Page 19 of 117 FirstFirst ... 917181920212969 ... LastLast

Thread: Transfer Rumours 201X Season

171 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by White Horse View Post
    others like Finn look at other clubs where they can get more money for less commitment.
    I wonder were you saying this when Finn signed for you? Its quite funny actually a few days ago finn was great and Dundalk were going to build around him next year and push on but now hes signed for Rovers hes not great and is a money grabber. If you look at it though through a players eyes it makes sense. Lets say for arguments sake Rovers and Dundalk both offered what he was on last season.
    Dundalk are in the champions league but Rovers are in the Europa so not too much of a difference there but slight advantage Dundalk.
    Dundalk are champions advantage to them.
    Rovers are mostly full time as are Dundalk I think so equal there.
    Rovers are currently building a new training ground and having an new stand built for them, Dundalk meanwhile are just talking about redeveloping oriel and god knows where they train, mix of DKIT and Oriel? Advantage Rovers there.
    Rovers so fare have made some fairly decent signings, Dundalk have just lost players, advantage Rovers.
    Then you've the obvious, he lives in Dublin so he'll save on petrol so if you assume same wage offered at both clubs then he'll end up with more in his pocket at Rovers after expenses so advantage Rovers there.
    Rovers have sorted him a job that doesn't affect his training presumably in Dublin so hes effectively got two jobs in one there, definitely advantage rovers there although Dundalk could have done the same.
    Then you've the fact a 3 year deal in this league is great security be stupid not to go for it.
    Overall you can definitely see why hes chosen rovers for reasons other than 'Rovers offering silly money again'.

172 Posts
    just financially speaking
    1 Ronan finn > 1 brennan & 1 north
    Shamrock Rovers- Where trophies are won and envy is scarce

420 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by sulywaterfordfc View Post
    Kenny Browne is linked with a move back to the Blues also
    Now this is one where mad money would have to be paid.

81 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by RathfarnhamHoop View Post
    I wonder were you saying this when Finn signed for you? Its quite funny actually a few days ago finn was great and Dundalk were going to build around him next year and push on but now hes signed for Rovers hes not great and is a money grabber. If you look at it though through a players eyes it makes sense. Lets say for arguments sake Rovers and Dundalk both offered what he was on last season.
    Dundalk are in the champions league but Rovers are in the Europa so not too much of a difference there but slight advantage Dundalk.
    Dundalk are champions advantage to them.
    Rovers are mostly full time as are Dundalk I think so equal there.
    Rovers are currently building a new training ground and having an new stand built for them, Dundalk meanwhile are just talking about redeveloping oriel and god knows where they train, mix of DKIT and Oriel? Advantage Rovers there.
    Rovers so fare have made some fairly decent signings, Dundalk have just lost players, advantage Rovers.
    Then you've the obvious, he lives in Dublin so he'll save on petrol so if you assume same wage offered at both clubs then he'll end up with more in his pocket at Rovers after expenses so advantage Rovers there.
    Rovers have sorted him a job that doesn't affect his training presumably in Dublin so hes effectively got two jobs in one there, definitely advantage rovers there although Dundalk could have done the same.
    Then you've the fact a 3 year deal in this league is great security be stupid not to go for it.
    Overall you can definitely see why hes chosen rovers for reasons other than 'Rovers offering silly money again'.
    3 year contract on better wages with a part time job and a car blew Dundalk's offer out of the water. You really don't have to break it down to who has the softest bog rolls in the jacks.

I was at the press conference and Finn confirmed that Dundalk met Rovers' €4 million a year wage offer but what swung it was mypost guaranteeing he could have one free go in his spaceship.

Hi everyone, I am a big LOI fan and am keen to join this forum. I am not that worried about Dundalk. They have huge financial capabilities now (compared to their domestic competitors even after they plan to improve Oriel etc.) . The UK transfer window is opening soon and that will open up a whole array of potential transfers. Sure they have lost some players to their domestic rivals, but who says they have to sign players from the League of Ireland? maybe cast the net wider- niclas vemmelund was an unknown to most in Ireland before he signed for Derry last year, and made it into the team of the year. Plenty of players for Dundalk to choose from, and they have the time before the league restarts to consider the possibilities. Plus the January transfer window allows UK clubs to loan players, so why not sign a few good quality youngsters from good UK clubs now they have a larger profile? Plus plenty of out of contract players they can choose from...Joey O Brien perhaps and plenty of others out of contract to choose from.

Welcome on board Stephen

114 Posts
    Finn is a loss to us but wish him all the best, was great for us in his 2 year spell. Players have to look after number 1 and if he's getting a better offer elsewhere fair enough. Benson can step into his role in the first 11 next season as a starter week in week out and at 24 compared to Finn being 29 (not that he's past it!) Benson's only going to get better this season and over the next few years.

