Page 4 of 6 FirstFirst ... 23456 LastLast

Thread: Games weekend Friday 19th to Monday 22nd April

38 Posts
    Some interesting matches there tonight.

I think Shels vs Rovers hinges on the fitness of Mark Coyle for Shels. They seem to be a very different team without him. If he's missing I would expect an easy win for Rovers.

Derry vs Pat's looks like an important match for 2 teams who will want a win to kick start their season. So naturally enough it'll probably end with a bore draw

Sligo and Galway could go either way. Galway will be happy enough to sit back and try to hit on the counter.

It's times like this where I don't really have a skin in the game where I do wish there was a "redzone" option for LOI tv. No matter how impractical it would be for soccer viewing

217 Posts
    Shels v Rovers is live on VM Two.

410 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by A N Mouse View Post
    Think stute are still in with a shout of the play-offs, though it's out of their hands after today. Imagine KD has some unfinished business there next season one way or other. Though him and PML, whatever has occured with him departing, definitely deserve a shot.

But I think it would be unfair on either of them to come in now. Right now what's needed is someone that's going to get this team performing, with anything less than 2nd place finish being failure. I've no idea who that someone is.

Either of those 2 deserve to come in a with a clean slate and less expectation. I see another '3 year project' in the future.
    Derry needs a manager with some sort of credible track record. Higgins didn't really have one of his own, and it's not working out. Kevin Deery hasn't done anything at a higher level than the Irish League 2nd tier (apologies if he has ad I've missed it). Deery could very easily turn out to be just another Higgins for Derry, and waste another 3 years for the club. With the money Derry are apparently spending they need a manager who knows how to actually win.

Isn't Klopp free after May ?

409 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by EatYerGreens View Post
    Derry needs a manager with some sort of credible track record. Higgins didn't really have one of his own, and it's not working out. Kevin Deery hasn't done anything at a higher level than the Irish League 2nd tier (apologies if he has ad I've missed it). Deery could very easily turn out to be just another Higgins for Derry, and waste another 3 years for the club. With the money Derry are apparently spending they need a manager who knows how to actually win.

Still think it will be Kenny. Higgins seems to have 9 lives and his last one might line up with Kenny realizing nobody else wants him.

141 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ontheotherhand View Post
    No. Not even remotely. If they finish top 3 it's a huge achievement.
    Fair enough, was just a curiosity

222 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ontheotherhand View Post
    Still think it will be Kenny. Higgins seems to have 9 lives and his last one might line up with Kenny realizing nobody else wants him.
    That would be a surprise, but depends on whether Kenny can get a job abroad or not.

Miserable night on and off pitch on Friday.
    Two identical goals to concede, and the third all started from Kelly being put under pressure and sprinting towards his own goal. Rotten, rotten defending. We've the third worst in the league, we'd the best last year.
    If we had been defending like we did last season, combined with our increased goalscoring, we'd be doing a lot better.
    Off the pitch, and again, a few dozen children from (presumably) the local area have shafted us. Whilst the club aren't technically responsible for whatever goes on outside the ground, they simply need to make it their business to be responsible. It'll cost money, but there's no option at this point. Needs to be sorted.

We'll probably get a draw tonight, as if we really put our mind to not conceding, we can achieve it. Higgins can't afford a loss.

101 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by EatYerGreens View Post

I don't disagree. I was answering the question about KD, he had/has more of track record than RH, but yeah not what we need right now.

Who are the candidates with a credible track record? Who are the candidates?

Just feel this whole thing is going to end miserably.

106 Posts
    We've played the better football thus far but as is often the case thus season don't look threatening at all, meanwhile Derry scored from the first time they got the ball into the box and look the more dangerous any time they do.

538 Posts
    From staying over in Derry over the years I know Derry is right beside Creggan which always seems to have lot of marches going on so yeah pity about it!

41 Posts
    Was Derry's 2nd goal offside. There's a player on the line but Hoban is behind the keeper?
    Horrible to concede the 3rd after getting one back.

103 Posts
    Decent game in Tolka , Rovers sans Grace, Poom, Byrne, Burke , Farrugia ,McEneff , O’Neiil & Hoare now in second with a game in hand …. Duff has done a tremendous job but unfortunately he’s becoming even more painful to watch

231 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by kksaints View Post
    Was Derry's 2nd goal offside. There's a player on the line but Hoban is behind the keeper?
    Horrible to concede the 3rd after getting one back.
    I think it was offside. The two lads commentating on LOI tv said it couldn’t be because there was a man on the line. Oh dear.

