Thread: Cork away

Cork away

Chances aren't great for this one. It will be interesting to see what happens with the LB situation.

Maybe go for a 3-5-1 again.

Clarke

Whithead
    O'Connor
    Williams

Clarke
    O'Connor
    Hery
    Lynch
    Turner

Tosi
    Ogbene

International Prospect NeverFeltBetter's Avatar
    583 Posts
    Looking forward to seeing Ogbene against the best team in the league, we'll see what he's made of when it's not just headless Bohs or Bray defenders he's up against. But not optimistic overall.
    Author of Never Felt Better (History, Film Reviews).

Quote Originally Posted by Jofspring View Post
    Chances aren't great for this one. It will be interesting to see what happens with the LB situation.

Maybe go for a 3-5-1 again.
    I'm as pessimistic as the next man but we should at least start with eleven imo.

On the left wing back situation, who in the squad is fit, left legged with a bit of pace and a bit of physicality....

44 Posts
    Live audio analysis from Noel and myself available at http://mixlr.com/limerick-soccer-live/, for those not travelling, or without 'the channels'

Once the second goal went in only one winner third goal killed us altogether as expected the teams are miles apart that cork team is quality all over the field, ogbene as expected disappeared in the second half poor touch loses the ball too easy he would not get in that cork starting 11 that s for sure , we need to make some signings and fast very little to bring off the bench and you can see if we start picking up any more injuries were ****ed

Pity to see a great night spoiled by that carry on after the final whistle. Looked very unsavoury. Wasn't helped by slip shod policing but won't help us attract more away support that's for sure. Also is a police escort out of cork the norm for away buses?

46 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by LFC Blue View Post
    Pity to see a great night spoiled by that carry on after the final whistle. Looked very unsavoury. Wasn't helped by slip shod policing but won't help us attract more away support that's for sure. Also is a police escort out of cork the norm for away buses?
    What happened?

Heavy handed approach by stewards and guards last night. I think they were shown Green Street before the game as to what to expect from Limerick fans. Shocking way to treat families, whatever about the young lads messing. Corralled for ages after the game. One guard told a mother and her two kids to ' sit in your feffin seat till we tell you to leave'. My daughter and I were told by another garda to F Off back to Limerick as quick as you can. Been to most grounds and never been treated so badly.
    They even gave our bus a garda moterbike escort as far as the tunnel. Total over reaction.
    As far as the incident I think two of our lads had a bit of argy bargy between themselves. I think been kept back raised everyone's tension.

Garda Reservists. You get what you pay for...

Antagonistic, power crazed, clowns for the most part.

Totally inadequate security arrangements, as acknowledged by the head of security after the match when I was talking to him. Not his fault either, private company, he's only going to put on the staff he's being paid for.

They were simply caught out by the numbers that travelled.

Also "The Best Ground In The Country" remains third world for away fans. Three well worn portaloos for 500 odd men women and children, loose masonry and bits of railing strewn about the place.

On the incident at full time a man head-butted a Limerick fan on the stairwell. I wouldn't expect to see him in the Markets Field again, if the shoe was on the other foot of this particular incident the squealing Josephine's would be calling for public hangings.

The half arced policing effort definitely contributed to that incident afterwards. Either do it right with a bit of authority or don't do it atall. People being allowed to mill around the aisles and exits is hardly best practice when keeping back a crowd afterwards. Still doesn't excuse the mob mentality when the bit of a skirmish started though. As for the police escort apparently the Gardai were acting on intelligence that the buses were to targeted. Hard to see though as I thought it a real family friendly atmosphere down there.

Remember how poor the seating was when people you know start telling you how good turners is. Remember how cramed and stuck u are in your ryanair cramped seat. Remember the filth and smell of urine at the back of the "stand"
    The three portaloos and building rubble left strewn around since the 90s.
    Any development at the MF must not use turners as an example

44 Posts
    Running the rule over Neil McDonald's ill-advised system, and the one argument in its favour, here: https://twitter.com/alanob2112/status/876036621589676032

And, you can listen back to Limerick Soccer Live's live audio analysis of the game here: http://mixlr.com/limerick-soccer-liv...-fc-jun-17-pd/

We actually had a bigger audience than that which tuned in for Bray, which I was shocked at. I guess there are quite a few without eirSport after all...
    Last edited by AlanOB; 17/06/2017 at 12:04 PM.

Amazing lack of squealing Josephine's on this given what happened at full time last night.

You can't say flip in the Markets Field without being smothered in tear stained hankies.

27 Posts
    Amazing lack of squealing Josephine's on this given what happened at full time last night.

You can't say flip in the Markets Field without being smothered in tear stained hankies.
    Its called shame and embarrassment.Bad enough on the pitch but off it too?

"Squealing Josephine's" ???? I think people named Josephine everywhere deserve an apology !!

I wasn't at the game last night but I was talking to 3 different people today that were at the game and they said that the behaviour of some of our fans was disgraceful. I wasn't surprised to hear it tbh. I was at the away game v Sligo and I saw more of the same at that game. A small few of our supporters verbally abused one of the Sligo subs when he was warming up at half time, some of the things said to him were terrible and cannot be defended. Also, towards the end of the Sligo game one of our so called supporters (the same guy has appeared in photos on social media with officals from the club) took a piece of a sign and threw it onto the pitch and a steward had to run out and remove it. The stewards should have pointed him out to the Gardai and he should have been removed from the ground. There were a number of Limerick families at the Sligo game in front of me and they were disgusted also. Think its time for the Chairman to step in and sort it out. Also heard today that a pub close to the Markets field provided 2 slabs of beer to the Limerick travelling supporters for a recent away game, could have been last night but not sure. Think he needs to hand out 2 slabs of "cop on" next time...

Some lads' behavior Gerrard is nothing short of embarrassing alright, some of them far from young fellas and have no excuse for being such immature idiots.
    The highlighted incident lastnight will no doubt be dealt with which is completely appropriate​ and I hope the fella is ok.
    On another serious note, the fella who lit a flare under the huge flag (which covered probably 300 people at least including small kids) is a complete clown, put a lot of people in danger with nowhere to go. This is the type of thing that could happen again. Blue Army lads, ye are doing a great job in creating atmosphere and getting to games, but please make sure some of these clowns understand some basic risks and responsibility.
    Apart from that and losing 4-1, it was still a great night!

420 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by fieldofmarkets View Post
    Some lads' behavior Gerrard is nothing short of embarrassing alright, some of them far from young fellas and have no excuse for being such immature idiots.
    The highlighted incident lastnight will no doubt be dealt with which is completely appropriate​ and I hope the fella is ok.
    On another serious note, the fella who lit a flare under the huge flag (which covered probably 300 people at least including small kids) is a complete clown, put a lot of people in danger with nowhere to go. This is the type of thing that could happen again. Blue Army lads, ye are doing a great job in creating atmosphere and getting to games, but please make sure some of these clowns understand some basic risks and responsibility.
    Apart from that and losing 4-1, it was still a great night!
    I went absolutely mental after the flare was lit under that flag and anyone around it should have been able to see tha. A few incidents creeping in recently that went a bit beyond just drunken rowdyness that we are working to sort out.

But to be very clear it was one of the Blue Army that was the victim of an assault lastnight so anyone trying to blame us for that needs to get a grip.

Fair play on the flare etc.

Don't think anyone is blaming the blue army lads on the other thing in fairness.

420 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by fieldofmarkets View Post
    Fair play on the flare etc.

Don't think anyone is blaming the blue army lads on the other thing in fairness.
    Just wanted that to be clear man cos yes a lot of our lads got involved but that was after one of us was the victim of an assault so I don't think we are responsible for that.

I hope that clown who lit the flare under the flag is expelled from the Blue Army and the Markets Field!