Page 61 of 117 FirstFirst ... 1151596061626371111 ... LastLast
Results 1,201 to 1,220 of 2330

Thread: Transfer Rumours 201X Season

120 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by derm View Post
    Apparently we had the fourth largest budget this season. We are allocating more money to the budget (AFAIK) but I'd doubt that we'd be doubling anyone's wages. Then again, if you factor in a modest increase, the 52 weeks and the decline in sterling it might come close I suppose?
    Think you're being a bit naive here lads if you think there's much between the budgets of the top 3. All 3 are spending big. Nobody has an investor (bar Waterford?), so it comes down to European money, gate receipts and sponsors. All 3 have that, our European money is obviously more but we've more to spend it on, Corks gate receipts easily out strip the other 2

Every club in the league of Ireland has outside "investment" for want of a better term. (Investment implying a possible return on investment)

In the context of the league sponsorship is just a fancy way of saying chairty.

447 Posts
    http://www.derryjournal.com/sport/fo...aims-1-8239176
    (Cork) City linked with Aaron Barry. We tried to sign him last year as well. If we do get him and Ronan Murray in over the weekend we might be finished all our business before our awards night next Friday. Lot of new faces, but plenty of time to get them used to each other with their contracts kicking in from December 1st.

364 Posts
    I think Dundalk are also interested in Barry and McEniff too from Derry. I read something yesterday too about Miele but I can't see Rovers letting him go and also the small matter of a transfer (big) fee.
    #DundalkFC - First Irish club to win an away game in Europe (1963), first Irish club to win points in a group stage in Europe (2016).

Miele is out of contract but as he's under 24 and Rovers have offered him a new contract any move would require a negotiated or tribunal fee.

Quote Originally Posted by Charlie Darwin View Post
    Miele is out of contract but as he's under 24 and Rovers have offered him a new contract any move would require a negotiated or tribunal fee.
    Isn’t the cut off 23?

96 Posts
    Despite a lot of interest from Ballyraggert whose manager opined that "we would save ourselves a hurl signing that man", Caufield unable to sign our stand has compensated by getting the signature of another ne'er do well, formerly of this parish.

http://www.corkcityfc.ie/home/2017/1...igns-for-city/

International Prospect Ezeikial's Avatar
    663 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Jofspring View Post
    Isn’t the cut off 23?
    17.1 The following arrangements will apply to all players whose contracts are due to expire and who are under
    twenty three years of age on the 1st of January of the year of expiry of the contract and who has been in
    employment with his present Club for at least two full consecutive competitive seasons and also to a player
    who has been in employment with his present club for one season immediately following his change of

649 Posts
    Mielle would be a horrendous loss to us . Need to sign him up quickly

53 Posts
    He could still be under contract, we don't always announce players re-signing. Can't see him leaving Rovers for another loi club anyway.

649 Posts
    With dundalk Euro millionsanythinfg is possible.

Quote Originally Posted by Asterix View Post
    Rovers membership is €600 per year.

Clubs don't know what any other clubs budget is. Would''t imagine theres much of a difference between rovers and corks.
    It wouldn't be difficult to guesstimate. As part of Financial Fair Play clubs have to comply with the Salary Cost Management Protocol which in the LoI means that clubs can spend up to 65% of turnover on wages. Turnover does not appear to be a closely guarded secret, newspaper reports are saying that Dundalk's potential new owners are planning to increase their turnover slightly to 1.6 million.

Now there are rules on what can and can not be included and excluded in the calculation. Investors are restricted in how much they can pump into wages but are free to throw as much money as the want to underage structures for example. Rovers' academy has been widely reported to have received investment from Ray Wilson. Peak6 are planning to invest in the underage teams also. Taking that cost out will allow a club to reach the 65% more easily.

Clubs may not know their rivals budgets but I'd be astounded if they weren't making calculations.
    Last edited by derm; 10/11/2017 at 8:55 PM. Reason: Auto save did not have the latest version

Then again, as all clubs have to submit their budgets to the FAI and considering that this is Ireland, it could be that a FAI official said to Caulfield, "Oho John, youse are f***ed for next year, they're three clubs spending more than you!"

It can't be ruled out...

171 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by sbgawa View Post
    Mielle would be a horrendous loss to us . Need to sign him up quickly
    Miele has signed a new two yeat contract apparently. Another player to turn down Dundalk.

120 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by RathfarnhamHoop View Post
    Miele has signed a new two yeat contract apparently. Another player to turn down Dundalk.
    He was offered double by Rovers

Quote Originally Posted by mcgonigle View Post
    He was offered double by Rovers
    And triple by Limerick. Can’t believe we didn’t get him.

364 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by RathfarnhamHoop View Post
    Or another player to use his current club to leverage interest from Dundalk to get a better deal. If he has doubled his wages, fair play to him.
    #DundalkFC - First Irish club to win an away game in Europe (1963), first Irish club to win points in a group stage in Europe (2016).

53 Posts
    How has he used Dundalk to get a better deal.The rumors that he was going to dundalk came from a twitter page. There wasn't even much mention of it, dont remember seeing it the papers either..It was well known around Rovers that he wanted to stay. And why would we offer double what dundalk would offer, An extra fiver would change league of irealnd players minds.

649 Posts
    I was concerned when he hadn't signed but your right the word was he was staying, I was worried about dundalk Euro millions though.

The only thing I saw of Miele and Dundalk was on a twitter account and there was no mention of it anywhere else. I'd love to see him at Dundalk but I doubt he was going anywhere.