Page 8 of 11 FirstFirst ... 678910 ... LastLast

Thread: LOI fixtures 24th Feb 2017

Not a great game in Dundalk and the amount of niggle certainly didn't help. Still, some promising spells for Rovers and nobody expected it to all fall into place within 90 minutes. Dundalk looked off their best and Barrett is a huge downgrade on Boyle, but we didn't have the quality to take advantage of it and, to be fair, Dundalk did a good job covering the weakness.

Burke is an idiot. Can't remember who the tackle was on (McEleney?) but completely uncalled for and hope he's OK.

346 Posts
    Announced at Finn park tonight 'Could Gordon Heapes come behind the town end goals and bring the keys to the car #greatestleagueintheworld
    Irish by birth ,Harps by the grace of god.

Sligo were absolutely flattered by the 5 1 scoreline tonight would have been 8 or 9 easy if we hadn't took the **** for the last half an hour.

Whether we are amazing or they are dog**** remains to be seen.

One think is certain Rodrigo Tosi is the greatest player to ever grace our league

1,081 Posts
    Sligo were absolutely flattered by the 5 1 scoreline tonight would have been 8 or 9 easy if we hadn't took the **** for the last half an hour.

Whether we are amazing or they are dog**** remains to be seen.

One think is certain Rodrigo Tosi is the greatest player to ever grace our league
    A hat trick on your debut is some going, to continue the parallels with our 5-1 win over Fingal in '08 that I mentioned earlier in the thread (I'd get more craic out of this if Fingal ever had any fans but anyway) Darren McKenna got one for us on his debut that night. Fun fact.

194 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Charlie Darwin View Post
    Burke is an idiot. Can't remember who the tackle was on (McEleney?) but completely uncalled for and hope he's OK.
    Jamie McGrath.
    Shams were hitting a good phase in the game at the time.13 mins left and i think was then 5 injury added.Crazy for him to do that.

86 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ToberonaTornado View Post
    Jamie McGrath.
    Shams were hitting a good phase in the game at the time.13 mins left and i think was then 5 injury added.Crazy for him to do that.
    I'm just going to put it out there that Burke reacted to McGrath throwing himself on the ground. I'm not suggesting that Burke was right, but it was probably a reaction to that.
    [/B][I]P.Esc.

387 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Pablo Escobar View Post
    I'm just going to put it out there that Burke reacted to McGrath throwing himself on the ground. I'm not suggesting that Burke was right, but it was probably a reaction to that.
    Ah now. That's like the Spurs manager trying to defend Ali for that tackle on Thursday night saying he was fouled beforehand. Disgraceful stuff from Burke. Good to see you trying to blame Dundalk for it all the same!!

And disgraceful stuff from us as well. No heart in the players who played last night. At least the Shams lads kicked a few people around the place. We couldn't get close enough to kick anyone. Lot of hard work to be done on the training ground. And Dundalk on the way next weekend.

86 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Nah Nah Nah Nah View Post
    Ah now. That's like the Spurs manager trying to defend Ali for that tackle on Thursday night saying he was fouled beforehand. Disgraceful stuff from Burke. Good to see you trying to blame Dundalk for it all the same!!

And disgraceful stuff from us as well. No heart in the players who played last night. At least the Shams lads kicked a few people around the place. We couldn't get close enough to kick anyone. Lot of hard work to be done on the training ground. And Dundalk on the way next weekend.
    Please point to where I'm blaming Dundalk? I'm also not defending Burke. There's no excuse for doing it. I'm just trying to find the reasoning behind doing something so stupid. McGrath did throw himself down so I'm suggesting that it was a reaction to it. I'm in no way defending the action.
    [/B][I]P.Esc.

194 Posts
    Bit of trolling going on.Usually happens half way through the season but 1 game in and here we are

387 Posts
    Please point to where I'm blaming Dundalk? I'm also not defending Burke. There's no excuse for doing it. I'm just trying to find the reasoning behind doing something so stupid. McGrath did throw himself down so I'm suggesting that it was a reaction to it. I'm in no way defending the action.
    There's no defending or reasoning for it in my eyes (and I'm only winding you up on the Dundalk comment). As mentioned already the photo where he looks shocked when he gets the red card is the funniest.

Actually thought Shams might have knicked a point if he hadn't been such an idiot. They had plenty of momentum at that stage (and could still have knicked one right at the end)

999 Posts
    We looked good going forward and Sligo never pressed our defence much at all. Our new left full-back makes the defence look a lot more solid too.

Great night. Everything went pretty much perfectly.

Sligo were atrocious through, and not all that fit either.

86 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Nah Nah Nah Nah View Post
    There's no defending or reasoning for it in my eyes (and I'm only winding you up on the Dundalk comment). As mentioned already the photo where he looks shocked when he gets the red card is the funniest.

Actually thought Shams might have knicked a point if he hadn't been such an idiot. They had plenty of momentum at that stage (and could still have knicked one right at the end)
    I only caught a bit if the game, just after half-time. Dundalk looked slightly more comfortable, but Rovers looked like the had something about them. The defending for Kilduff's goal was awful.
    [/B][I]P.Esc.

229 Posts
    5 chances for Derry 4 goals.4 chances for Bohs 1 goal.
    Our corner count was maybe 8-2 but our wide open defence made it easy for a very efficient and impressive Derry side.
    Patterson feigned injury early on to sample the new pies.

International Prospect Ezeikial's Avatar
    663 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Charlie Darwin View Post
    I was unsure if I wanted to laugh or cry at the Rovers supporters applauding Burke off the pitch.

There was a lot of niggle and ill-discipline throughout the team, especially from a wound up Finn when he came on.

231 Posts
    Very poor from Pats last night. We could have been 3/4 down at half time. Bray just bossed us physically and were first to everything. Last 15 minutes was a bit of an improvement and we actually could have robbed a point but for wondisallowed goals. I'd like to see the second again in particular. We had a bit of momentum but sending off, massive scrap, and then second sending off killed that. Still, on the positive side Darren Dennehy is now suspended for next week !!
    Out for a spell, got neglected, lay on the bench unselected.

555 Posts
    Are you for real or has John Caulfield sucked all intelligence out of Cork fans at this stage?

81 Posts
    Ah, the old 'she shouldn't have went out dressed like that' excuse.

3,219 Posts
    Couldn't make it out to Cabo last night, but I see we more or less played a reserve team as there's a good few at the Collingwood Cup.

Wouldn't see that in the Premiership

420 Posts
    Can't see us losing top spot from here tbh

Shed End.. **** off with your joe delaney stand
    159 Posts
    Premier Division Champions 2017 Limerick got off to a flier last night.

21. Thanks From:

Page 8 of 11 FirstFirst ... 678910 ... LastLast