Thread: Congratulations Cork City

International Prospect Ezeikial's Avatar
    663 Posts

Congratulations Cork City

Well done Cork
    Last edited by Ezeikial; 17/10/2017 at 9:17 PM.

999 Posts
    Well done Cork.

It's better if the team that wins the league is the team that is playing the best football at the end of the season rather than falling over the line. That's not the case here but hey, 3 points is 3 points any time in the season.

61 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Ezeikial View Post
    Well done Cork
    Yes congratulations Cork, two 0-0 draws to win the title, worthy champions :P

All joking aside, fair play lads and enjoy the spoils of victory. Looking forward to the challenge you will no doubt pose in the cup final and the league next season.
    Mon the Town!

230 Posts
    Bit of an underwhelming finish reallly, given the start they had. No question that they deserve it though. As they say the table doesn't lie. I've been lucky enough to experience the feeling as a supporter on a few occasions, and it's a great feeling. Enjoy it lads, and take Friday off as a bonus ��
    Out for a spell, got neglected, lay on the bench unselected.

125 Posts
    Well done Cork. Best team over the course of the year.
    Don't get used to it

1,522 Posts
    Well done Cork City. Great to see what has been achieved there by FORAS etc. Great to see a fan owned club win rather than some rich lad's plaything.

76 Posts
    It can sometimes be a tough watch when Cork City are on the box. Its quite often rudimentary, its route one, aimless punts etc. But when the chips were down, they were too good for Dundalk across most matches this year, and that's been the biggest difference, apart from that lad who went to Preston, cant think of his name right now .They are not a purist's idea of an attractive football team, but they are Champions regardless and, they deserve congratulations, especially after coming so close being runners up twice in a row.

48 Posts
    Congratulations Cork, finally got over the line.

Also delighted that Derry City have qualified for Europe again after what has been a crazy season playing every away from home and the loss of our captain Ryan.

140 Posts
    Congrats City, well deserved - even if us United fans were hoping ye’d wait until Friday to do it.
    Edit- and congrats to Derry as well after what was a horrific season for them given the loss of Ryan
    Last edited by WoodquayBoy; 17/10/2017 at 10:39 PM.

2,284 Posts
    The manner in which Cork eventually stumbled over the line was somewhat anticlimactic, but they had still done the necessary work over the course of the entire season to merit their achievement and that's what matters, so fair play. Congratulations are in order.

19. Thanks From:

Well done Cork. Fantastic achievement. Enjoy the celebrations.

21. Thanks From:

326 Posts
    Certainly a season of two halves. One with Seani and the other without. Better late than never I suppose.

23. Thanks From:

Shed End.. **** off with your joe delaney stand
    159 Posts
    Most random thing tonight. Alf Stewart from home and away sending his congratulations
    https://twitter.com/dyjaho/status/920415988344152065

25. Thanks From:

772 Posts
    I was working in Belgium during the last days of the Tom Coughlan era - I remember him going on Local radio on a cold February morning in 2010 and after 20 mins of incoherable ranting and raving , Cllr. Johnathan O'Brien ( Now TD ) came on after and called him a lunatic - that day was the bottom of the mountain - tonight we reached the summit. Without the people who took the club on, supporters, nothing would have followed.

I think we will remember the first 2/3rds of the season - 22 games - 21 wins, 1 draw - phenomenal. The stick the team is getting on social media will drive them on to the double. Dundalk hold no fears based on the game a few weeks back and it will be interesting to see what the future holds after that.

A word for the outgoing champions - in my opinion the best team this country has produced and it took a superhuman effort over that first 22 games to wrangle the title from them - even if we even took 2 points less over the first 22 games it probably wouldn't have been enough - huge admiration for them. Roll on the 5th of Nov.
    Last edited by Real ale Madrid; 18/10/2017 at 12:13 AM.

27. Thanks From:

Well done Cork - best team over the season won it.

29. Thanks From:

637 Posts
    I think your right the lack of credit that the team excluding Maguire are getting is bound to be a motivation for next year. I'd settle for a league win with 1 off our left backs arse in the last minute next year and to hell with the social media stick 😀 congrats. Roll on next season.

31. Thanks From:

602 Posts
    Well done to everyone involved in the club - the players, the manager and most of all, the fans who took over the club at its lowest ebb and took it to its greatest heights. As they say would here in North America, when life gave the fans lemons, they turned it into lemonade. Now we need to find another talented young striker cast aside by the English system so we can make a good go at emulating Dundalk.

33. Thanks From:

Well done to Cork. You can't beat the feeling of watching your team win the title. The best team always wins the league and even though it's been a stuttering finish you can't argue. The phenomenal first two series of games won the title and like all good champions you did enough over the last series to seal it. Now is the time for the fans to enjoy the glory and celebrate. You can worry about next season in a few weeks.

35. Thanks From:

86 Posts
    Thanks all. It's nice to put it to bed, but stuttering at the end and a 0-0 draw to win it does make it a little bit anticlimactic. This is probably due to the fact that in our heads it was probably won weeks ago. A loss last night and I would have got the serious jitters.

On form, we'll rightly be underdogs for the final, but it's anyone's game on the day. My money is on another 0-0
    [/B][I]P.Esc.

37. Thanks From:

535 Posts
    congrats to cork city on finally winning the league! some achievement considering they shared the same division with us for two years seven years ago!

39. Thanks From: