Page 29 of 37 FirstFirst ... 192728293031 ... LastLast

Thread: FAI Cup 2017

108 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by RathfarnhamHoop View Post
    Nobody qualifies through the cup it goes to the league. Rovers now guaranteed Europe because of that after tonight's games
    Technically Dundalk qualify through the cup if they win it and so 3rd and 4th in the league qualify. It doesn’t matter this year as they’ll be 2nd but for Europa League purposes the cup entrant is the highest ranked participant.

Anyway I think the original question was more on the lines of what happens if Cork do the double and for at least 5 years now the rules have been changed by UEFA that only the cup winners can qualify. Beaten finalists are not entitled to a European spot.
    I phoned the speaking clock to hear a voice speak, it said - "At the tone you will be very much alone"

363 Posts
    Technically an interesting point. Cork qualified for Europe in August I think, and Dundalk secured second spot a few weeks ago, so that was two of the four places confirmed. The fact that both are in the cup final means neither can USE the cup final as the method of qualifying. This means the team coming fourth gets the additional spot, but if Limerick had beaten Cork and qualified for the cup and lost, the spot would still have gone to the side finishing fourth. Only a Limerick cup win would have got them into Europe at the expense of the side finishing fourth.

I have vague memories of possibly Waterford qualifying as beaten finalists in mid eighties. Galway possibly too but they might have finished in the top three. The rule has definitely changed now though.
    #DundalkFC - First Irish club to win an away game in Europe (1963), first Irish club to win points in a group stage in Europe (2016).

Quote Originally Posted by oriel View Post
    Technically an interesting point. Cork qualified for Europe in August I think, and Dundalk secured second spot a few weeks ago, so that was two of the four places confirmed. The fact that both are in the cup final means neither can USE the cup final as the method of qualifying. This means the team coming fourth gets the additional spot, but if Limerick had beaten Cork and qualified for the cup and lost, the spot would still have gone to the side finishing fourth. Only a Limerick cup win would have got them into Europe at the expense of the side finishing fourth.

I have vague memories of possibly Waterford qualifying as beaten finalists in mid eighties. Galway possibly too but they might have finished in the top three. The rule has definitely changed now though.
    That's correct. Waterford lost the 1986 FAI Cup final to Shamrock Rovers but qualified for Europe in Cup Winners Cup I think and played Bordeaux. That was the last time we played in European football.

140 Posts
    Correct from our side as well - we lost the 1985 FAI Cup final to Shamrock Rovers, but as they also won the league, we took the place on offer in the 1985/86 European Cup Winners' Cup by virtue of being the beaten finalists (we finished 6th in the league).
    The following season we finished second in the league and so qualified for the UEFA Cup through the league route.
    "Billy Corgan, Smashing Pumpkins."
    "Homer Simpson, smiling politely."

46 Posts
    Ufea changed rules a few years ago where cup runners up would not get a European place, so if cup winners qualify for europe trough league then an a place would be offered to highest team in league who didn't qualify for Europe.

363 Posts
    And to complete the sequence in 1987 Dundalk met Rovers in the final (cup specialist last win) and lost but we finished second in the league that season so I had assumed we had qualified for Europe that way.

Bohs came 3rd, and I think only 3 got into Europe those days, League winners, league runners up & Cup winners. With Dlk making the cup final this paved the way for Bohs to get the final spot, however a quick check on wiki I see Dlk played in the European Cup Winners competition that season.
    #DundalkFC - First Irish club to win an away game in Europe (1963), first Irish club to win points in a group stage in Europe (2016).

It was different in those days because somebody had to compete in the Cup Winners' Cup so it had to be the runner up rather than best-placed team.

447 Posts
    Its still the same now. The team who wins the cup takes the "Primary" Europa League spot. If the same team wins the league and cup, that "Primary" spot goes to the league runners up. Its not a big deal in Ireland but in some countries the Cup Winner enters at a later round.

131 Posts
    Premium Tickets for the Cup Final - 30 euros - aren't available from Ticketmaster. Why is this - anyone know? Do they become available nearer the date?

222 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Straightstory View Post
    Premium Tickets for the Cup Final - 30 euros - aren't available from Ticketmaster. Why is this - anyone know? Do they become available nearer the date?
    All national team ST holders get bumped up to Premium (whether they like it or not), so there may not be any left.

