Page 25 of 30 FirstFirst ... 152324252627 ... LastLast

Thread: Republic of Ireland v. Wales - Friday, 24th March 2017 - World Cup 2018 Qualifier

285 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by TheOneWhoKnocks View Post
    https://mobile.twitter.com/RustyRoya...7Ctwgr%5Etweet

I sincerely hope that isn't what it looks like.
    Seems like Ledley laughing and Taylor smiling.

Edit : Seen Taylor walking off the pitch apologising to the Irish management. Seemed pretty devastated. Only he knows what he meant to do.
    Last edited by TrapAPony; 24/03/2017 at 11:59 PM.
    "We lost because we didn't win"- Ronaldo

487 Posts
    Does anyone have the game recorded? I'm very curious about how there was only 4 minutes of injury time. There were a number of subs and Coleman was down for quite a while.
    Bring Back Belfast Celtic F.C.

82 Posts
    All due respect to you Backie but do they not have DVR in Belfast?

487 Posts
    Ha. We do but unfortunately it doesn't pick up the EPG information from free state telly so recording from RTE is impossible.

I do have my copy of Ireland v Italy from 1994 on VCR, from back in the days when this sort of thing worked perfectly.

487 Posts
    Screenshot_20170325-005445.jpg

And then there's this bull**** to deal with trying to watch something online. The irony of where the guy being interviewed is from being blatently obvious!

2,346 Posts
    Despite the poor game, I thought there was some great entertainment at times. The tackle was horrendous, and Bale also could have walked for his rash challenge only a minute earlier.

Was really there for the taking though, and while it was a game that was more must-not-lose than must-win, it really puts a bit of a spanner in the works now knowing that there was very little better chance for us to really grab 1st place in the group by the balls.

Also, it was incredibly, fantastically, and amazingly hilarious to see the band there after banning the Welsh from bringing in their trumpets. Saying that, I'd love to smash them over the heads of the lads playing. Terribly forced and annoying atmosphere, and blasting it through the tannoy was just needlessly ridiculous.

672 Posts
    Pluses
    - The McBride shirt presented by the Welsh side to Michael D. Classy.
    - The applause on five minutes. Emotional.
    - McClean's performance. It wasn't exactly world class, but serious respect for playing with controlled, sustained aggression. Can't have been easy after this week.

Negatives
    - The game. The performance . The ref.

Nightmares
    - That Taylor tackle
    - This entire miserable week

There are no words
    - THE TRUMPETS

Thought Bale was lucky to stay on the field, particularly after he appeared to kick McClean in the chest. But had a different view at the game (for instance, was far away from Taylor's tackle knew it was late but had no idea how badly Seamy was injured until later).

Absolute disaster for Coleman. Gutted for him.
    Ou-est le Centre George Pompidou?

82 Posts
    Michael D Classy is Nigel Harps porn name.

454 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by zero View Post
    whelan was superb tonight, i would have given him MOTM over mcclean. he will be overlooked though more likely than not.
    I can't agree. He was so poor on the ball and so immobile. He was sitting on our centre halves. We can never press the ball when he plays cause he does not have the athleticism to cover the ground. If people who love whelan on here for his positional sense mastery want that great but we will never get those high octane Italy performances where we are on the front foot when he plays.mccarthy was a huge miss.

999 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by nigel-harps1954 View Post
    Also, it was incredibly, fantastically, and amazingly hilarious to see the band there after banning the Welsh from bringing in their trumpets.
    I thought it was really pointless, childish stuff.

3,213 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by backstothewall View Post
    Does anyone have the game recorded? I'm very curious about how there was only 4 minutes of injury time. There were a number of subs and Coleman was down for quite a while.
    There were 4 subs - one at half time and two while Coleman was down. I thought four minutes was about right.

