488 Posts
    Even a draw in Vienna and we are in great shape
    Bring Back Belfast Celtic F.C.

1,813 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by DeLorean View Post
    I don't think they're gash, they've got some decent players especially from midfield up. They were missing Matic tonight as well. That said, having just seen the highlights there, the defending by both themselves and Austria was really shambolic this evening, really atrocious stuff (just to emphasise the point!). Austria's second equaliser was offside but there was still really poor defending in the build up. Tadic's winner was a bit of a fluke, his miscontrol actually took him away from Wimmer. I presume it was flukey anyway otherwise it was an outrageous piece of of skill. I'm not sure I'm mad about the fact that Austria really need to beat us now but I suppose that'll bring its own pressures for a team that can't be too high in confidence.
    Not gash but rubbish? :P

Quote Originally Posted by SkStu View Post
    Roll on Vienna

#revengefor95
    Toni, it's time!

*(obviously we're ignoring Mr Alaba and the WC2014 Qual. late goals he got against us costing us)
    DID YOU NOTICE A SIGN OUTSIDE MY HOUSE...?

20 Posts
    Toni did a number on us at home and away. He enjoyed playing Ireland.

Great results for us and the group is opening up nicely.
    There is no such thing as a miracle cure, a free lunch or a humble opinion.

1,912 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by BonnieShels View Post
    Not gash but rubbish? :P
    By dint of our version of crude football we can make another team look even worse than us.
    That doesn't mean they are actually worse than us.
    Serbia played well in their last 2 games and are now in pole position in the group.

Quote Originally Posted by Fergie's Son View Post
    Toni did a number on us at home and away. He enjoyed playing Ireland.

Great results for us and the group is opening up nicely.
    We were in poor, poor shape by the time we played Austria in summer and autumn 95. It's not just that the squad was getting old either -the squads attitude was terible too and they were running riot when they'd be in Ireland for games. Jack was barely bothering to manage them at all -outsourcing a lot of it to his son John and Maurice Setters.

Austria just got to take advantage of the mayhem. They got dicked home and away by a Northern Ireland side of whom only one or two would've made our team back then. A desperate pity.
    " I wish to God that someone would be able to block out the voices in my head for five minutes, the voices that scream, over and over again: "Why do they come to me to die?"

1,813 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Lionel Ritchie View Post
    We were in poor, poor shape by the time we played Austria in summer and autumn 95. It's not just that the squad was getting old either -the squads attitude was terible too and they were running riot when they'd be in Ireland for games. Jack was barely bothering to manage them at all -outsourcing a lot of it to his son John and Maurice Setters.

Austria just got to take advantage of the mayhem. They got dicked home and away by a Northern Ireland side of whom only one or two would've made our team back then. A desperate pity.
    As I mentioned in a previous thread those Austria results stick out like sore thumbs in my history of watching this team and my hatred for Toni Polster still exists and I was merely 11 when they were played!!!

When you think of how that campaign ended and the difference to how it was at the start and what a couple of more points would have done (4 dropped v the IFA and Liecthenstein). Though we were unfortunate in how we ended up losing to the 4th place team how we did as only 1, 3 and 4 were regarded for the second placed ranking results.

2,081 Posts
    It was the porn star Stoger that did all the damage in Vienna really.

Toni had a lovely mullet.

1,813 Posts
    You...

My FB cover photo for a time was that multiple times defaced with something... I HATE him so much. Almost as much as Kieran Donaghy.

1,912 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by BonnieShels View Post
    .. I HATE him so much. Almost as much as Kieran Donaghy.
    At least us Monaghan lads knew how to deal with Kieran when he got above himself.

20 Posts
    Yet you still lost....

Toni played with a pony-tail that day in Dublin. He looked like something left over from Tamango's circa 1986.
    There is no such thing as a miracle cure, a free lunch or a humble opinion.

1,813 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by geysir View Post
    At least us Monaghan lads knew how to deal with Kieran when he got above himself.

Was that the qualifier in 2008 that Kerry robbed from ye?

Double header that day between my ancestral seat Fermanagh and Kildare?

First time I ever got to see Fermanagh play live. And I was dying with an almighty hangover that could cut concrete. And Kerry won. So an awful day.
    Last edited by BonnieShels; 10/10/2016 at 8:08 PM.

1,912 Posts
    That's right, that was 2008 but the smash and grab was the year before. We smashed them but they grabbed the winner.

