Thread: Transfer Rumours 201X Season

Shed End.. **** off with your joe delaney stand
    159 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by outspoken View Post
    Another one
    Never mind that, how are we gonna come up with a chant for him.. Rimvydas Sadauskas

86 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by outspoken View Post
    Another one
    We like to defend in depth 💪

184 Posts
    I'm assuming Caulfield is just making sure he has enough defenders before he allows Browne to move back to his home town Waterford. But that's just me observing from afar.

What do the Cork lads think will happen with Browne?

If this new lad signs, that would be 9 defenders in the 1st team squad, by my count. Seems like a lot...

447 Posts
    Well Delaney will be gone in the summer so if we lost him and Browne suddenly we're down to 7 in July, Dunleavy and Kavanagh have been injury problems for the past two seasons, so potentially as low as 5. Benno is 35, and wasn't training last season, he isn't ready for tomorrows game so there are question marks over our back 4 right now. Obvioulsy we could replace Delaney in the summer if necessary

I think hes looking for depth. A lot of our moves this summer have been to strengthen the squad. We relied on 6 or 7 players far too much last year and losing any to injury or suspension massively hampered us.

I think we're in a position now where we have a lot of players who can cover multiple positions. Griffin for example might allow Kevin O'Connor to play further forward if we wanted to do that, Beattie and McCormack have played at right back in the past and Keohane has (I believe) played at left back.

184 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by El-Pietro View Post
    Keohane has (I believe) played at left back.
    Yes he has. He played a few games at left back last season with Sligo when they were stuck but that's it. It wouldn't be his natural position though, he's always been a midfielder since underage and right through his career so far.

66 Posts
    Reports through social media tonight suggest Kenny Browne is signing for Waterford.

159 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by sulywaterfordfc View Post
    Reports through social media tonight suggest Kenny Browne is signing for Waterford.
    Yeah it seems to have been the case of when not if he was going to leave for the last few weeks

159 Posts
    https://twitter.com/corkcityfcnews/s...26946726354945

Not a defender this time, a winger, Christian Nanetti who was recently on trial with us

2,337 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by patrickccfc View Post
    https://twitter.com/corkcityfcnews/s...26946726354945

Not a defender this time, a winger, Christian Nanetti who was recently on trial with us
    Bit of a fall from grace for the lad. Scaling the mighty heights of Welling United and Walton Casuals at his last two clubs.

159 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by nigel-harps1954 View Post
    Bit of a fall from grace for the lad. Scaling the mighty heights of Welling United and Walton Casuals at his last two clubs.
    From the National League with Welling United to the Europa League Qualifiers with Cork City, rags to riches stuff

86 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by **FrOsTy** View Post
    Fletch would be an amazing signing for Waterford FC. Arguable the best centre half in the country coming home

Davy McDaid looked sharp in training last night and two Trialist in Eino Puri (Sanders brother) and Derek Daly (Chesterfield) shaping in to be a good year.

Still short a goalkeeper before I'd be confident that we'll win the league.
    Waterford seem to be splashing the cash. Fenton was always good at that. Hope it works out for you and doesn't go pear shaped.

447 Posts
    Its interesting that Browne would rather play in the first division than Europe and compete for the title. Says a lot about his ambition. Real pity as hes such a good player.

Why does it say a lot about his ambition? He has played in European games plenty of times in his career and from reports around he is building a house and working in Waterford so wants to be closer to home rather than travelling for training etc.. Seems to me to be more for personal reasons than ambition.

447 Posts
    Right so hes putting personal issues ahead of ambition. That says a lot about his ambition. Fair enough, theres nothing wrong with it, but its a pity. Also of course hes under contract and this whole thing is out of order from Waterfords point of view but we'll move on.

79 Posts
    Right so hes putting personal issues ahead of ambition. That says a lot about his ambition. Fair enough, theres nothing wrong with it, but its a pity. Also of course hes under contract and this whole thing is out of order from Waterfords point of view but we'll move on.
    Cork fans giving out about everything and anything.

637 Posts
    Geez lads these players are paid buttons in the overall scheme of things it is INCREDIBLY harsh to slag off a guy about ambition who is moving for personal reasons, its not exactly like Oscar moving to China !

184 Posts
    Ah lad go easy on the sour grapes.

Maybe he's re-prioritized and is now putting personal ambition ahead of sporting ambition. He'll be tipping the wrong side of thirty soon so he's every right. As mentioned already he's played in Europe numerous times with Fingal and Pats and he's won everything there is to win in Ireland. Maybe he's at a stage of his life where he wants to start a family, and wants to do that in his hometown. Maybe he wants to give his last few yrs of his career to his hometown club. We don't know the full story.

19. Thanks From:

555 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by dundalkfc10 View Post
    Cork fans giving out about everything and anything.
    I am sympathetic to Cork in this case.

Browne was happy enough to sign a two year contract, he should honour it.

21. Thanks From:

159 Posts
    He's under contract, doesn't happen too often in the LOI, will we be due a fee if he moves?

Quote Originally Posted by White Horse View Post
    I am sympathetic to Cork in this case.

Browne was happy enough to sign a two year contract, he should honour it.
    Situations change in people's personal lives overtime. What might have been right for him a year ago may not be now.

Quote Originally Posted by patrickccfc View Post
    He's under contract, doesn't happen too often in the LOI, will we be due a fee if he moves?
    Unless Cork agree to release him then ya ye should be getting a few bob for him.

Page 30 of 117 FirstFirst ... 2028293031324080 ... LastLast