326 Posts
    Some result tonight against the 2017 League Champions

140 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Longfordian View Post
    No way bach from that
    Last thing Derry will want is to have to go Chopin and changing a winning side
    "Billy Corgan, Smashing Pumpkins."
    "Homer Simpson, smiling politely."

140 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ger121 View Post
    Enjoy it while you can as the 2018 First Division champions will take ye down a peg or two on Friday
    "Billy Corgan, Smashing Pumpkins."
    "Homer Simpson, smiling politely."

2,284 Posts
    Super comeback and result for Derry tonight. Sava had a nightmare in goals for Dundalk. Failure to get his hands on a new keeper will cost Stephen Kenny; the goalkeeping position has been Dundalk's Achilles heel for a while now.

Nevertheless, Derry's impressive start to the season continues. Two away wins in Dublin and a convincing home win against the champions out of three games is the form of potential title contenders.

46 Posts
    Bohs keeper was outstanding and got MOTM saved them on 6 or 7 occasions limerick finishing very poor tonight had enough chances to win 3 games free headers one on ones with the keeper all saved

Quote Originally Posted by Dalymountrower View Post
    Yeah level with Bohs, congrats.
    To you to 😘

2,346 Posts
    Finn Harps won.

That'll do.

326 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by WoodquayBoy View Post
    Enjoy it while you can as the 2018 First Division champions will take ye down a peg or two on Friday
    Not a chance you'll beat the LSC 2016 Champions. Unless of course you beat us.

Came out of the cauldron that is the Markets Field with a famous victory.

In all seriousness though while not offering anything really in attack Bohs got their tactics absolutely spot on and in the end our lads were like headless chickens. Hopefully we learn from this game, especially the new lads to the league.

326 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Jofspring View Post
    Came out of the cauldron that is the Markets Field with a famous victory.

In all seriousness though while not offering anything really in attack Bohs got their tactics absolutely spot on and in the end our lads were like headless chickens. Hopefully we learn from this game, especially the new lads to the league.
    Followed the radio live stream. Those 2 lads are excellent by the way. No doubt we rode our luck a fair bit but I felt fairly comfortable listening after the goal. Still a massive win for us all the same. It's a mad League as usual.

Picking a goalkeeper from the opposing team as man of the match as a way to try and justify a crap performance was so pathetic. time up sunday for Russell if he doesnt get a win against harps.

230 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by nigel-harps1954 View Post
    Finn Harps won.
    Pats beat ourselves really. Awful stuff. We are in such serious trouble. Three defeats out of four, and we haven't played any of the top teams yet. Hard to see where a win is coming from.
    Out for a spell, got neglected, lay on the bench unselected.

2,346 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by TonyD View Post
    Pats beat ourselves really. Awful stuff. We are in such serious trouble. Three defeats out of four, and we haven't played any of the top teams yet. Hard to see where a win is coming from.
    Apart from Harps.

230 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by nigel-harps1954 View Post
    Apart from Harps.
    Touché.
    Out for a spell, got neglected, lay on the bench unselected.

2,284 Posts
    Barry McNamee's missed chance after 14 seconds for Derry against Rovers didn't look as bad or as clear-cut on Soccer Republic as it did in the flesh. He could and should have done better, but forgivable nevertheless.

Quote Originally Posted by brendy_éire View Post
    Thought Shamrock Rovers were poor enough, did they even have a shot on target? Gerard Doherty had little to do all night.
    Miele had a free-kick on target for Rovers in the first-half. I hadn't recalled that until I saw it again on Soccer Republic there, but that was their only shot on target all night.

447 Posts
    Not a great game in Cork tonight. We were much the better team in the first half but couldn't find the final ball. Sligo came south with a game plan and it worked for the most part. From the first moment their plan was to disrupt us and frustrate us. Lots of professional fouls as we broke through midfield. The ref let it go for a while and was slow to bring out the yellow cards and the game threatened to spill over as the fouls evolved from merely cynical to dirty. Thankfully no one was injured.

Second half they started strong, but after 5 or 10 minutes retreated back into their own half, I think at one point they won the ball in midfield and only 3 of their players crossed the half way line as they started to break.

They scored from a breakaway, nice finish from Sadlier I think. I understand they have had a tough start to the season and a result away in Cork would have been huge, but the celebration seemed way over the top. It upset many, I was more bemused. I think this was the turning point, it got the crowd, and the team going and we scored almost right away, a long ball flicked down by Campion for a cracking first time volley from Beattie (two ex Sligo players).

I turned to my friends a few minutes later and said "We're grand, Seanie hasn't scored yet".

Solid three points in a game we might have lost last year. Naivety from Sligo in riling up the crowd and players possibly cost them the points.

62 Posts
    So the ref or linesman did not see the handball from Shaw before his second goal for Shamrock R. I was about 50-60 yards away in the old stand and did not spot it but most of the Galway players did and complained. Having the officials give a team the benefit of the doubt can be a vital edge in a tight game and this young Shamrock R team are certainly having it this season.
    ps.Agree fully with Alan Crawley on Soccer Republic re the set up of the Rovers midfield. Also Murray had a great 2nd half, and looks a good player and a leader from what I have seen of him.

346 Posts
    Great win for us in Inchicore,watched it on the stream thingy and we hung on a bit in the end but we looked good in the first half from what I could see,Houston is our most important player and again finished wonderfully for our equaliser a real underrated player in our league.

Just one more thing has there been a falling out between Fagan and Bucko? seems madness to leave a player of his quality out when the team is really struggling??

International Prospect CraftyToePoke's Avatar
    851 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by gael353 View Post
    Picking a goalkeeper from the opposing team as man of the match as a way to try and justify a crap performance was so pathetic. time up sunday for Russell if he doesnt get a win against harps.
    That's the spirit.

Quote Originally Posted by brendy_éire View Post
    Great result for us. Despite the general sloppiness of a lot of play, we didn't look under too much threat. Thought Shamrock Rovers were poor enough, did they even have a shot on target? Gerard Doherty had little to do all night
    Nope, not a shot on target. Derry weren't great but you were the away side so nobody would expect you to dominate. On balance, the game was headed for a draw except we gifted you a goal.

Decent performance tonight. Gary Shaw is a big gain for the side as he's a proper modern centre forward who can do a little of everything rather than Boyd and O'Connor who are still learning. With Burke back we should have a bit of variety up front now.

We'll do well to finish fourth again but some signs of optimism in Tallaght for once, and the crowds are coming out for the time being, so can't be too downhearted.

Great win for Derry at home to Dundalk - going to be very competitive among the top three if Derry can keep their squad fit.

Page 5 of 6 FirstFirst ... 3456 LastLast