

tiernan is overated,pat shortt is a legend!!!!!!

I was at "Live at Jouglers" in Camden not so long ago and it was THE best comedy i have ever seen. There were medi-units waiting in the wings for people who split their sides laughing. There were five acts on and all got better as they went along and the comparé (spelling?) who introduced each act was brilliant and worth the money alone. What a great night .... except for Bob .... Bob was this guy who was sitting at the front, who made a horrible, horrible mistake of heckling at the start .... lets just say after the second guy it became apparent that he was a marked man .... oh sweet jebus ..... learn the lesson people .... shut you fúckin' mouths at least until the end anyway.

They serve beer in pitchers aswell ..... can get nasty if you get the rounds mixed up, something like ten pitchers for eight people .... hard work

Quote Originally Posted by Tuff Paddy
    I went to school with Des Bishop at St Peter's College in Wexford and I have to say I'm delighted that he is doing so well.
    He's a genuine, decent, hard-working fella and he has a very kind nature and a big brain. He is mad about Ireland, our culture and the language and history. He put many a pupil (and teacher) to shame with his knowledge and I'm just happy that he has come through and achieved so much. Good luck to him, he's not the big brash Yank that people have made him out to be. He helped me a lot when I was feeling down and 12 years on I'll never forget it.
    People in Sligo might not agree with ya there, when they are getting a burger anyway !!

Quote Originally Posted by A face
    People in Sligo might not agree with ya there, when they are getting a burger anyway !!
    What's that meant to mean? Is this the Kian Egan thing?

Quote Originally Posted by A face
    Is this about his minimum wage work experience thing in a certain fast food outlet where we as a nation showed what a bunch of *****s we really are when we've a few scoops in us?

I thought that was in Waaaaaaaaaaterford?

And besides what did he do but hold up a mirror that we don't like to see our reflection in.
    " I wish to God that someone would be able to block out the voices in my head for five minutes, the voices that scream, over and over again: "Why do they come to me to die?"

Jaysus you know the Apres Match Lads are on the way out when they only get one mention on a irish football forum...

Barry Murphy from them is Ireland's best comedian by a long way for me....

Tommy Tiernan isn't at all funny...ye just wanna give a a right good kick in the balls and make em stop talking..Did this this strange fat ugly bloke from Naaavan can't remember his name but he was good....

711 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by onenilgameover
    Jaysus you know the Apres Match Lads are on the way out when they only get one mention on a irish football forum...
    Have to agree. I haven't seen much from them in a long time, though some or all of them are in I, Keano. Are they still on after internationals?

Tommy Tiernan isn't at all funny...ye just wanna give a a right good kick in the balls and make em stop talking..
    Again, agreed completely.

I'd rate O'Brien above the lot of them. Was Ed Byrne ever funny?

Who slagged off Murphy? He's delightfully cynnical and sarcastic.

Delemare's okay on the Panel, but I've seen him do standup thrice, and he's been average at best. Spain is just rubbish.

Page 2 of 8 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast