3,196 Posts
    Ten goals separating four teams at the bottom

342 Posts
    32 yellows and 1 red in 6 premier division games tonight, is that a lot or is it just me????

229 Posts
    Bray are pretty crappy other than Connolly. Bohs battled and deserved the win
    .Dinny 's first goal was a peach.

21 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by joey B View Post
    32 yellows and 1 red in 6 premier division games tonight, is that a lot or is it just me????
    Harps should have had a few more cards if not a few red , shower of kickers, shocking stuff can't play football ,horrible to watch ,and of course Ollie got his standard walking orders to the stand .

140 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by thomas72 View Post
    Brendan Clarke sent off for Limerick after 20mins for deliberate hand ball outside the box def red card it absolutely ruined the game limerick were well on top up until that point.
    Ended up given away a stupid stupid pen.
    Limerick ref doesn't send off Derry keeper for deliberate handball against us 2 weeks ago; Limerick keeper gets sent off for same offence. Gotta love this league

342 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Guitd View Post
    Harps should have had a few more cards if not a few red , shower of kickers, shocking stuff can't play football ,horrible to watch ,and of course Ollie got his standard walking orders to the stand .
    Yawn! You won enjoy it and give it a rest, lord Almighty!

115 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by joey B View Post
    Yawn! You won enjoy it and give it a rest, lord Almighty!
    To be honest, he's right. Damien McNulty is a thug and not even related to a footballer, he chopped down Kevin Devaney on 3-4 occasions when the ball was nowhere near him and he should've seen red and he wasn't the only one at it either. The referee, who was very poor, encouraged Harps behaviour when he didn't start clamping down, booking them early on. Harps are an extremely cynical side, constantly time wasting, kicking the ball away, standing in front of frees, putting ten men behind the ball and basically looking for anyway possible to antagonise the opposition. It made the win so much more enjoyable. It's not hard to see why they're so undisciplined/dirty when they have Horgan and Hegarty on the line.

I felt Finn Harps deserved a draw on the balance of play, but we're obviously delighted at taking the three points. It was a very poor showing from us tonight, so it doesn't say much for Finn Harps, who look to be in serious trouble. Quality wise, they're the worst side to come to Terryland this year.
    roddy collins you're a flanker you're a flanker!

194 Posts
    Yep difficult to reply from this poor phone.
    What I was attempting to say was keep an eye out for Sean Gannon's goal on soccer republic.
    Hard to judge from last night's game where we are in terms of a comeback with the early sending off of Clarke
    Dundalk guilty of overplaying and passing.
    Delighted with that win though.

3,196 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Guitd View Post
    Piffle. Harps are the Cork City of the north, don't you know

870 Posts
    Nooo Stu its everyone else in the league that are a shower of kickers that dont play ball not Cork...UCD out of the Premier for a wee bit and you go and forget the rules already as set out by CityRebel- any free given against Cork is a dive and anyone who fouls a Cork player deserves a straight red and a 10 match ban. As for the wicked ways of Dublin folk especially those journo types...its all a conspiracy against the rebels. Galway really are finding their feet now, fans and all with the how dare those Harps lads stand in the way and spoil the game for the purist hosts.

It is not good that Horgan is getting himself sent to the stands and banned, wouldnt it be a 3 match ban as its the second time? He isnt the calmist of individuals on the touchline even if he says that Harps are the worst team in the history of football and could end up with minus points. If the lads that went off injured are out for any length Harps will struggle but Horgan does know how battle it out when in the deep stuff. Hego is no mug either and will deputise grand with Horgan in the stands.