131 Posts
    OK - thanks for the reply. There was plenty of space there in previous years, so maybe this is a new thing?
    Also - Anyone know which different sections the Dundalk/Cork fans are allocated?

222 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Straightstory View Post
    OK - thanks for the reply. There was plenty of space there in previous years, so maybe this is a new thing?
    Nah, been going for years.
    They did say that you've to register for your upgrade this season. No closong date, but maybe they'll release more tickets closer to the time?

817 Posts
    Last year I went to buy at the ground (or the van just down the Road to be precise) and they had no normal priced tickets left only premium level so I’d say youl get them no problem closer to the time

International Prospect Ezeikial's Avatar
    663 Posts
    It seems that McNulty has even more 'previous' as details of his gloating call after last years cup final emerge

Kenny was so angry that he spoke of the aftermath of the rivals’ meeting in the 2016 showpiece at the Aviva Stadium — something no one at Dundalk had previously been willing to talk about.

Last year, footage emerged of another McNulty incident at the same Soho venue, after the Cup final, which was mostly directed at Ireland’s media for not giving Cork City enough credit.

Yet it was a phone call to skipper Stephen O’Donnell from a City player — while the Dundalk team bus was still in the ground — that truly annoyed Dundalk.

Kenny said: “This isn’t a one-off. Ringing Stephen O’Donnell last year after the Cup final on the bus going back and shouting down the phone and taunting . . . Stephen is the most successful captain in the modern times.

“He carries himself with great dignity. He’s won five league titles himself and been in two Europa Leagues. The last thing on our own minds when we’ve won, we’ve won the league here three times, we’ve won at the Aviva, we’ve been celebrating with each other.
    “Then to be ringing someone to taunt them within an hour of that and screaming down the phone, why would you even bother doing that?
    “I think you would think of celebrating with your family and your team-mates and enjoying that experience.”
    https://www.thesun.ie/sport/football...fai-cup-final/

447 Posts
    That phone call was not from McNulty. It was a city fan. Childish, but clearly has your lot rattled. Kenny all but confirming the Sheppard transfer is disappointing from him. If I were Sheppard I wouldn't be happy with that, hes kept his head down this week and said nothing either way.

That's absolutely hilarious. That phone call was from a city fan and it hasn't in any way been a secret. And Kennys off accusing players of it?! Hahaha

363 Posts
    The real disappointing part in all of this is Cauldfield's response, (craic and banter was it?) that and the other idiot compere who was jumping up and down when McNulty made his remarks. Its really embarrassing, like honestly, why would you feel the need to mention your closest rivals when celebrating your first league title in 12 years?

Quote Originally Posted by oriel View Post
    The real disappointing part in all of this is Cauldfield's response, (craic and banter was it?) that and the other idiot compere who was jumping up and down when McNulty made his remarks. Its really embarrassing, like honestly, why would you feel the need to mention your closest rivals when celebrating your first league title in 12 years?
    Caulfield saying he hasn't seen it but he's not bothered is disappointing? Odd to say the least. He's treating it as what it is, not in any way a big deal.

You have a manager who's blaming players for things they had no part in. A player who's gone against what his manager wants to say he wants to leave a week before the cup final, and a manager who does similar and can't keep his agreement not to talk about the Shep situation. Why don't you worry about them and we'll worry about whether we're embarrassed about a City legend clearly joking and referring to last year by singing 3 lines about his rivals. I'll give you a clue, we're not.

If you can't possibly comprehend why you might think of, or mention, a team you've spent three years trying to catch and overtake and who you're playing next week in a cup final, while celebrating finally dethroning them I'm not sure what to say to you. A 3 line song in an entire night. Ffs like, surely you can manage to imagine why that would happen.
    Last edited by micls; 01/11/2017 at 9:02 AM.

Next you'll be telling us you don't understand why football fans sing mean songs about other teams.
    Last edited by micls; 01/11/2017 at 9:01 AM.

Stephen Kenny is a walking hypocrite. Where was his respect when he was handing out multiple contracts in Derry?

Page 29 of 37 FirstFirst ... 192728293031 ... LastLast