Frustrating night. We were quite good in possession, until we got to the final third. Never caused them enough problems. Think the key was Derry getting in front. We’d started better, but that just let them sit in.
    Out for a spell, got neglected, lay on the bench unselected.

41 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by TonyD View Post
    I think it was offside. The two lads commentating on LOI tv said it couldn’t be because there was a man on the line. Oh dear.

Frustrating night. We were quite good in possession, until we got to the final third. Never caused them enough problems. Think the key was Derry getting in front. We’d started better, but that just let them sit in.
    Whatever about the commentators I hope the refereeing team didn't follow the same train of thought. That 3rd goal was a killer after getting one back, real lack of cutting edge because we're too ponderous in attack.

141 Posts
    duff with some harsh words in the post match interview for shane farrell

222 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by TonyD View Post
    We wondered at the time. Watched it back there, it's tight. Maybe Hoban is just about in line with Rogers, and guess that's what the lineman thought, could easily be given the other way though.

Honestly don't know how we went into HT a goal up. Pat's were all over us, and had a notable couple of chances identical to the first two weeks conceded on Friday night. We had one real chance and took it.
    Fair play to the management, a noticeable improvement in the second half.
    Connolly had a brilliant dummy to get away the shot for the second goal, and the squad really seemed to enjoy it. Relief maybe.
    Great to come back after the Pat's goal, the third goal killed the game.
    Job done, a much needed boost for the team and Higgins.

A note on off the pitch. A good few police about the ground beforehand, driving around and at the entrances. Young fellas were getting searched, and someone was arrested pre-match, apparently. You don't ever see that really. More steward presence inside the ground too. Happy with that.
    Last edited by brendy_éire; 22/04/2024 at 9:30 PM.

222 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Jd2793 View Post
    Ooph. It's quite personal. You'd imagine he'll be out of there come the summer.

106 Posts
    Really disappointing from us. In general play it was as well as we've performed all season, particularly in the first half, but that's not much use when you struggle to create anything and give up soft goals whenever you have to defend. Have been a fan of Daly but he's not long for the job if results don't start turning quickly, no matter how much he says there's been a lot of bad luck.

226 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Nesta99 View Post
    That Derry flare incident is just mad, how a kid could run on and pick up the flare and run off with it?? Was it home or away fans that threw it in the fist place? Away fans deliberately threw flares on to the artificial surface in Oriel in the past knowing that it would do significant damage - plastic burns. It resulted in sections of the pitch needing to be relaid due to burning through the surface. The lesson was basically to have a number of fire marshals at the away section with buckets of sand ready to react. The flare was sitting on the pitch in Derry forfar too long with little apparent preperation to respond. It looked bad on so many levels, the FAI are clamping down, Shels have set something of a precedence in how such incidents will be dealt with by them and Derry will be under scrutiny (or away fans if they were the culprits).

What happened after the game, missiles being thrown in to the Rovers fans is absolute scumbaggery of the highest order!! I thought that the element of lawless, ferral scum that attacked away fans and busses around the Brandywell had been dealt with. was on one of those nusses that had windows put in prior to the journey home and it resulted in bus companies refusing to travel to the Brandywell as a no go area. I will forever be grateful to the genuine Derry City FC fans that actually chased off these cretins that were attacking Dundalk fans and sheltered Dundalk fans until they dispersed. Obviously these problem people were just kept at arms length and were there to exploit an oversight in the security arrangments. While it in no way excuses what happened, if the flare was thrown from the away section and was obviously causing serious damage to the pitch, was this some sort of reaction to that possibly or would it have happened anyway in eoples opinion?
    There's a report on the incidents at the match here:
    https://www.derrynow.com/news/derry-...ress-this.html

And it seems they carried on after the match, having a go at the police:
    https://www.belfastlive.co.uk/news/n...order-29030652

145 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Jd2793 View Post
    Not harsh at all when he unprofessionally went out his way to get sent off tonight on top of not putting in any good performances or shifts since about last summer. I'm glad someone finally had the balls around Tolka to burst the "he's one of our own" bubble and even better it's Duff himself

Duff had tough words for Boyd after his wreckless red against Waterford after coming off the bench on the opening night but they were less harsh you would suspect because Boyd is a hard worker which Farrell isn't
    The Leinster Senior League needs a strong Bohemians

330 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Calcio Jack View Post
    Decent game in Tolka , Rovers sans Grace, Poom, Byrne, Burke , Farrugia ,McEneff , O’Neiil & Hoare now in second with a game in hand …. Duff has done a tremendous job but unfortunately he’s becoming even more painful to watch
    Burke out again? Also, what is going on with Byrne?

Page 4 of 6 FirstFirst ... 23456 LastLast