The 3 goals in 4 minutes in Turners Cross I will want to see Monday night - Pete Mahon must be livid. Dundalk werent all that good in Limerick it seems and 0-3 may not have been much of a reflection on the Dundalk performance. Big game and test on Tuesday night now. Bray result was unexpected. Rovers less so as Derry are getting over their slump. Its a bit couple of steps forward then one back for Shamrock Rovers at the moment. Pats looked to be pulling away from the dropzone but its is that close throughout (bar Cork of course) in terms of inconsistancy its impossible to call any games. Pats can stay ropey please until Friday week. Beat Derry and Pats look for both Rovers to be in form the next couple of weeks too - after the visit of Corkto Oriel there could be 4 points in it and then a couple of Derby games with Cork's confidence battered for the visit of their fierce Munster rivals...........not a hope!!! lol

Quote Originally Posted by WoodquayBoy View Post
    Limerick ref doesn't send off Derry keeper for deliberate handball against us 2 weeks ago; Limerick keeper gets sent off for same offence. Gotta love this league
    Nah last night was 100% a red as the ball was clearly heading over Clarkes head towards to back of the net and none of the defenders were going to get back and stop t. The Derry one as mentioned before had three defenders behind the keeper, one of which should easily have cleared it and no guarantee the shot was even on target. It definitely wasn't a like for like.

We weren't on top before he sending off but we were more than holding our own with Ogbene and Clarke causing trouble with their pace. When the red came and then the silly penalty we hadn't a chance.

140 Posts
    There was no Derry defender between ball and goal, one was level at best with Doherty. Anyway, old news at this stage, just raising it as an example of refereeing standards. But sure we are all well aware of them!
    It may be coincidence, but Hennessy didn't ref a game last week after that Derry incident; and he didn't even get to run the sideline at a game last night. He is back for Sligo v Cork on Monday, maybe a 2game absence is normal, or maybe he was dropped because of his performance in EDP
    Last edited by WoodquayBoy; 20/05/2017 at 11:03 AM.

420 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Jofspring View Post
    Nah last night was 100% a red as the ball was clearly heading over Clarkes head towards to back of the net and none of the defenders were going to get back and stop t. The Derry one as mentioned before had three defenders behind the keeper, one of which should easily have cleared it and no guarantee the shot was even on target. It definitely wasn't a like for like.

We weren't on top before he sending off but we were more than holding our own with Ogbene and Clarke causing trouble with their pace. When the red came and then the silly penalty we hadn't a chance.
    Wasn't Paul O'Conor right there or was he much further away than I thought?

999 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by bluewhitearmy View Post
    Wasn't Paul O'Conor right there or was he much further away than I thought?
    He was on his way back but I don't think he would have been close to it.

420 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by osarusan View Post
    He was on his way back but I don't think he would have been close to it.
    Ah fair enough then it was one of those ones where I just seen him after the fact.

230 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Nah Nah Nah Nah View Post
    Really enjoyable game in Inchicore. Could easily have been 4-4
    Yeah, I thought it was an entertaining game. We started really well and bossed the game early on, but Sligo came back into it. Lots of chances on either side, so a draw was probably fair. Gavin Peers went off injured at half time and I think was missed in the second half. Conor O'Malley made an outstanding save that led to the corner Sligo equalised from.
    Out for a spell, got neglected, lay on the bench unselected.

44 Posts
    In-depth analysis of Dundalk's lesson on how to play against 10 contained within: http://bit.ly/2qI9rHr

1,522 Posts
    While McNulty did walk a fine line I didn't think Harps were any more cynical than Galway overall. Ollie was incensed because the ref missed a blatant free in the Harps, then awarded Galway one immediately after in a similar situation. Would be better if he kept the head obviously.

And for such a cynical team, Harps have had very few players sent off since promotion.
    Last edited by Mr A; 22/05/2017 at 4:11 PM.

637 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Mr A View Post
    While McNulty did walk a fine line I didn't think Harps were any more cynical than Galway overall. Ollie was incensed because the ref missed a blatant free in the Harps, then awarded Galway one immediately after in a similar situation. Would be better if he kept the head obviously.

And for such a cynical team Harps have had very few players sent off since promotion.
    Looking forward to tonight's game against Galway, our lads have been told the poor Galway boys don't like playing rough and have been a bit traumatized by those ruffians from Donegal. I think we are leading the red card count but I wish I could say it was for being tough out, moments of individual madness for us.

637 Posts
    meant to "quote one of the Galway boys not you Mr A" feckin phones, feck