Premier Division League Cup Final
    Abbeyfeale Utd 2 Rathkeale 2 aet. Abbeyfeale won 5-4 on pens

Premier Division
    Broadford Utd 4 Newcastle West 1 (played Saturday, May 13th)

52 Posts
    Quick question lads. Rockhill Rovers gave a walkover to Askeaton yesterday, shouldn't they have been deducted three points and therefore go into ninth position and be relegated? Also it was their third walkover so shouldn't they be thrown out?

Yes they should have. 3 walk overs and you're gone. Don't even know why they have a team. The amount of walkovers they give every year is a joke

Going by the LDFL site they gave 2 walkovers in the league, as ye say 3 and you're thrown out so that doesn't seem to be at issue but their points look wrong alright http://ldfl.leaguerepublic.com/l/res...6250///-1.html
    They gained 19 points have been deducted 3 already and as you say Shearer they should be now in 9th with another deduction - I would agree also fanatic they're the ultimate W/O team and even playing them in the last month or two of a season they might have anything between 8 and 11 players

Cryuff did you hear anymore on that 12 team division plan??? Seems excessive

22 league games + League Cup + Reidy + Hogan + Desmond + (MJC + FAI Cup *for some teams)
    Potential for some teams to have well in excess of 30 games in the year - you wouldn't want much bad weather in a season

52 Posts
    Their third walkover was against Newcastle West B in the Desmond Cup.

Quote Originally Posted by Langerdan007 View Post
    Going by the LDFL site they gave 2 walkovers in the league, as ye say 3 and you're thrown out so that doesn't seem to be at issue but their points look wrong alright http://ldfl.leaguerepublic.com/l/res...6250///-1.html
    They gained 19 points have been deducted 3 already and as you say Shearer they should be now in 9th with another deduction - I would agree also fanatic they're the ultimate W/O team and even playing them in the last month or two of a season they might have anything between 8 and 11 players

Cryuff did you hear anymore on that 12 team division plan??? Seems excessive

22 league games + League Cup + Reidy + Hogan + Desmond + (MJC + FAI Cup *for some teams)
    Potential for some teams to have well in excess of 30 games in the year - you wouldn't want much bad weather in a season
    As far as I can make out it would require Friday and Sunday for the first 2 or 3 weekends. And again 1 or 2 double headers at the end of the season.
    Would mean a hectic start and finish to the season alright.
    League cups would have to be played Friday nights in Clounreask during the season.

They seem to manage fine in Limerick with 22 games. Jackman Park is flat out hosting the cup competitions, 2 or 3 games a week. Clounreask is woefully under utilised.

I wouldn't mind it especially if it forces the league to use Clounreask more

Quote Originally Posted by Cruyff View Post
    As far as I can make out it would require Friday and Sunday for the first 2 or 3 weekends. And again 1 or 2 double headers at the end of the season.
    Would mean a hectic start and finish to the season alright.
    League cups would have to be played Friday nights in Clounreask during the season.

They seem to manage fine in Limerick with 22 games. Jackman Park is flat out hosting the cup competitions, 2 or 3 games a week. Clounreask is woefully under utilised.

I wouldn't mind it especially if it forces the league to use Clounreask more
    A lot of that is based on dot joining and reading between lines but that would be the general gist of it.

Also a quick note, the Premier league in town has 22 games 4 more than ours and most of the top teams in town go far in the MJC and FAI.
    The league in town is well finished.
    Yet our league has 3 games left to play plus cup finals. For instance our top team Rathkeale were knocked out of the MJC and FAI early but still aren't finished playing, Janesboro got to the last 8 of the FAI and are finished since Sunday week.
    And on top the city Oscar Traynor team went a long way as well which meant further delay.

I think it's more of a league scheduling issue than a weather issue.

If a premier team in the Desmond League ask for a week or 2 off they get it.
    Not so easy in a 12 team league, GAA fixtures will no longer dictate when games are played.

44 Posts
    The only reason the Limerick DL has surmounted its barmy schedule so early is that the powers-that-be mandate an absolutely barmy two-games-a-week schedule for the first couple of months; to the point that half the league is over by October.

This of course leads to a whole host of injury problems, and in one case this season -- a midweek abandonment due to fading light.

In short, I would not recommend it.

Quote Originally Posted by AlanOB View Post
    The only reason the Limerick DL has surmounted its barmy schedule so early is that the powers-that-be mandate an absolutely barmy two-games-a-week schedule for the first couple of months; to the point that half the league is over by October.