3,304 Posts
    Haven't been able to check the forum since last night, and haven't read all the thread, but I'd appreciate it if you didn't share any photos of the tackle itself, please and thank you

537 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by osarusan View Post
    I thought it was really pointless, childish stuff.
    ruined what should have been a great atmosphere. everyone around me giving out yards everytime they piped up. who comes up with this nonsense and surely a home team is not allowed pipe music over the pa system during the match??

2,284 Posts
    A brutal game all round. I'm devastated for Séamie. It couldn't have happened to a nicer character in football; awful for him. The tackle was simply disgraceful. Taylor obviously didn't mean it and you could tell he himself was gutted, but, sweet Jesus, it was just so, so reckless. Séamie's absence, presumably for what will be much of the remainder of the campaign, will be a massive blow for us. The injury actually made the result feel a bit like a loss.

Bale should have seen red too. Ref was rather casual.

Generally, we were very poor going forward, created little and left it way too late to make a final push or even take advantage of the extra man. We looked very limited and although McGeady provided a bit of a spark when he came on - he should have been on way earlier - we still didn't create much. It might also have been worth throwing Horgan on. We were completely impotent through the middle though and seemed limited to crosses. Although Horgan wouldn't necessarily have helped on that front, maybe we needed someone like Hourihane in there too. Hard to know considering it'd be a big call to give a player a senior international debut under such circumstances.

Whelan played terribly. Slowed everything right down and could well have been sent off for an idiotic and inexplicable attempt to elbow his Stoke team-mate, Allen, in the face. Hendrick played very poorly also.

We weren't troubled a huge deal at the back.

McClean gave everything on what was an emotional night for him. Deserved man-of-the-match.

Who on earth was behind the trumpet idea? It was an embarrassment - trying to contrive an atmosphere - and was absolutely murdering the genuine atmosphere that developed during the final push for a goal.

2,284 Posts

Just on this photo doing the rounds that allegedly shows Ledley "laughing" and Taylor "smiling" just after the tackle and within metres of Coleman lying on the ground, I think it would be unfair to jump to conclusions on the basis of a solitary photo. Ledley's face is certainly contorted but he could be grimacing at the horrific nature of the injury for all we know.

Meanwhile, Taylor was clearly genuinely upset. He apologised to the management team on his way off and Shane Long claimed that he had been in tears. I definitely don't think his facial expression in the photo there is a smile. It looks more like despair to me.

357 Posts
    Between singing 'Stand up' and the trumpet, you could have been at an Ulster rugby game!

3,213 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by nigel-harps1954 View Post
    Despite the poor game, I thought there was some great entertainment at times.
    I really enjoyed the last 20 minutes. It was a real old-fashioned game then - long throws, Terry Butcher bandannas, two arms up for a corner (have players stopped doing that these days?), proper sliding tackles, hoofs clear, pump it long into the box.

No skill at all on show bar Bale of course, but feck it, skill isn't necessarily required for entertainment.

The first 70 minutes were utterly dire of course, and if we do go to the World Cup, it'll be as a team who are killing football.

1,093 Posts
    We could have won that. McGeady demonstrated why he should have started. I thought Whelan was okay and I thought Meyler and Hendrick were poor and I think that's the root of the result.

But, honestly, I'm utterly gutted about Coleman. The only positive is I don't think anyone in our squad would be as incredibly diligent about their recovery. The man is an inspirational character in every aspect and demonstrates some of the most honorable traits a man can e.g.Work ethic, honesty, loyalty, passion... I could be here for the day. I hope so much that he comes back as quick as possible and as recovered as possible.

576 Posts
    Was the trumpet pumped through the P.A.?

😩

3,213 Posts
    There was a microphone in front of the band, so yep, relayed around the ground.

The fake cheering at half time was almost as bad.

On a separate note, I missed who took over as captain after Coleman went off. Was it Whelan? (I presume Coleman started as captain, but I only got to the ground at kick off, and didn't even notice until half-time that McCarthy had failed a late fitness test)

Page 25 of 30 FirstFirst ... 152324252627 ... LastLast