Smile Munster Slang

Cork Slang

Yoke
    [noun] tablet of ecstasy.
    "Here feen, any yokes around?": Do you have ecstasy tablets?

Buzz
    [verb] to experience the effects of ecstasy.
    "I was buzzin' out me skull": I was very affected by the ecstasy tablets I had taken. Also used as a noun. "Yer wan's wreckin me buzz": That girl is making it difficult for me to enjoy the effects of the ecstasy I took.
    [noun 2] general mental state.
    "What's yer man's buzz?": What is the reasoning behind that man's behaviour?

Draw
    [noun] hashish or cannabis resin.

Nodge
    [noun] quantity of cannabis put in a joint to get adequately stoned.
    "D.S., drop your nodges": The police are coming; throw away the quantities of cannabis that are in your pockets.

Law
    [noun] member(s) of the Garda Síochána.
    "Law, be wide": There are gardaí in the area, refrain from suspicious or illegal activity.

Twin bulb
    [noun] a garda vehicle.
    "I was batin' da head off of him, he was lucky the twin bulb showed up boy, I tell ya": I was beating him senseless, it was fortunate for him that a garda vehicle arrived on the scene, I assure you.

Sketch
    [imperative] Stop what you are doing.
    "Sketch ba, here's yer Mam": Extinguish your cigarette, your mother is approaching.

Keep sketch
    [verb] to act as look-out.
    "Keep sketch for the law": Keep an eye out for the police.

Legger
    [verb] to run away.
    Also used as a noun. "I dun a legger": I ran away.

Bate on for the feara
    [verb] To run for fear of death (metaphoric).
    "I lamped the law so I bate on for the feara": I saw the gardaí so I made myself scarce.

Maad
    [adjective] very enjoyable.
    "Maad choons bah": The music is very enjoyable.

Daycent
    [adjective] very pleasing.
    "Dass some daycent record bah": That record is very good (probably Ball & Chain).

Howl
    [adjective] a great time or exciting experience.
    "The Dogs is some howl": An evening at the greyhound racetrack is an enjoyable experience.

Whooly
    [adjective] an enjoyable, raucous, party-like experience.
    "My free gaff was some whooly": The gathering I held while my family or housemates were absent was very enjoyable.

------------------------------------------------------------

Waterford Lingo
    [if you would like to emulate the Waterford accent, you must at least, speak out of the corner of your mouth]

A drink for my girlfriend = ana ritz for de lack

I wasn't = I wahen't

I really do not know = I happent a clue buoy

Oh brilliant = an well buoy

Waterford United FC = De blues

A proper breakfast = A few blaas buoy

I know my friend = I nose buoy I nose

He's wasn't in when I called = He wahen't dere when I went down

Can I have ??? please = Giv us wan eh dem tings dere

He's a man from Waterford = Ah he's a Deise buoy buoy

I'm unemployed at the moment I'm afraid = Nah I'm on de doell.

Could you stop the racket please = Giv over or I'll do ye

That was a steep hill wasn't it = Jesus Christ buoy, twas like Bunkers

She's a promiscuous young lady = Jesus buoy I'd say less men went down on de Titanic

I'm really running short of cash = Nah I happent got de spons (spons is short for spondulicks)

I was really drunk = Jesus buoy I was in the horrors.

I gave him a really hard punch = I pucked de hed off 'im

She could be a prostitute = She's like wan eh dem wans down de [MOD EDIT: Word removed due to obnoxious, ridiculous legal threat received from total asshat. Get a life, asshat.]

Don't say another thing on the matter = Say no more buoy say no more (as you tip your nose with your finger)

I really like potatoes = I loves de ould spuds

He has curly hair = He have a big cabbage hed on 'im
    Last edited by dahamsta; 12/04/2011 at 3:24 PM.

pete that deeeeeeaaceeeent boy pure deeeeeeeaaaacent
    nice one boss
    life is random

Re: Munster Slang

Originally posted by pete
    Keep sketch
    A phrase I haven't heard since I was in school!