This of course leads to a whole host of injury problems, and in one case this season -- a midweek abandonment due to fading light.

In short, I would not recommend it.
    That's a very fair summation, I was at the game that was called off and you could see before kick off that night it was going to be a problem.

There were no Desmond League Friday night games this season at all until this Friday.

Desmond League teams don't get as far in outside competitions as a general rule so I think we'd get away with it far better than in the District.

Our premier teams have an awful lot of free weekends as it stands so 4 extra games shouldn't​ burn them out I don't think.

As I say I don't think it should be a problem out here but we'll see I guess. It may not happen that way at all just what I'm hearing.

By the way Alan enjoyed​ your reports all season, outstanding stuff.

44 Posts
    Thanks, much appreciated.

I accept your point about lesser progress in bigger competitions being a factor, but surely the Desmond League would aim to change that in the future, no?

Fine achievement by Chris Smith in making the Regions Cup squad for Istanbul.

Friday, May 19th

Division 2 League Cup Final (et & pens)
    Askeaton V Shountrade 730pm, Clounreask,
    (S Hartnett, L O’Connor, J Molyneaux, 4th official tba)

Premier Division
    Ballingarry V Athea Utd 7pm (E Noonan)
    Carrig Celtic V Newcastle West Rovers 7pm (J Roche)
    Glin Rovers V Killeaney 7pm (G O’Connor)
    Newcastle West V Abbeyfeale Utd 7pm (P King)
    Rathkeale V Broadford Utd 7pm (T Fitzmaurice)

Saturday, May 20th

Desmond Youths Cup Final (et & pens)
    Abbeyfeale Utd V Askeaton 7pm, Clounreask
    (D Wallace, L O’Connor, T Fitzpatrick, 4th official tba)

Division 1 Youths League Cup Qualification Playoff (et & pens)
    Broadford Utd V GB Rovers 230, (Abbeyfeale Utd Grounds)
    (J Roche, P O’Brien, P Manning, 4th official tba)

Sunday, May 21st

Division 1 Relegation Playoff (et & pens)
    Feenagh V Rathkeale B, 530pm, Clounreask,
    (P King, S Hartnett, J Molyneaux, 4th official tba)

Division 3 League Cup Final (et & pens)
    Ferry Rangers V Carrig Celtic B, Clounreask, 2pm
    (T Fitzmaurice, T Fitzpatrick, P O’Connor, 4th official tba)

Premier Division

Abbeyfeale Utd V Athea Utd 1130 (P Manning)
    Broadford Utd V Glin Rovers 1130 (P O’Brien)
    Newcastle West V Ballingarry 1130 (E Noonan)
    Newcastle West Rovers V Killeaney 1130 (D Wallace)
    Rathkeale V Carrig Celtic 1130 (P O’Connor)

If it is going to be 12 in each division next year will there be no relegation from premier this season and will 4 teams be going from div 2 to dig 1? Any one have an idea or do you know anything Cruyff if you heard about it

52 Posts

Any changes to divisions will have to be agreed at the agm I think

Well done Chris Smith, have seen him play a few times over the last couple of seasons and must say he is a very accomplished defender, great in the air, very quick and strong; everything you'd want in a defender.
    Fair Play to Rathkeale too they kept up their pace when I thought they'd falter and are within touching distance of the league, win/ draw this evening against Broadford and they'll be celebrating.
    The treble dream is over but winning the league could certainly ease the pain for them.

Surprised Declan Nash didn't win the player of the year award, was outstanding this season, fair play to Micheal Brosnan though, very good player also.
    OHHHHHHHHHHHHHH YA BEAUTY! What a hit son... what a hit!

Quote Originally Posted by robotwarsfan View Post
    If it is going to be 12 in each division next year will there be no relegation from premier this season and will 4 teams be going from div 2 to dig 1? Any one have an idea or do you know anything Cruyff if you heard about it
    All speculation still, not getting a straight answer from anyone official at the moment. They'll wait and see what newcastlewest do before even speculating on it, also Bally Rovers rebuffed Killeaney's advances to join in told.

Friday, May 19th

Division 2 League Cup Final
    Askeaton 2 Shountrade 2 aet. Askeaton won 4-1 on pens

Premier Division
    Ballingarry 1 Athea Utd 3
    Carrig Celtic 2 Newcastle West Rovers 1
    Glin Rovers 0 Killeaney 1