Page 6 of 7 FirstFirst ... 4567 LastLast

Thread: Games weekend 26th to 29th April

3,239 Posts
    Ah in fairness, it's pretty amateur stuff if there's a game on Friday that doesn't have a kickoff time confirmed.

What time are the Treaty players knocking off work to meet for the trip up for example? What time is the bus company to be hired from? What time is the pre-match meal at?

It impacts all these things. It's ridiculous

186 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by nigel-harps1954 View Post
    It's 7:45pm or 7pm. It's not like its going to be several hours difference. Calm down.
    Come off it Nigel will ya.

Put the shoe on the other foot and Harps were travelling 3/4s the length of the country on a Friday night for a game that the kick-off time wasn't confirmed for yet, I'm not sure you'd have the same attitude towards the situation. Especially considering the floodlight issue has been known for about a month at this stage. Not exactly something that's just popped up this week out of nowhere.

819 Posts
    Harps were due to get delivery of bulbs last Friday, if they did, I'm assuming they are working on getting them fitted to have a better KO time but yes, some sort of update should be issued by now.
    BetweenTheStripes.net - Home of Between the Stripes LOI podcast.

57 Posts
    It's 7:45pm or 7pm. It's not like its going to be several hours difference. Calm down.
    Considering Harps do not have tickets online at present, are they sure the game is even going ahead?

878 Posts
    Are we in to the realms of awarding the result, not being able ensure fulfillment of the fixture or seek a timely reversal? Were du an asterick with judicial reviews if Harps or Treaty needed the points to secure a play-off in October...

2,347 Posts
    I won't stand for all this anti-Harps sentiment and you all should be docked points.

The game is set for 7:45 on Friday. Its simple enough.

57 Posts
    Finn Harps confirm 7:45PM kick-off, all in good notice.

878 Posts
    I won't stand for all this anti-Harps sentiment and you all should be docked points.

Confirmed after the mere mention of the dreaded asterick and judicial review!!

2,347 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Shearer View Post
    Finn Harps confirm 7:45PM kick-off, all in good notice.
    Looking forward to seeing the relieved thousands of Limerick supporters traveling up now.

57 Posts
    Looking forward to seeing the relieved thousands of Limerick supporters traveling up now.
    More concerned about players taking time off work and knowing when the match would be more than anything. At least when a Harps player was bawling to the media recently about how hard his life is he knew when the games were on.

Harps fans are well able to **** and moan about anything and everything, including banging on about the facilities of an intermediate club recently despite the game taking place nearly a year ago.

There will be little to no fans there, a good few will travel to the women's game on Saturday instead. You might enter that league in time too.

2,347 Posts
    You'd swear they were traveling to the North Pole ffs..

3,239 Posts
    Ah in fairness Nigel, you're on to a loser on this one.

If Harps only confirmed kick-off time today, that's amateur stuff. No two ways about it.

Stop digging and move on like

878 Posts
    New bulbs in place but touch a tempermental old system and floodlight failure is very possible*, Id still have gone for a 7pm ko.

Floodlights in Oriel went out during the meeting of the giants of Irish football in the 1st Division, not long after some work had been done. A former player and coach was a spark and was sent in to sort the problem in an emergency, the solution was to wedge something under the trip switch to stop it from tripping so a certain fan and unsung hero pinched the groundsman's long handled spade for repurposing to get the game finished!
    Last edited by Nesta99; 01/05/2024 at 3:10 PM.

878 Posts
    You'd swear they were traveling to the North Pole ffs..
    Im going to quote this the next time Harps are scheduled to be away from home twice in one week when its not Derry or Sligo involved and the inevitable moan about it!

2,347 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Nesta99 View Post
    Im going to quote this the next time Harps are scheduled to be away from home twice in one week when its not Derry or Sligo involved and the inevitable moan about it!
    I wouldn't have it any other way.

349 Posts
    John Caulfield banned for 3 extra games for not adhering to the one match ban at Sligo,I remember and laugh at Ollie during his frequent touch line bans at Harps standing up in the video gantry roaring at anything that moved,not exactly adhering!!!!!
    Irish by birth ,Harps by the grace of god.

Quote Originally Posted by Shearer View Post
    More concerned about players taking time off work and knowing when the match would be more than anything. At least when a Harps player was bawling to the media recently about how hard his life is he knew when the games were on.

Harps fans are well able to **** and moan about anything and everything, including banging on about the facilities of an intermediate club recently despite the game taking place nearly a year ago.

There will be little to no fans there, a good few will travel to the women's game on Saturday instead. You might enter that league in time too.
    Think we were more concerned with our safety at that intermediate ground. A few of us were attacked on the way out

We should have a senior woman's team in a couple of years. Our underage teams are going really well you'll be delighted to know

If you need any other updates on the Harps feel free to ask or follow our social media pages?

878 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by joey B View Post
    John Caulfield banned for 3 extra games for not adhering to the one match ban at Sligo,I remember and laugh at Ollie during his frequent touch line bans at Harps standing up in the video gantry roaring at anything that moved,not exactly adhering!!!!!
    He did worse and got less for kicking off the melee in Waterford that landed him on his ars€.

I always laughed at how Ollie took these things in his stride. Its probably not that unusual but one of the most LoI things I ever saw (saying something) was Martin Murray getting sent off as manager of Dundalk in Limerick*, not a moment of protest as he left the bench, opened a gate to let himself out on to the terrace and continued coaching - I presume you must be 'x' metres away from the technical area if red carded as the ref took exception to his continued coaching, stopped the game and proceeded out through the gate to pace out the distance outside the perimeter wall of the pitch Murray was to stand. Aside from Murray being damn all distance from where he was carded and the sight of a ref setting a distance on a terrace (pity there was no spray those days) Murray then had to stand in amongst the coaching excellece of the travelling fans...not sure he coached much there after!!

*cant recall if it was Rathbane or Jackman but you could look out over the ground while pishing in to fascia guttering in the toilets, and run the gauntlet to the bus with little scuts firing stones at ye? I think it was Rathbane!?
    Last edited by Nesta99; 01/05/2024 at 6:27 PM.

330 Posts

Lads, don’t be ****ing Nigel off. Remember, he updates the beloved attendance excel!

23. Thanks From:

Haven’t been to Richmond in about 15yrs but getting there tomorrow - appreciate suggestions on good places to park? Thx
    Drogheda United in this together

Page 6 of 7 FirstFirst ... 4567 LastLast