We've lost a few players but we'll still be up there and competing for the league with a few astute signings to replace those who've gone and give Europe another crack in the summer on. The important thing for us as a club is to ensure there's a lasting legacy to the few bob we've raked in and that's 100% in getting Oriel up to scratch or a new stadium in the next few years along with putting the club on a solid footing for the medium-long term. Of course we'll be paying good wages but not much above the going rate for whatever standard the player is and if a player can get better elsewhere good luck to them. The lads running the club & SK have proven since day one since they took over they have their heads screwed on right and won't be held to ransomor carry any passengers who don't buy in to the way we're doing things, plus the players and staff were compensated with a nice bonus wedge each for the European exploits and will be again next season if we manage it again of course.

Be interesting to see how this plan from Rovers goes though, after Wilson threw in his few bob with the €1.5m loan earlier this year; that was €1m for the youth setup/ new training ground and 500k for the "day to day running of the club" as far as I'm aware; which of course in the grand old LOI tradition; seems to have turned into lets spunk that on wages, assorted bonuses, nixers, coke and hookers. It looks like they're taking a gamble on doing a Dundalk and making the group stages to rake in a couple of million after seeing what Dundalk did last season gone. Rovers fans should be hoping that whoevers doing the books for the club is fully taking into account the double jobbing for PAYE and PRSI purposes on their Revenue returns next year! Bray too, with them seemingly banking on getting the Carlisle turned into apartments, as we all thought was going to happen when McGettigan's were screwed out of their takeover last year for the other shysters.

Great to see fans of other clubs so concerned about Rovers' financial outlook again. It's been a dull couple of years on that front.

649 Posts
    Yes the concern is touching.
    As Stephen Bradley said yesterday we have 10 under 19's in our Squad and he has the same budget as the last 4 managers he is just managing it differently.
    But the old they must be betting the ranch is an easier story/excuse for others.

2,346 Posts
    Ruaidhiri Higgins and Jonny Bonner linked to Finn Harps.

65 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Charlie Darwin View Post
    If Dundalk are paying people for more than 52 weeks of the year then fair play.
    No, paying them for 52 weeks plus giving them a contract. Just one contract mind.

171 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Louth4sam View Post
    3 year contract on better wages with a part time job and a car blew Dundalk's offer out of the water. You really don't have to break it down to who has the softest bog rolls in the jacks.
    I just listed many reasons as to why Rovers could have offered the same wages as Dundalk and he would choose Rovers. Unless you know something about the offer we dont you cant just assume Rovers offered more. And where did you get the car thing from?

649 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by RathfarnhamHoop View Post
    I just listed many reasons as to why Rovers could have offered the same wages as Dundalk and he would choose Rovers. Unless you know something about the offer we dont you cant just assume Rovers offered more. And where did you get the car thing from?
    According to Stephen Bradley in several newspapers Finn was offered more by Dundalk in fact he said that Dundalks offer "blew us out of the water" , I've no reason to disbelieve him as he has put it on the record.
    Anyway , life's moved on.
    Looking forward to the start of next season.

Quote Originally Posted by sbgawa View Post
    According to Stephen Bradley in several newspapers Finn was offered more by Dundalk in fact he said that Dundalks offer "blew us out of the water" , I've no reason to disbelieve him as he has put it on the record.
    Anyway , life's moved on.
    Looking forward to the start of next season.
    Sure what else is he going to say, he's hardly going to say they offered him a lot more than Dundalk.
    According to Finn himself "it's a great contract". Not hard to read between the lines there.
    http://www.the42.ie/ronan-finn-shamr...51115-Dec2016/

I'm disappointed he's gone but I don't blame him for leaving to get a 3 year contract on more money, I'd do the same myself.
    Looking forward to the first game now aswell!

Fair play to Sean Gannon, fake a bit of interest from the Hoops, and then its double your money time and a brand new car. He obviously picked up a few tricks from Ronan the millionaire Finn.

114 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by sundance kid View Post
    Fair play to Sean Gannon, fake a bit of interest from the Hoops, and then its double your money time and a brand new car. He obviously picked up a few tricks from Ronan the millionaire Finn.

Mickey letting him be in charge of the half time choons in Oriel sealed the deal.

445 Posts
    Paddy McCourt now a free agent after leaving Glenavon
    Here on a technicality.

555 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by sbgawa View Post
    Other than comment sense, of course.

447 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by White Horse View Post
    Other than comment sense, of course.
    Comment Sense, perfect. Allowing you to disagree with anything so long as it gives you a reason to comment?

For what its worth, I have no idea if hes being paid more, less, the same or whatever, but his leaving weakens Dundalk so thats awesome.

Page 19 of 117 FirstFirst ... 917181920212969 ... LastLast