1,813 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by geysir View Post
    That's right, that was 2008 but the smash and grab was the year before. We smashed them but they grabbed the winner.
    I meant mostly because of the ref and umpires having a 'mare. I was in the lower Hogan down by the Hill when Donaghy scored and he was sleeping in the square. Meltyfaces all 'round.

Remember those games very well. Long live Polster and Stoger...!

Anyway fast forward to today... I'd say Austria will go with this 4-2-3-1 line-up and aim to take 3 points;

Almer (Austria Vienna)

Klein (Stuttgart)
    Dragovic (Bayer Leverkusen)
    Hinteregger (Augsburg)
    Wimmer (Tottenham)

Baumartlinger (Bayer Leverkusen)
    Alaba (Bayern Munich)

Sabitzer (Leipzig)
    Junuzovic (Weder Bremen)
    Arnautovic (Stoke City)

Janko (Basel)

Keeping an eye on these lads over the next few weeks.
    Last edited by Littlest Hobo; 10/10/2016 at 11:43 PM.

1,813 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by littlest hobo View Post
    remember those games very well. long live polster and stoger...!

anyway fast forward to today... I'd say austria will go with this 4-2-3-1 line-up and aim to take 3 points;

almer (austria vienna)

klein (stuttgart)
    dragovic (bayer leverkusen)
    hinteregger (augsburg)
    wimmer (tottenham)

baumartlinger (bayer leverkusen)
    alaba (bayern munich)

sabitzer (leipzig)
    junuzovic (weder bremen)
    arnautovic (stoke city)

janko (basel)

keeping an eye on these lads over the next few weeks.
    get! Out!

2,081 Posts
    It's definitely a bigger catastrophe to drop points against Georgia (home) /Moldova (anywhere) than to draw in Serbia.
    Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    Lets see Sunday night, where Serbia stand, and come back to that one Delores!

# P W D L GF GA GD PTS
    1 Serbia 3 2 1 0 8 4 4 7
    2 Republic of Ireland 3 2 1 0 6 3 3 7
    3 Wales 3 1 2 0 7 3 4 5
    4 Austria 3 1 1 1 6 6 0 4
    5 Georgia 3 0 1 2 2 4 -2 1
    6 Moldova 3 0 0 3 1 10 -9 0

2,690 Posts
    I read on twitter that Tadic has either scored or assisted all of Serbia's last 10 goals.

3,306 Posts
    That's true, starting with Serbia's last goal in the 3-1 win over Israel in a friendly in May, he's been involved in the ten goals they've scored

# P W D L GF GA GD PTS
    1 Serbia 3 2 1 0 8 4 4 7
    2 Republic of Ireland 3 2 1 0 6 3 3 7
    3 Wales 3 1 2 0 7 3 4 5
    4 Austria 3 1 1 1 6 6 0 4
    5 Georgia 3 0 1 2 2 4 -2 1
    6 Moldova 3 0 0 3 1 10 -9 0

Very Surprised I was, especially after seeing the highlights. It actually reinforces my point though, both teams are muck at the back, and if serbia are proving that our game was an off day, then we really did let it slip by not imposing ourselves and going for the 2nd when 1 up. When I made this less than bold prediction, I over-estimated Austria defensively, they are as cack as Serbia defensively. Time for O'Neill to be brave now and actually go for an away win for once.

Even against Wales they(austra) seemed to be dodge. I am a lot more confident about the Austria game now, granted oneill will be more than happy if we go ahead and then concede from not holding onto possession and come out with a draw. Serbia could be well ahead by the time we finish up the austria-wales-austria games, and we will probably be sitting where Austria are.

I watched the second half of Wales, and the highlights from Austra/Serbia, and Wales are exceedingly average without Allen and Ramsey, they couldn't get near Georgia, had georgia more composure they would have won, they played some lovely stuff and dominated midfield for about 20 mins in the second half. If we could sort out our defence we could be in such a strong position, our defense for once does not seem to be the weakest out there. Serbia and Austria seem to like gifting goals at the minute. We seem generally ok defensively, bar 1 or 2 silly mistakes per game, sort them out and the lack of firepower wont matter as much against these teams.

On a side note, we have set some record for the quickest goals scored in 2016 of any other UFEA member, which is pretty impressive. It's unforunate the next 80+ mins we can't do anything
    Last edited by paul_oshea; 11/10/2016 at 1:50 PM.

Page 3 of 23 FirstFirst 1234513 ... LastLast